Gerontology
Library Research Guide
        A one-stop guide for beginning your research in Gerontology!             

Mary Anne Lynn, Reference & Instruction Librarian, malynn@fullerton.edu
Based on a Research Guide created by S. Russo (2006)

 

 

 Journals & Articles  |  Books  |  Web Sites  |  Citing Your Sources

Also see the Pollak Library Special Topic Guide on Age, Aging, & the Aged

Journals & Articles (restricted to CSUF students, staff, & faculty)

Databases for research in Gerontology
Journal Title List for
Health Sciences: Geriatrics (page may load slowly)


Books

To search for books, use the Library Catalog.

The following is a list of selected Books at the Pollak Library that may be helpful for research in gerontology. Most of these are Reference Books, located on the First Floor of Library North.

Aging in America A-Z  (CALL NUMBER HQ1064.U5 B379 2001)
Aging Sourcebook (CALL NUMBER HQ1064.U5 A6365 1998)

Encyclopedia of Aging (CALL NUMBER HQ1061 .E534 2002 4 VOLUMES)
The Encyclopedia of Aging : A Comprehensive Resource in Gerontology and Geriatrics
(CALL NUMBER HQ1061 .E53 2001 2 VOLUMES)                                                                                                       The Essential Guide to Aging in the Twenty-first Century: Mind, Body, and Behavior (CALL NUMBER HQ1064.U5 K30 2007)
The Graying of America: An Encyclopedia of Aging, Health, Mind, and Behavior (CALL NUMBER HQ1064.U5 K39 2001)
Statistical Handbook on Aging Americans (CALL NUMBER HQ1064.U5 S695 1994)   

U.S. Directory and Source Book on Aging (CALL NUMBER HV1457 .U17) 


Web Sites

Administration on Aging: "AoA is the Federal focal point and advocate agency for older persons and their concerns."
AgeSource Worldwide: an AARP site providing information resources on aging in 30 countries.
Aging Stats: government site of the Federal Interagency Forum on Aging-Related Statistics.
American Association of Retired Persons: "AARP is a nonprofit organization of persons 50 and older dedicated to addressing their needs and interests."
American Geriatrics Society: "The American Geriatrics Society (AGS) is a nationwide, not-for-profit association of geriatrics health care professionals, research scientists, and other concerned individuals dedicated to improving the health, independence and quality of life of all older people."
Association for Gerontology in Higher Education:
"national membership organization devoted primarily to gerontological education;" the association publishes the journal Gerontology & Geriatrics Education
California Department of Aging: Provides information on services and programs, laws and regulations, and limited statistics & demographics
CSUF Gerontology Department: offers
Minor in Gerontology, Concentration in Gerontology, Professional Certificate in Gerontology, and Master of Science in Gerontology
USA.gov Senior Citizens' Resources: government portal for resources in various areas, including health, housing, laws, and links to federal and state agencies for seniors
Gerontology Society of America: "The Gerontological Society of America is a non-profit professional organization with more than 5000 members in the field of aging;" the society publishes the journals The Gerontologist and Journals of Gerontology Series A & B
Merck Manual of Geriatrics: a searchable, full-text online reference book that "addresses the challenges of caring for the elderly. It incorporates an interdisciplinary focus that is unique, including specific information regarding nursing care, pharmacy, and planning issues."
Merck Manual of Health and Aging: a searchable, full-text online reference book that contains information on how the body ages, preventive medical care and good nutrition, care giving, hospital care, surgery, rehabilitation, long-term care, palliative care

 


Citing Your Sources

Citing sources properly is an important part of your research.  The following list of tips may help you with your citations:

  • Confirm with your professor the style manual you are to use.

  • Make sure you have all the information you will need from each source to create a proper citation, including data such as publication information from the front of books, journal volume/issue numbers, and page numbers for articles and book chapters. You can use RefWorks, an online citation manager to store your citations and create reference or work cited pages.

  • Plagiarism is a serious issue, which includes presenting the work or ideas of another individual as your own.  Keeping careful notes while researching your topic will help you to properly give credit for an idea or passage you came across.

  • Read the "Student Guide to Avoiding Plagiarism: How to Write an Effective Research Paper," prepared by Sandra Rhoten, Associate Dean, Judicial Affairs,CSUF.

  • Attend a Citation Workshop at the library to receive basic instruction on proper citing.

  • Use the Pollak Library's How do I Cite Sources? page, which provides information for APA, MLA, and Chicago styles.

  • The complete style guides (MLA, Turabian, APA, Chicago Manual of Style) are available behind the Reference Desk, 1st Floor, Library North.


An administrative page of the Paulina June & George Pollak Library at California State University, Fullerton.
(c)2006 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved. Reviewed by Mary Anne Lynn 08/2007
Last Updated: May 06, 2008