The following sources provide a wealth
of information and strategies on locating funding sources and developing and
writing a grant proposal.
Bauer, David G. The Complete Grants Sourcebook for Higher
Education
Phoenix: Oryx Press, 1996.
Reference LB2336.B38 1996
Catalog
Record
Section I provides strategies for increasing grant success. Sections II, III,
and IV provide detailed information on private foundations, corporate
foundations and giving programs, and government agency programs.
Belcher, Jane C. and Julia M. Jacobsen. From Idea to Funded
Project: Grant Proposals That Work. 4th ed.
Phoenix: Oryx Press, 1992.
Reference LB2336 .B43 1992
Catalog
Record
Provides information on locating an appropriate funding program, developing an
idea, and writing the proposal.
Brewer,
Ernest W. Finding Funding: Grantwriting from Start to
Finish, Including Project Management and Internet Use
Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Corwin Press, 2001.
Reference LB2825 .F522 2001
Catalog
Record
Part 1: Exploring the grants world -- Unraveling the mystique in grant
applications -- How to explore grant possibilities in education -- Using the
Federal Register (FR) and the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) -- Using the
Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (CFDA) -- Using the Internet to assess
funding resources -- Part 2: Writing grant proposals -- What are the components
of a proposal? -- Components of a foundation proposal -- Writing a proposal --
Helpful hints from grantwriting professionals -- Reviewing a funded proposal --
Understanding how grants are awarded -- The players and their roles in the
process -- Part 3: Implementing, operating, and terminating a project --
Implementing a funded project -- Understanding EDGAR and GPRA -- Understanding
site visits and audits -- Closing out a project.
Brown, Larissa
Golden. Demystifying Grant Seeking: What You Really Need to Do to Get
Grants
San Francisco : Jossey-Bass, 2001.
Reference HG177 .B767 2001
Catalog
Record
Provides basic and practical information on seeking grants.
Friedland, Andrew J. Writing Successful
Science Proposals
New Haven: Yale University press, 2000.
Reference Q180.55.P7F75 2000
Catalog
Record
Provides step by step instructions for writing a competitive scientific
proposal.
Geever, Jane C. and Patricia McNeill. The Foundation Center's
Guide to Proposal Writing
New York: Foundation Center, 1997.
Reference HG177.5.U6 G44 1997
Catalog Record
Includes information on researching potential funders, developing, writing, and
packaging the proposal, suggestions from funding organizations, and sample
proposals.
Golden, Susan L. Secrets of Successful Grantsmanship : A Guerrilla
Guide to Raising Money
San Francisco: Jossey-Bass, 1997.
Reference HG177 .G65 1997
Catalog
Record
Includes sections on conducting effective prospect research, preparing and
submitting grant proposals and more.
Henson, Kenneth,
T. "Debunking
Some Myths About Grant Writing," Chronicle
of Higher Education, Thursday, June 26, 2003.
Practical suggestions and tips from a successful grant proposal writer.
Kenner,
Carole. Grant Writing Tips for Nurses and Other Health
Professionals
Washington, D.C. : American Nurses Association, 2001.
Reference RT73 .K46 2001
Catalog
Record
Provides insights and tips for grant seekers in the health professions.
Miner, Lynn E. and Jeremy T. Miner.
Proposal Planning and Writing
Phoenix: Oryx Press, 2002.
Reference HG177.5.U6 M56 2002
Catalog
Record
Provides information on finding and developing proposals for public and private
funds. Useful chapters on writing clear objectives, methods, budgets, and
abstracts.
Nauffts, Mitchell F. Foundation Fundamentals: A Guide for
Grantseekers
New York: Foundation Center, 1994.
Reference HV41.9.U5 M37 1994
Catalog
Record
Provides basic information on foundations, research strategies and how to
present your ideas to potential funders.
Orlich, Donald C. Designing Successful Grant Proposals
Alexandria, Va. : Association for Supervision and Curriculum
Development, 1996.
5th FLOOR SOUTH LB2342 .O75 1996
Catalog
Record
Provides basic information on organizing your ideas, writing the proposal
including calculating a budget, and submitting the finished proposal.
Ries, Joanne B. and Carl G. Leukefeld. The Research Funding
Guidebook. Thousand Oaks: Sage
Publications, 1998.
5th FLOOR SOUTH HG177 .R533 1998
Catalog Record
Provides information on writing the proposal, getting the grant, and managing
and renewing it.
Winning Grants Step by
Step
Reference HG177 .C374 1995
Catalog Record
Provides a workbook for planning, developing, and writing successful
proposals.
Prepared by Suellen Cox. scox@fullerton.edu
An administrative page of the Paulina June & George Pollak Library at California
State University, Fullerton.
(c) 1999 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved.
Updated
07/01/04