Articles

Afro-Ethnic Studies

A Pollak Library Research Guide by Jie Tian, Reference Librarian

Pollak Library | Afro-Ethnic Studies@CSUF || Research Tips

 

Home
Articles
Books
Book Reviews
Citation Styles
Reference Sources
Web Sites

Articles play a  predominant role in disseminating scholarly information.  Articles in general are published in newspapers, scholarly journals, magazines, newsletters, and etc.  Current articles communicate the most recent research and studies in a field.  Your professor might ask you to use articles from either popular or scholarly sources or both.  The Pollak Library's collection contains both popular and scholarly journals, indexes/ abstracts databases, as well as electronic journals and full-text databases  that would be helpful to your research. 

bulletIndexes/Abstracts Databases
Provide citations to articles published primarily in scholarly journals, but may include articles from magazines and newspapers as well.  
bullet America: History and Life
bullet Art Abstracts
bullet ERIC (EBSCO)
bullet Historical Abstracts
bullet Humanities Abstracts
bullet MLA Bibliography
bullet PAIS International
bullet PsychINFO
bullet RAND California
bullet Social Sciences Abstracts
bullet Social Sciences Citation Index
bullet Sociological Abstracts
bullet Women's Studies International
 
bullet Electronic Journal Collections
Provide the complete text of articles online from scholarly journals.
bullet History Cooperative
bullet JSTOR
bullet SpringerLink Journals
bullet Project Muse
bullet Science Direct
bullet Wiley Interscience

 

Full-text (or selected full-text) Databases
Provide a mix of article citations and articles online from both popular and scholarly sources.
bullet Ethnic NewsWatch
bullet Academic Search Elite
bullet Education Full Text (Wilson)
bullet Factiva
bullet Music & Performing Arts Online IIMP Full Text
bullet LexisNexis Academic
bullet Literature Resource Center
bullet ProQuest Newspapers

 

 



 

 

 
Prepared by Jie Tian: jtian@fullerton.edu
An instructional page of the Paulina June & George Pollak Library at California State University, Fullerton.
(c) 1999 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved.
Last Updated:10/18/2005