Recent Titles ▲
- USGCRP: Global Climate Change Impacts the Unites States (June 16, 2009)
- CRS report on H.R. 2454: Greenhouse Gas Legislation: Summary and Analysis of H.R. 2454 as Reported by the house Committee on Energy and Commerce
- CRS report: Climate Change: Science Highlights (2009)
- CRS report: Climate Change: Current Issues and Policy Tools (2009)
- CRS report: The Carbon Cycle: Implications for Climate Change and Congress (2009)
- CRS report: Greenhouse Gas Emissions: Perspectives on the Top 20 Emitters and Developed Versus Developing Nations, updated November 28, 2008
- CRS report: Global Climate Change: Three Policy Perspectives, updated November 26, 2008
- CRS report: Federal Pollution Control Laws: How Are They Enforced? updated November 26, 2008
- CRS report: The Carbon Cycle: Implications for Climate Change and Congress, updated March 13, 2008
- Abrupt Climate Change: Final Report, Synthesis and Assessment Product 3.4 [USGS and CCSP] (2008)
- Clearinghouse of Non-C02 Greenhouse Gas Emission Control Technologies [California Air Resources Board / CSUF]
-
California Climate Risk and Response: Executive Summary
California Climate Risk and Response: Full Report (November 2008) - Analyses of the Effects of Global Change on Human Health and Welfare and Human Systems (2008) PDF-284 pages | Summary PDF-2 pages
- Pollution Abatement Costs and Expenditures: 2005
(2008)
Detailed statistics on capital expenditures and operating costs for pollution prevention and pollution treatment for the manufacturing sector. Data available by cost category (treatment/capture, prevention, disposal and recycling) and the media (air, water discharge and solid waste), both by state and industry. - "Coal is no longer on front burner; The rush to build power plants slows over fears about global warming and costs." Los Angeles Times, January 18, 2008 Friday, Part A; Pg. 1, 1859 words, Judy Pasternak. Available full text in database Los Angeles Times.
- CRS report: Climate Change: Science Update (2007)
- Climate Change (2007) [GAO]
- IPCC: Climate Change 2007 [Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change] - links to latest reports
Encyclopedias ▲
- Online: Gale Virtual Reference Library [CSUF only]
- Global Warming / by Douglas Long (2004)
REFERENCE QC981.8.G56 L66 2004 - Encyclopedia of Global Change (2002)
REFERENCE GE149 .E47 2002 Vol. 1-2 CATALOG RECORD - Conservation and Environmentalism: An Encyclopedia
REFERENCE GE10 .C68 1995 CATALOG RECORD - Conservation and Environmentalism: An Encyclopedia
REFERENCE GE10 .C68 1995 CATALOG RECORD - Encyclopedia of Atmospheric Science (2003)
REFERENCE QC854 .E522 2003 CATALOG RECORD - Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues
REFERENCE GE10 .E52 2000 Vol. 1-3 CATALOG RECORD - Encyclopedia of Environmental Science
REFERENCE GE10 .M66 2000 CATALOG RECORD - Our Living Resources: A Report to the Nation on the Distribution, Abundance, and Health of U.S. Plants, Animals, and Ecosystems (1995) [PDF]
Books ▲
To find books, search the Library Catalog by subject, using the following terms as examples.
- SUBJECT: global warming
- SUBJECT: greenhouse effect
- SUBJECT: atmostpheric carbon dioxide
- SUBJECT: global environmental change
Web Sites ▲
- Global Warming:Frequently Asked Questions [NOAA]
- EPA's Global Warming Site
- Global Change Research Program [USGS]
- Global Warming and Climate Change Policy Sites [list of links] [NASA]
- Global Warming Glossary
- Global Warming Research Program
- Global Warming [Union of Concerned Scientists]
- Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change
- U.S. Climate Change Research Program
- U.S. Greenhouse Gas Emissions Data
- Pew Center for Global Climate Change
Articles ▲
To find articles, click on the links below to access lists of relevant databases.
- Databases--Statistics
- Databases--Pro & Con
- Databases--Scholarly Journals
- Databases--Newspapers
- Databases--Government Sources
CQ Researcher articles of special note:
- "Climate Change," January 27, 2006
- "Science and Politics," August 20, 2004
- "Global Warming Treaty," January 26, 2001
- "At Issue: Can the United States Afford to Ratify the Kyoto Protocol?" May 21, 1999
- "Global Warming Update," November 1, 1996
Articles of note:
- "Coal is no longer on front burner: The rush to build power plants slows over fears about global warming and costs." Los Angeles Times, January 18, 2008, Friday, Part A; Pg. 1, 1859 words, Judy Pasternak. Available full text in Lexis Nexis Academic.
- "Getting the Cows to Cool It; Cattle are a prodigious source of methane, a major contributor to global warming. Scientists are at work on some remedies," Los Angeles Times, June 7, 2003, page A-1. Available full text in Lexis Nexis Academic.
- "California: Chemicals in Home a Big Smog Source; Cleansers, cosmetics and other products pump 100 tons of pollutants daily into the Southland's air, ranking second to tailpipe emissions, studies show," Los Angeles Times, Sunday, March 9, 2003, Part 2, Page 1. Available full text in Lexis Nexis Academic.
California ▲
- Clearinghouse of Non-C02 Greenhouse Gas Emission Control Technologies [California Air Resources Board / CSUF]
-
California Climate Risk and Response: Executive Summary
California Climate Risk and Response: Full Report (November 2008) - South Coast AQMD
- Recent legislative information: California Legislature Moves on Global Warming: Senate Environmental Quality Committee Votes on Historic Legislation (June 27, 2006)
- Legislation (2006): Global Warming Solutions Act, AB 32 (2005-2006 session): AB 32 is the first statewide effort to cap greenhouse gas emissions across all sectors of California's economy.
- Legislation: AB 1493 (2001-2002 session): On July 22, 2002, Assembly Bill (AB) 1493 was signed into law, requiring California to develop and adopt the nation's first greenhouse gas emission standards for automobiles.
