|
| |
All
Media
|
Gebbie Press All-In-One Directory.
New Paltz, NY: New Gebbie Press, 1972- (annual)
CSUF Call #: Ref P 88.8 G4a
This compact spiral-bound volume literally combines several major
directories in its listings of magazines, daily and weekly newspapers, and
television and radio stations, as well as cable networks. Media appear in
three separate color-coded sections (e.g., magazines in white pages,
newspapers in yellow pages, broadcast media in gray pages). Listings
include business and trade publications, Black and Hispanic media, farm
publications, and news syndicates. Entries contain a limited amount of
basic data. Since Gebbie obtains data from other directories, All-In-One
is more outdated than these other directories.
To Use: The major use of this directory is access to simple
one-stop listings of media names and addresses. Magazines are arranged in
publication groups (by subject); numbers indicate subject category, not
page. Example: Look under Advertising-Marketing-Public Relations to
find subject area (.1 is category). Entry is " PR
Reporter PO Box 600, Exeter NH 03833. Patrick Jackson,
editor". Newspapers are arranged by news
syndicates first and then daily newspapers, followed by weekly, and Black,
and Hispanic papers; arrangement is geographic. Broadcast
Media are arranged by networks and then television stations, followed by
AM-FM radio stations and Black and Hispanic radio; arrangement is
geographic.
|
|
Working Press of the Nation.
New Providence, NJ: R. R. Bowker, 1945- (annual)
CSUF Call #: Ref Z 6951.W6
This valuable 3 volume set is published by one of the world’s most
respected publishers of information for libraries and industry.
Information found in this work is continually updated and is very
comprehensive. The directories are designed for persons needing in-depth
information for contacting media personnel or for mailing list
compilation, media selection, or market analysis and are well
indexed. V.1 Newspaper Directory. Lists daily and weekly
newspapers of the U.S. in geographical order, lists feature syndicates,
and news and photo services. V.2 Magazine & Internal
Publications Directory. Magazines are grouped by subject area, with
title index, and internal publications by sponsor, with industry and
title indices. V.3 TV & Radio Directory. Lists radio
and television stations geographically, local programs by subject, plus
key executives and personnel.
To Use: Consult How To Use Section. These directories
feature detailed explanations of materials accepted. Tips: To find
papers in a metropolitan area, including both the major city and the
surrounding area, look in Section 11 (Index of Newspapers by ADI- Area
of Dominant Influence). This saves you from having to research the names
of the surrounding towns. The ADI index indicates whether each paper is
a daily, weekly, or other type of newspaper. To find editors
covering a specific topic, such as sports or political editor, look in
the Index of Editors by Subject. Check code for type of newspaper to
find newspapers with certain editorial positions as indicated by Type of
Newspaper (e.g., Political Editor: Alabama; National Inner City; Stanley
O. Porter; N5). Type of Newspaper is explained at bottom of page
(N5-Ethnic). Be sure to check Materials Accepted/Included in
Sections 1-8 to see if external editorial, publicity, or advertising
materials are accepted and considered for inclusion by the newspaper.
(Example: 01,06,28,29). Materials Accepted/Included is explained at
bottom of page (Example: 01Business news, 06Letters to the Editor,
28Press releases, 29New product news/photos).
|
|
Gale’s Directory of Publications and
Broadcast Media
Detroit: Gale, 1896- (annual)
CSUF Call #: Ref Z 6951 A6712
The longest continuously published directory of U.S. and Canadian
magazines and newspapers also includes broadcast media. Although not
intended to be an encyclopedia or gazetteer, the Directory includes maps
and extensive marketing information. Volume 4 is devoted exclusively to
maps and regional markets. Print and broadcast media are arranged together
in one geographic sort (under city), which includes descriptions of
states, provinces, or territories and each city. Information for each
entry is brief and only key personnel are listed. Volume 3 includes tables
and extensive indices, including one for newspaper feature editors
appearing in daily newspapers with a circulation of 50,000 or more.
Publishes a midyear update.
To Use: Remember GDPBM is the only directory that presents
print and broadcast entries in one geographic sort—state, province, or
territory; city; and then media category (print or broadcast). Go directly
to V.1 and V.2 if you want to find print and broadcast media in any
particular city. GDPBM omits newsletters and directories. Use indexes in
V.3 to find professional publications (e.g., Public Relations) in any city
or college publications in California or specific titles. V.3 also
contains unique tables of industry statistics.
|
|
Orange County Media Directory and Resource
Guide.
Newport Beach, CA: Halcyon Press, 1997- (annual)
CSUF Call #: P 88.8 O73
Continues the directory put out by the Orange County Chapter of Women in
Communications. This new directory is designed to help you make the
right contacts when you want to get your organization’s news in print
or on the air. The Media and Public Relations Tips section offers
guideline for submitting materials. Contents include print media
(newspapers and magazines), broadcast media, news and wires services,
county press corps, clipping services, and communications organizations.
|
|