Reference Books
 

Main Page


         

You'll find valuable encyclopedias, dictionaries, directories, handbooks/guides, etc. in the field of Communications in the Reference section of the library (1st floor, North Wing).   Below are some samples; not the Call Numbers...that's where you'll find other, similar books nearby.

Communications in General
Guides/Handbooks
Top careers for Communications Graduates                          P91.6 .T67 2004
Dictionaries/Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of communication & information                       P87.5 .E53 2002
Dictionary of Mass Communication & Media Research           P87.5 .D449 2005
Directories
Gale directory of publications and broadcast media                Z6951 .A6712 2002

Advertising
Guides/Handbooks
Advertising organizations & publications: a guide                   HF5813.U6.A654 2000
Dictionaries/Encyclopedias
Dictionary of marketing and advertising                                 HF5415 .B273 1990
The Advertising age encyclopedia of advertising                     HF5803 .A38 2003
Directories
Standard directory of advertisers ("Red Book")                       HF5805 .S7 2009

Entertainment Studies
Guides/Handbooks
Entertainment Awards guide                                                 PN2270.A93 F68 2005
Dictionaries/Encyclopedias
Gardner's film, video & TV dictionary                                     TR847 .G37 2003
Global entertainment and media outlook (RefDesk)                HF5439.M267 G66 2004

Directories
Plunkett's entertainment & media industry almanac                P88.8 .P57 2002

Journalism
Guides/Handbooks
Vault career guide to journalism & information media              PN4797 .V38 2005
Dictionaries/Encyclopedias
Associated Press Stylebook                                                PN4783 .A83 2004
Encyclopedia of media and politics                                       P95.82.U6 E47 2007
Directories
Bacon's newspaper directory                                                 HD59 .B33 2007

Photocommunications
Guides/Handbooks
The law (in plain English) for photographers                            KF2042.P45 D75 2002
Dictionaries/Encyclopedias
Dictionary of photography and digital imaging                         TR9 .A53 2001
The photography encyclopedia                                              TR9 .M39 1999

Directories
Photographer's market                                                         TR12 .P515 2009

Public Relations
Guides/Handbooks
Career opportunities in advertising and public relations            HF5828.4 .F54 2002
Dictionaries/Encyclopedias
The advanced dictionary of marketing                                    HF5412 .D33 2008
Encyclopedia of public relations                                            HD59 .E48 2005

Directories
O'Dwyer's directory of public relations firms                            HM263 .O37 2009

 

                         

(To find even more books, search the online catalog and limit to REFERENCE ONLY).

 

Prepared by: John Hickok, Communications Librarian,
A page of the Pollak Library at Cal State University, Fullerton.
©2009 California State University, Fullerton.  All rights reserved.