Videos
 

Main Page

           

The Library owns many videos & DVDs on communications-related topics.  They are located on the 4th floor of the Library North in the Audiovisual section.  Videos & DVDs can be viewed there in any of the many viewing rooms.   Below is a list of some of the more popular communications-related videos the library owns.  Listed is the title, call #, and a brief description.

(For older material, the Audiovisual section also has 16mm films on communications-related topics; these are not listed below, but can be found on the online catalog.  Simply do a keyword search and add the word "film" to the keyword(s) you are searching.)

                          vidad.jpg (16470 bytes)          vidjourn.jpg (16588 bytes)                vidpr.jpg (18822 bytes)

Communications in General

I
mages in media
P90 .I42 1998
A behind-the-scenes look at the media's image-makers, and asks some disturbing questions about the self-selected few who hold a distorted mirror up to our society

Mass media in society
P90 .M294 1998
Experts examine the globalization of information exchange, the way it has altered the social distance between nations and individuals, and the future of mass media.

Media history
P90 .M365 1998
Academic and industry experts discuss the invention and impact of the printing press, telegraph, and telephone, and beyond…

Media ethics
P94 .M42 1998
The need for honesty and fairness, the subtle pressure of commercial interests, and the lure of sensationalism are discussed in this documentary

Global Media
P94.6 .G56 1998
Looks at a variety of issues surrounding the growth of media (satellites, Internet, multinational communications giants) in the era of the international audience

To boldly go: The future of communications
P96.T42 T6 1997
Explores how communication media, such as alphabetic writings, printing, and the computer came to being. Looks at their impact

Tuning in to media: literacy for the information age
PN1992.6 .T75 1994
Discusses how media messages are carefully manufactured productions and do not give the whole truth, & the need for developing critical media literacy

Buying time: the media role in health care
RD123.5 .B89 1991
Two case studies of bone marrow transplant patients and the role of the media in raising money not provided by mainstream health insurance companies


Advertising

Branding: the marketing advantage
HD69.B7 B738 1997
This program explores various aspects of brand name marketing and the appeal of brand-recognition advertising

Coke in Japan
HD9349.S634 C673 1997
Indentifies factors in the success of Coca-Cola's advertising/marketing strategy in Japan

The Benetton story
HD9940.I84 B464 1993
Film goes behind the scenes in the family-owned Italian firm that has been considered one of
the world's most successful companies to examine the reasons for its success, its controversial
advertising campaign, and its prospects for the future

That's marketing: understanding consumer behavior
HF5415 .T43 1999
Explains marketing concepts and tools, including segmentation, market research, branding, packaging, variable pricing, and positioning

From advertising to integrated marketing communications
HF5415.123 .F76 1993
Presents an overview of how integrated marketing communication/direct marketing offers advantages over mass media advertising

Integrated marketing communications
HF5415.123 .I584 1998
A look at how various marketing strategies open lines of communication between businesses and their customers

Information systems in marketing
HF5415.125 .I54 1995
Explains how computer databases and systems are used by manufacturing companies and advertising agencies to develop successful marketing strategies

A Retailing strategy: the store is the brand
HF5429 .R475
Looks at the single-brand store concept, its advantages and disadvantages. Examines such stores as the Gap, Crate & Barrel, and Benetton

Advertising
HF5821 .A17 1998
Features a historical survey of the methods of advertising in the U.S. & helps aid in understanding the persuasive, pervasive nature of advertising.

Invisible persuaders: the battle for your mind
HF5822 .I58 1994
Examines the invisible clues we use to make judgments, judgments about people, about what to buy, drive or eat, and about who to trust.

Killing us softly
HF5827 .K55 1979
Explores the image of women presented by modern advertising. Illustrates with examples the use of women as sex objects

New suits
HF5837 .N48 1997
Presents a close look at the development of advertising campaigns by focussing on Canada's Harry Rosen men's clothing stores

Automobile advertising of the 60's – 70’s
HF6146.T42 L61
Presents award winning automobile ads from television and cinema

Beer advertising of the 70's
HF6146.T42 L62-3
Presents award winning beer ads from television and cinema

Cosmetics advertising of the 60's – 70’s
HF6146.T42 L64-5
Presents award winning cosmetics ads from television and cinema

Public service advertising of the 70’s
HF6146.T42 L66
Contains public service television commercials from American television of the 1960's

Soft drink advertising of the 60's – 70’s
HF6146.T42 L67-8
Presents award winning soft drink ads from television and cinema

Tobacco advertising of the 70’s
HF6146.T42 L69
Presents television commercials for cigarettes from the 1970's

Traveling reels
HF6146.T42 T72
Contains television commercials from a number of advertising agencies; the guide contains strategy statements from the advertising agencies for each commercial

Windows on Asia-Pacific: Asian television commercials
HF6146.T42 W56 1999
Examines how sensibilities differ between East and West as seen through the lens of advertising imagery

The Best of 1988 political commercials, I & II
JF2112.A4 B47 1988
The best of 1988 political campaign commercials; A variety of issues are highlighted in ads for a variety of state races (includes Bush vs. Dukakis)

Media rights and responsibilities
P90 .M38 1998
Looks at all of the issues surrounding the media's pursuit of the advertising dollar vs. its responsibility to exercise some concern for the public good.

Why you buy: how ads persuade
TX335 .W49 1988
Describes six persuasion tactics used in advertising


Entertainment Studies

The broadcast television industry
HE8700.8 .B73 1998
Documentary of the television industry and in particular, the rise of greater L.A. as the TV entertainment capitol of America

Radio industry
HE8698 .R32 2003
Documentary of the U.S. radio industry with references to greater L.A. radio stations

Dreamworlds 3 desire, sex & power in music video
PN1992.8.M87 .D742 2007
A look at how the narratives of music videos shape individual & cultural attitudes toward femininity, masculinity, sexuality and race
 

Journalism

The Boston hoax: the police, the press and the public
HV6534.B7 B67 1992
Documentary of the 1989 Boston murder of Carol Stuart and the role of the news media & public opinion in that case

Media law
KF2750 .M42 1995
This series examines the news writing process through video field trips into the best newsrooms in the country

We the people
KF4550.Z9 W4 1987
Documentary on the Bill of Rights, including Freedom of the Press

The Amendments to the Constitution
KF4749 .A75 1998
Explores the first amendment, including Freedom of the Press, its origin, its real-world application, & its history of interpretation in the courts.

The military and the news media: a question of access
PN4738 .M54 1985
A panel of leading representatives of the military and the news media discuss current attitudes of the press regarding coverage of U.S. military incursions

Entertainment news or entertainment?
PN4756 .E585 1989
Panel discussion of TV talk show hosts, broadcasting executives, & newspaper editors on issues of sensationalism, taste and respect for privacy in the news media

Broadcast news: getting better, getting worse?
PN4784.B75 B76 1990
Panelist discuss the past, present and future of broadcast journalism. Followed by a question and answer session

Legal considerations of broadcast news
PN4784.B75 L35 1989
Dennis Hale and journalism professors discuss legal issues journalists face in the areas of libel, privacy, the fairness doctrine, equal time provisions, and obscenity

Dawn of the eye
PN4784.M6 D38 1997
Traces the evolution of film and television broadcast journalism in the United States and Canada

Behind the scenes at the local news
PN4784.T4 B43 1994
Included are a hard-hitting and provocative analysis of local news ; an in-depth case study of WJZ-TV in Baltimore ; an overview of state-of-the-art technology

Minorities in journalism
PN4797 .M56 1989
Introduces minority students to print, radio, and television journalism. Offers career preparation ideas, including education, internships, mentors, etc.

Winning a Pulitzer: how we do it?
PN4798 .W55 1988
Award winning journalists share their secrets

Tawana Brawley and the press
PN4888.C8 T38 1988
This panel discussion, which was taped on October 21, 1988, explores the Tawana Brawley case and the effect it had on the press.

Anonymous sources
PN4888.E8 A56 1988
Discusses policies and ethics involved in the use of anonymous sources in journalism

Photocommunications

Technology & legal issues. Part 1: Ownership & copyright on the Web
KF3030.1.A75 T42 1999
Explores the issues surrounding ownership and copyright of materials on the Internet; discusses the legal challenges & concerns

Photographer’s Eye
TR145 .P45 1989
Host Bill Moyers interviews two photographers about the creative processes involved in photography

Magic of the image: photography revealed
TR287 .M34 1999
Traces the history of photography, including contributions of Niépce, Daguerre, Talbot, & the Lumières, with emphasis on the processes involved in creating photographs

Images images: a video guide on critiquing image
TR642 .I42 1997
Professional photographer Brian Ratty discusses how to critique photography in order to improve image making capability

Learning photography
TR642 .L42 1988
Beginner tutorial on how to take better pictures, how to use lighting to improve results, and how to create different picture results using different films and lenses

Computer visions
TR897.5 .C68 1991
A collection of computer animated scenes. Includes a behind-the-scenes look at the animators and at the tools and techniques they use

The mind's eye
TR897.7 .M55 1990
Examples of computer animation imagery from over 300 computer animation artists

Public Relations

Public relations
HD59 .P823 1996
Public relations activities tend to fall in 3 categories: event promotion, image building, and image protection (or "crisis management")

Public relations
HM263 .P764 1998
Defines the role of public relations, differentiating it from advertising. Examines the way public relations operates

What is public relations?
HM263 .W446 1989
Public relations practitioners are interviewed about their work

Public relations writing
PN4781 .P82 1995
This series examines the news writing process through video field trips into the best newsrooms in the country

 

Prepared by: John Hickok, Communications Librarian,
A page of the Pollak Library at Cal State University, Fullerton.
©2009 California State University, Fullerton.  All rights reserved.