Computer  Science
A Pollak Library Research Guide

divider.gif (1310 bytes)


Main     

 

Finding Articles

Articles play a predominant role in disseminating scholarly information.  Articles in general are published in newspapers, scholarly journals, magazines, newsletters, and etc. Current articles communicate the most recent research and studies in a field. Your professor may require that you use articles from either popular or scholarly journals or both. The Pollak Library's collection contains both popular and scholarly journals, indexes/ abstracts databases, as well as electronic journals and full-text databases that would be helpful to your research.

Indexes & Abstracts (I&A) Databases
Provide citations to articles published in journals, magazines and newspapers. I&A databases do not supply full-text, online articles.

ACM Digital Library
Select "The Guide".  The Guide to Computing Literature provides citations and abstracts for articles, books, papers, and other publications from over 3,000 publishers.
Computer Abstracts
After connecting, click on Access the Computer Science Library
Dissertation Abstracts
Engineering Village 2
The Engineering Index Annual
Reference T1 .E62 


Electronic Journal Collections
Provide the complete text of articles in electronic format.  Entire issues of journals are available for online browsing and access. Articles online varies from journal to journal.

ACM Digital Library
IEEE Xplore
Science Direct
-- Select Computer Science
Wiley Interscience
-- Select Journal Finder or Journal Search.

Full-text (or selected full-text) Databases
Provide a mix of article citations and texts from newspapers, magazines, and some popular and scholarly publications.

Academic Search Elite -- Offers indexes/abstracts and selected full-text articles in multiple disciplines from magazines, and selected academic and professional journals.

Factiva
--Offers articles from newspapers, magazines, and some academic or professional journals

LexisNexis
-- Select News, or Business for articles from newspapers, magazines, and selected professional journals.

 

Updated and maintained by Rob Sage.
An administrative page of the Paulina June & George Pollak Library at California State University, Fullerton. (c) 2005 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved. Last Updated: 03 Jan 2008.