Recent Titles ▲
- Annual report--LA: Los Angeles County Interagency Gang Task Force: Annual Report 2006 (2007) PDF-49 pages
- Annual report--US: Highlights of the 2006 National Youth Gang Survey PDF-2 pages
- Overview--U.S.: Gang Crisis, CQ Researcher, May 14, 2004
- Overview of gangs in Orange County: 2000 Annual Gang Cases Report (2003) PDF-41 pages
- Recent report: In the Spotlight: Gangs
- Recent reports: Gang Crime (several reports) [NCJRS]
Encyclopedias ▲
- Online: Gale Virtual Reference Library [CSUF only]
- Gangs: A GUide to Understanding Street Gangs (2000)
- Twentieth Century Teen Culture by the Decades: A Reference Guide
Statistics ▲
- Highlights of the National Youth Gang Survey
2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2002-2003 | 2002 | 2001 | 2000 | 1999 | 1998 | 1997 | 1996 | 1995 - Gangs: Facts & Figures
- National Youth
Gang Survey Trends From 1996 to 2000 (2002)
Books ▲
To find books, search the Library Catalog by the following subjects:
- Subject: gang members
- Subject: gang prevention
- Subject: gangs
- Subject: gangs united states
- Subject: gangs california
- Subject: gangs california los angeles
- Subject: juvenile delinquency
- Subject: juvenile delinquents
Books of note:
- Early Precursors to Gang Membership (2001) PDF-6 pages
- Growth of Youth Gang Problems in the United States: 1970-98 PDF-93 pages
- Youth Gang Programs and Strategies [prevention, intervention, and suppression programs in L.A. and other areas] (2000) PDF-86 pages | CATALOG RECORD
- Comparing the Criminal Behavior of Youth Gangs and At-Risk Youths (1998)
- Trends: Growth of Youth Gang Problems in the United States: 1970–98 (2001)
Articles ▲
To find articles, search Pollak Libary's subscription databases. The links below will take you to relevant databases.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts
- Databases--Statistics
- Databases--Pro & Co/Current Issues
- Databases--Scholarly Journals
- Databases--Newspapers
- Databases--Government Sources
Web Sites ▲
- Gangs Resources [NCJRS]
- Juvenile Delinquency: Gangs [NCJRS]
- National Youth Gang Suppression and Intervention Programs Documents
- Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention
California & O.C.: Prop 21 ▲
- Proposition 21: Juvenile Crime: Initiative Statute [2000 Primary Voter pamphlet]
- Proposition 21: League of Women Voters: Opposes Proposition 21
California & O.C.: General ▲
- Annual report: Los Angeles County Interagency Gang Task Force: Annual Report 2006 PDF-49 pages
- Annual reports: Gang Task Force [L.A. County] Annual Reports, 2004-present
- California Attorney General's report: Gangs: A Community Response [California Attorney General's Office) (2003) PDF-62 pages
- California Penal Code: Gang Violence Suppression (Section 13826)
- Analysis: Why Did the Crime Rate Decrease Through 1999? California Attorney General's Report (2000) PDF-40 pages | CATALOG RECORD
- Statistics:
Gangs & At-Risk Kids:
Statistics
. - The Truce: Lessons from an L.A. Gang War (2006) CATALOG RECORD
- Statistics: O.C. "Gang Members Drop 38%, D.A. Says; Aggressive enforcement, prosecution, housing costs have accounted for the decline over 10 years, Rackauckas says;" Los Angeles Times, Jul 22, 2005. pg. B.1 [ORANGE COUNTY EDITION]"
- "LAPD Will Unveil New Anti-Gang Offensive," Los Angeles Times, January 15, 2003.
- Gang violence and drug-related thefts surged in the last two years." Los Angeles Times, Mar 6, 2004.
- "Gang Membership in O.C. Still Rising, Study Finds," Los Angeles Times, November 1, 2003, Part 2 page 12.
- Overview of gangs in Orange County: 2002 Annual Gang Cases Report (October 2003) PDF-41 pages.
- "Standing Up To Street Gangs" - This is a series of articles in The Los Angeles Times--to retrieve, search the Los Angeles Times by DOCUMENT TITLE: Standing Up To Street Gangs.
- "Prospects for O.C.'s Youth on the Rise," Statistics on gang violence, teen pregnancy, child abuse, child care costs, and more. Los Angeles Times, September 24, 2003, Wednesday, Orange County Edition, Part 2, page 3.
- "In O.C., More Gang Deaths, Fewer Funds: Even as such homicides nearly double -- to 35 this year -- departments cut back on prevention" [statistics]. Los Angeles Times, Dec. 30, 2002, page B-4.
- 8% Solution: Preventing Serious Repeat Juvenile Crime (2000) [Study conducted in Orange County between 1987 and 1993 and updated in 1999 on chronic juvenile offender recidivism. As a by-product of these studies, a group of chronic juvenile re-offenders was identified as the "8% problem."] CATALOG RECORD
- "Gang Homicides Rise Slightly in O.C. After a 10-Year Decline, Report Says; Crime: The district attorney's office notes that the numbers are far lower than in the early 1990s. Greater police presence, longer prison terms are credited." Los Angeles Times, Home edit 2002,ver B-6 [includes statistics].
- "Data Show Continued Drop in O.C. Crime; Violence: Murders in 2000 fell to their lowest level in 30 years, a state report says. Police credit the decline to aggressive anti-gang enforcement." Los Angeles Times, Home edition, August 28, 2001, page B-6 [includes statistics].
- "O.C. Gang Killings Down for 5th Year; Violence: Officials cite tough sentencing laws, saying that the decline is allowing them to reopen old cases." Los Angeles Times, Home edition, July 3, 2001, page B-6 [includes Orange County statistics].
- "Gun Deaths in County Rose 9%, Survey Says: Violence: A firearm control group compared the year 2000 to 1999: Police blame gangs" [includes statistics]. Los Angeles Times, Friday, December 7, 2001. Section B, page 4.
- Always Running: La Vida Loca, Gang Days in L.A. (1993) CATALOG RECORD. Also 1994 edition CATALOG RECORD.
- Annual Report on the Condition of Children in Orange County [annual] CATALOG RECORD
- Cultural Explanations for Vietnamese Youth Involvement in Street Gangs PDF-97 pages
- "Designing Out" Gang Homicides and Street Assaults (1998) [gangs in LA] CATALOG RECORD
- East Side Stories: Gang Life in East L.A. (1998) CATALOG RECORD
- Father Greg & the Homeboys: The Extraordinary Journey of Father Greg Boyle and His Work with the Latino Gangs of East L.A. (1995) CATALOG RECORD
- Gangs and At-Risk Kids [Orange County]
- Growth of Youth Gang Problems in the United States: 1970–98 (2001)
- Guys, Gangs, and Girlfriend Abuse (2000) CATALOG RECORD
- Monster: The Autobiography of an L.A. Gang Member (1994) CATALOG RECORD
- Rising Above Gangs and Drugs: How to Start a Community Reclamation Project [gangs in LA] (1995) CATALOG RECORD
- Street Gangs and Drug Sales in Two Suburban Cities (1995) [Pasadena and Pomona] PDF-16 pages | CATALOG RECORD
- Street Gangs in L.A.
- Two Badges: The Lives of Mona Ruiz (1997) [gangs in Santa Ana CA] CATALOG RECORD
- Urban Ethnography of Latino Street Gangs [Los Angeles & Ventura Counties] (1999)
- Vietnamese Gangs: Cultural Explanations for Vietnamese Youth Involvement in Street Gangs PDF-97 pages
- Vietnamese Youth Gang Involvement (2000) PDF-2 pages | CATALOG RECORD
- Violent Crime: Federal Law Enforcement Assistance in Fighting Los Angeles Gang Violence: Report to the Attorney General (1996) CATALOG RECORD
- Wallbangin': Graffiti and Gangs in L.A. CATALOG RECORD
