|
|
|
| Scholarly & General Interest Periodicals
The Basics about Periodicals, Indexes, Citations & Abstracts
|
A Sample Citation from Sociological Abstracts AUTHOR(S): Rasheed, Janice Matthews AFFILIATION: School Social Work Loyola U, Chicago IL 60611 TITLE: The Adult Life Cycle of Poor African American Fathers PUB YEAR: 1998 JOURNAL: Journal of Human Behavior in the Social Environment, 1998, 1, 2-3, 265-280. STANDARD NO: CODEN: JHBEF2 ISSN: 1091-1359 COUNTRY: United States LANGUAGE: English. PUB TYPE: Abstract of journal article (aja) ANNOUNCEMENT: Social Planning, Policy & Development Abstracts (SOPODA), 021, 01, 1999 ABSTRACT: Presents qualitative findings of a 4-year study of 150 poor, urban adult African American men who are noncustodial fathers. Data collection methods included focus groups, case study research, documentary review, & participant observation. Using social constructionist & ecological frameworks, issues of individual personality & family development are explored, & implications for micro & macro social work practice are discussed. 36 References. Adapted from the source |
| What is a
scholarly Journal? Scholarly journals publish articles that communicate recent research results in a field of study. Authors conduct thorough literature review and research prior to writing articles. Articles are submitted to an editorial board and are critically evaluated via the peer review process before they are accepted for publication. Scholarly articles document their research and invariably include a list of references at the end of the article. Professional organizations, academic presses, and commercial publishers are the most prolific publishers of scholarly journals. What is a general interest magazine? |
| Please note that newspapers and general interest magazines on the Web may be current day or month only and may not include back issues archive. Their content may vary from the print version as well. Pollak Library's subscription databases, Dow Jones Interactive and Lexis/Nexis, provide good coverage of current and back issues of newspapers and some general interest magazines. |
Newspapers More Newspapers on the Web |
Los Angeles Times San Francisco Chronicle |
Washington Post |
General Interest Magazines More Magazines @ More Magazines @ AJR NewsLink |
Time The Nation |
Life Business Week |
Scholarly Journals More Journals @ More Journals @ Jstor & Project Muse |
American Sociological Review American Quarterly |
Modern Fiction Studies |
10/18/05
Created by Jie Tian
Pollak Library
|
|