Reference Sources

Afro-Ethnic Studies

A Pollak Library Research Guide by Jie Tian, Reference Librarian

Pollak Library | Afro-Ethnic Studies@CSUF || Research Tips

 

Home
Articles
Books
Book Reviews
Citation Styles
Reference Sources
Web Sites

Reference sources include encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical sources, handbooks, almanacs, atlases, directories, bibliographies, and others.  They can be a great resource for locating quick and comprehensive information about persons, events, theories, movements, definitions, etc. in all subject disciplines.   The following is a selective list of reference sources pertaining to Afro-Ethnic Studies at the Pollak Library. 

bulletBibliographical Sources
bulletAfro-American History.  A Bibliography

bulletBiographical Sources
bulletAfrican American Biography
bulletBlack Women in America
bulletNotable Black American Man
bulletNotable Balck American Women
bulletWho's Who Among African Americans

bullet

Encyclopedias

bulletEncyclopedia of African-American Culture and History
bullet Encyclopedia of African-American civil rights : from emancipation to the present / edited by Charles D. Lowery and    John F. Marszalek.   New York : Greenwood Press, c1992
Ref E185.61 .E54 1992
bullet The encyclopedia of civil rights in America / editors, David Bradley, Shelley Fisher Fishkin. Armonk, N.Y. : Sharpe Reference, c1998 Edition
Ref E185.61 .E544 1998

bullet

Statistical Sources  
bulletHistorical statistics of Black America / compiled & edited by Jessie Carney Smith and Carrell Peterson Horton.  New York : Gale Research, c1995
Ref E185 .H543 1995
bulletStatistical Abstracts of the United States

 

 

 

 
Prepared by Jie Tian: jtian@fullerton.edu
An instructional page of the Paulina June & George Pollak Library at California State University, Fullerton.
(c) 1999 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved.
Last Updated:10/18/2005