|
| |
Internet Resources
Librarian-Recommended Web Sites:
Computer Science |
This is a list of especially noteworthy web sites
that are freely available to the general public. |
Librarians' Internet Index: Computers
Descrptions and links to hundreds of websites devoted to
computing. All sites have been selected and evaluated by librarians.
Infomine: Physical Science, Engineering, Computing, and
Math
A searchable database of scholarly websites.
The Scout Report Archives: Computer Science
A searchable database of website reviews. Each site is
reviewed by experts in the field, such as professors, researchers, and
librarians.
arXiv.org
E-print Archive
Find full-text articles, papers, and presentations in the
fields of computer science, physics, mathematics, non-linear science, and
quantitative biology.
Babel
An online dictionary of computer acronyms and abbreviations.
The Collection of
Computer Science Bibliographies
Use this site to find links to bibliographies posted on the
web. The database currently contains over 2 million records on the subjects of
Artificial Intelligence,Compiler Technology, Programming Languages and Type
Theory, Database Research,
Distributed Systems, Networking and Telecommunications, Computer Graphics and
Vision, Logic Programming, (Computational) Mathematics, Neural Networks,
Object-Oriented Programming and Systems (and more object-oriented stuff),
Operating Systems, Parallel Processing, Software Engineering, Formal Methods
Theory/Foundations of Computer Science, and Typesetting.
Computer Science
From the library at SUNY-Albany comes this extensive
collection of annotated links to various sites relating to theoretical and
practical applications in computer science.
Computer
Science Technical Reports
Search for and access technical reports on computer science
available all over the web. Provided by the New Zealand Digital Library.
The Internet Guide to
Engineering, Mathematics, and Computing: Computing
A searchable database and subject guide to leading web sites
in computer science and related fields. Hosted at Heriot-Watt University
in Edinburgh, Scotland.
Networked
Computer Science Technical Reference Library
A joint project of Old Dominion University, University of
Virginia, Virginia Tech, and NASA Langley, NCSTRL is a searchable depository of
thousands of research and technical papers in computer science and related
fields.
Scholarpedia
A wiki encyclopedia that is edited and "curated" only by
scholars. Each entry is also submitted for blind peer review before
publication. There are 3 encyclopedias available: Computational
Nueroscience, Dynamical Systems, and Computational Intelligence.
Sourcebank: The Search
Engine for Developers
A searchable and browsable directory of links to source code
and scripts posted all over the web. Almost 60,000 resources are posted.
A service provided by DevX.
How to find
more information on the Web?
 |
Use annotated expert guides, such as the ones found at
Librarian's Internet
Index,
The Scout Report,
Infomine, and
The Internet
Public Library. These sites use experts, either librarians
or professors, to evaluate and describe each site they collect. They weed
out the bad and only keep the best resources. For a more detailed list of
these sites, visit the Pollak Library's guide to
Subject Portals.
|
 |
Use an Internet search engine, such as
Google,
Yahoo!, or
Kartoo,
but be careful!
Search engines are not discriminating.
Make sure the information you find is reliable and up-to-date. Use the
following tips whenever you are searching for information using a search
engine.
|
How can I tell the good, the beautiful, and the
truthful from the bad, false, and ugly?
Learn to evaluate Internet
resources! Consider the following criteria:
|
Six
Criteria for Evaluating Web Pages |
|
AUTHORITY
 | Is there an author
or sponsoring body (organization, company) and is the name of the
author or sponsoring body listed? |
 | Are the author's
qualifications or credentials listed? |
 | Is contact
information (e-mail, address, or phone number) included?
|
 | Is the listed name
different from the "Webmaster"? |
 | Where is the
document published? Check the URL domain (.edu, .org, .com, .gov).
|
OBJECTIVITY
 | Has the author or
organization clearly stated the goals and/or aims of the site?
(The Web often functions as a virtual soapbox.)
|
 | If objectivity is
important, is the information presented in an objective manner?
|
 | Is a particular
point of view being presented? |
 | Is there a bias,
either explicit or implied? |
 | Is the information
presented free of advertising? If there is advertising, is it
clearly differentiated from the informational content? |
 | Is this an
"Infomercial" Web page? (On the Web, the distinction between
advertising and information can easily become blurred.)
|
ACCURACY
 | If facts and figures
are given, are they accurate? |
 | Are the sources for
any factual information clearly listed? |
 | Can they be verified
in another source? |
 | How does this
information compare with other sources of information on this topic?
|
CURRENCY
 | When was the page
produced? |
 | When was it last
updated? |
 | Is any information
on the page outdated? |
 | Are the links
up-to-date? Are there references to sites which have moved?
|
CONTENT/RELEVANCY
 | Does the page meet
your research needs or purpose? |
 | Is the subject
adequately covered? |
 | Are the links (if
any) evaluated/annotated and do they complement the page's theme?
|
 | If other sources are
quoted, is the information accurately cited? |
 | Is all the
information on the site free, or is there a fee to link to some or
all of the information? |
AESTHETICS
 | Is there an
appropriate balance between text and images? |
 | Is the design of the
page visually appealing or is it too cluttered? |
 | Is there an option
for text only, or frames, or a suggested browser for better viewing?
|
 | If page requires
special software to view the information, how much are you missing
if you don't have the software? |

PUTTING IT
ALL TOGETHER
AUTHORITY. If the page
lists the author credentials and its domain is preferred (.edu,
.org, .gov), and…
OBJECTIVITY. If the page
provides accurate and objective information, and …
ACCURACY. If the page
lists the author and institution that published the page and
provides a way of contacting him/her, and…
CURRENCY. If the page is
current and updated regularly (as stated on the page) and the links
(if any) are also up-to-date, and…
CONTENT/ RELEVANCY. If
the page meets your research needs and the subject is adequately
covered, and…
AESTHETICS. If the page
has a balance of images and graphics, is visually appealing,
...then you will have found a high quality Web page that
should be of value to your research!
|
|