Recent Titles ▲
- CRS Report: Gun Control Legislation (2007)
- Supreme Court decision:
District of Columbia v. Heller (decided June 26, 2008)
Ruled that the U.S. Constitution protects the rights of individuals to own handguns for self-defense in their homes. - Key dates in gun control debate: "Do you have a legal right to own a gun?" [USA Today, March 18, 2008]
- Public opinion surveys: Guns [PollingReport.com]
Encyclopedias & Reference ▲
- Online: Gale Virtual Reference Library [CSUF]
- Online: National Survey of State Laws - available in Gale Virtual Reference Library under LAW [CSUF]
- Online: West's Encyclopedia of American Law - available in Gale Virtual Reference Library under LAW [CSUF]
- Gun Control in the United States: A Reference Handbook (2006)
- Injury Facts (accidents and violent deaths) [annual]
- CFR: Code of Federal Regulations 27, Alcohol, Tobacco Products and
Firearms
HTML
CATALOG RECORD - Guns in American Society: An Encyclopedia of History, Politics, Culture, and the Law (2002)
- Encyclopedia of Gun Control and Gun Rights (2000)
Statistics--Online ▲
- BJS: Firearms and Crime Statistics
- ATF: Firearms Statistics
- CDC: Deaths: Leading Causes for 2005 (2008) | 2006 (2009) - search: firearm
- "Death
rates for firearm-related injuries according to sex, race, Hispanic origin,
and age, 1970-2005."
SOURCE: Health, United States: 2008. Table 46 - under MORTALITY, search: firearm-related. - Statistical Abstract of the United States. In 2009 ed., see Section: Law Enforcement. Use browser's FIND command to search: gun or firearm[annual]
- MMWR: Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance--United States, 2007 - scroll down to section: Behaviors that Contribute to Violence.
- MMWR: Surveillance for Violent Deaths--National Violence Death Reporting System, 16 States, 2006 (2009)
- MMWR: Surveillance for Fatal and Nonfatal Injuries--United States, 2001 (2004) - search: firearm
- USDOJ: Violence-Related Injuries Treated in Hospital Emergency Departments (1997)
Additional Statistics Sources
- Bureau of Justice Statistics
- NCJRS: Criminal Justice Statistics
- Federal Bureau of Investigation
- MMWR Search
- FedStats
- NRA: National Rifle Association of America
- Violence Policy Center
Statistics--Print ▲
- Crime in the united States (FBI Uniform Crime Reports) CATALOG RECORD
- Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics CATALOG RECORD
- Statistical Abstract of the United States. In 2009 ed., see Section 5: Law Enforcement.
-
Surveillance for Fatal and Nonfatal Firearm-Related Injuries--United States,
1993-1998 (2001)
DOCS/US HE 20.7009/2-3:50/3 - Country
data: Rates of Homicide, Suicide, and Firearm-related Death Among
Children--26 Industrialized Countries (1997)
DOCS/US HE 20.7009:46(5), PP. 101-105 (Feb 7, 1997)
Books ▲
Search the Library Catalog by these SUBJECTS:
- gun control
- gun control united states
- firearms and crime
- firearms accidents
- firearms and crime
- firearms law and legislation
- firearms licenses
- firearms owners
- firearms ownership
- firearms ownership united states history
- firearms purchasing
- firearms social aspects
- firearms united states
- self-defense (law) united states
Books of note:
- CRS Report: Gun Control Legislation (2007)
- The Politics of Gun Control (2008)
- Out of Range: Why the Constitution Can't End the Battle over Guns (2007)
- The Gun Control Debate: A Documentary History (1997)
Articles ▲
To find articles, search Pollak Library's subscription databases. The links below will take you to a list of relevant databases.
- Databases--Statistics
- Databases--Pro and Con
- Databases--Scholarly Journals
- Databases--Newspapers
- Databases--Government Sources
CQ Researcher articles of note:
- "Gun Violence," May 25, 2007
- "Gun Control Debate," Nov 11, 2004
- "Gun Control Standoff," Dec 19, 1997
Articles of note:
"First reports evaluating the effectiveness
of strategies for preventing violence: firearms laws." MMWR, Oct 3, 2003.
"Gun Laws Effective in Deterring Criminals." Los Angeles Times, Aug 30, 2001, part A, page 16. Full text available in database Los Angeles Times.
Supreme Court Decisions / Primary Sources ▲
- Second Amendment: U.S. Constitution Second Amendment--Bearing Arms [text]
- Second Amendment: U.S. Constitution Second Amendment: Right to Bear Arms [FindLaw]
- Supreme Court decision:
District of Columbia v. Heller (decided June 26, 2008)
Ruled that the U.S. Constitution protects the rights of individuals to own handguns for self-defense in their homes. - Public Law 103-159: Handgun Control, Multiple Firearm Purchases, and Federal Firearms License Reform [waiting period]
-
Supreme Court decision: United States v. Miller, 307 U.S. 174
(1939)
The first Supreme Court of the United States decision to directly address the Second Amendment to the United States Constitution. - CRS Report: Gun Control Legislation (2007) - background information identifying legislation
Brady Handgun Violence Protection Act ▲
- Text of law--online: Brady Handgun Control Act (Public Law 103-159)
- Text of law--print: Brady Handgun Violence Prevention Act is in U.S. Code Congressional and Administrative News - REFERENCE KF63 .75X 1993 Vol.2--P.L. 103-159
- Legislative history--online: Brady Handgun Violence Protection Act (Public Law 103-159): Legislative History
- Legislative history--print: Brady Handgun Violence Prevention Act is in U.S. Code Congressional and Administrative News - see Reference KF63 .U5X 1993 VOLUME 3, page 1984
- Dissenting views: Brady Handgun Violence Prevention Act: Report Together with Dissenting Views (1990) CATALOG RECORD
- Dissenting views: Brady Handgun Violence Prevention Act: Report Together with Additional and Dissenting Views (1991) CATALOG RECORD
- Dissenting views: Brady Handgun Violence Prevention Act: Report Together with Additional and Dissenting Views (1993) CATALOG RECORD
- Conference report: Brady Handgun Violence Prevention Act: Conference Report (1993) CATALOG RECORD
- GAO report: Gun Control: Implementation of the Brady Handgun Violence Prevention Act: Report (1996) CATALOG RECORD
California ▲
- California Firearms Laws: 2005 [CAAG]
- Attorney General Position on the Second Amendment to the United States Constitution (2009)
- California Penal Code - use your browser's FIND command to search: firearms and scroll to Section 12000
- National Survey of State Laws - available in Gale Virtual Reference Library [CSUF]
- Reducing Gun Violence: Operation Ceasefire in Los Angeles (2005)
- Concealable Firearms Charges in California (2004)
- 2001-2002 report of Committee hearings [Committee on Gun Violence] (2003)
- Reducing Gun Violence: Results from an Intervention in East Los Angeles (2003)
- Concealed Handgun Laws and Public Safety (1997) [CRB]
- The right to defend your life, your family and your property (1996)
- Firearm-related violence in California: incidence and economic costs (1994)

