Computer  Science
A Pollak Library Research Guide

divider.gif (1310 bytes)


Main     

 

Reference Sources

Reference materials, kept on the first floor of Pollak Library, North Wing, consist of general and subject-specific dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, directories, etc. Click on the links below to connect to the Library Catalog record for location and call numbers of some useful resources that cover computer science topics. Below each link are some descriptions of a few of the most useful books we have in each category of reference book.   

Bibliographies
A bibliography is a list of books or other materials that would be useful to find information on a particular topic.

Computer Abstracts: Editor's Selection Ref QA76 C73
An index to articles from the leading computer science journals.  Complete volumes can be found for the years 1967-2000.  Editor's Selections only from 2001-present.  The complete database from 1987-Present is available online by accessing our database list from the library's home page.

 

Computing Reviews Ref QA76 C75
Reviews of published books and journal articles in computer science related fields.  1960-Present.


Dictionaries  
These specialized dictionaries are useful to find the meaning of words, acronyms, or abbreviations used in computer science or information technology.

Dictionary of Information Technology Ref QA76.15 .C58
An up-to-date dictionary of over 13,000 terms and acronyms used in information technology.

.
Oxford Dictionary of Computing Ref QA76.15 .D526
An up-to-date- dictionary of terms, abbreviations, and acronyms used in all computing-related fields.

Encyclopedias
Use these current encyclopedias to find brief descriptions of concepts, people, places, and things in computer science and information technology.

Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Technology. Ref QA76.15 .H43
Encyclopedia of Information Systems Ref QA76.15 .E516 Volumes 1-4

Biographies
Use these books to locate information about the lives and work of the innovators of computer science.  Includes bios, references, and bibliographies of each subject's work.

Computer Pioneers Ref QA76.2 .A2 L44
International Biographical Dictionary of Computer Pioneers Ref QA76.2 .A2 L44 .
 


 

Updated and maintained by Rob Sage.
An administrative page of the Paulina June & George Pollak Library at California State University, Fullerton. (c) 2009 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved. Last Updated: 07 May 2009.