library logo

Gun Control
A Guide to Resources in Pollak Library   


Recent Reports
Encyclopedias

Statistics--Online

Statistics--Print
Books
Articles
Primary Sources / Supreme Court Decisions
California
Brady Handgun Violence Protection Act
Pro & Con

Recent Reports   

Encyclopedias 

Online: Gale Virtual Reference Library [CSUF only]

Gun Control in the United States: A Reference Handbook (2006)
REFERENCE  HV436 .C36 2006 CATALOG RECORD

Injury Facts [ANNUAL]
REFERENCE  HA217 .A4 2004 CATALOG RECORD

California Firearms Laws (2001)
REFERENCE  KFC641.Z9 C345 2001 CATALOG RECORD

Code of Federal Regulations 27, Alcohol, Tobacco Products and Firearms
Online: HTML
Print: CATALOG RECORD

Pros and  Cons:  Social Policy Debates of Our Time (2001)
REFERENCE  HN59.2 .K56 2001 CATALOG RECORD
 

Encyclopedia of Gun Control and Gun Rights (2000)
REFERENCE  KF3941.A68 U88 2000 CATALOG RECORD
 

West's Encyclopedia of American Law 
REFERENCE   KF154 .W47 1998 Vol. 1-12 CATALOG RECORD

American Law Yearbook [ANNUAL] 
REFERENCE  KF154 .W472 1998 CATALOG RECORD

Online: Handgun Control, Multiple Firearm Purchases, and Federal Firearms License Reform: Act to Provide for a Waiting Period before the Purchase of a Handgun, and for the Establishment of a National Instant Criminal Background Check System... Public Law 103-159  

All 50 states: National Survey of State Laws(2003)
REFERENCE KF386 .N38 2003 (see page 147-161) CATALOG RECORD


Statistics--Online

Additional Statistics Sources     top


Statistics--Print  
  • Crime in the United States [annual]
    Online: 1995-current date available online
    Print: CATALOG RECORD
  • Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics [annual]
    Online: HTML
    Print: CATALOG RECORD
  • Surveillance for Fatal and Nonfatal Firearm-Related Injuries--United States, 1993-1998 (2001)
    Print:  DOCS/US  HE 20.7009/2-3:50/3
    Online: HTML
  • Statistical Abstract of the United States [ANNUAL]
    Online: HTML
    Print: CATALOG RECORD
  • International Comparative Analysis of Injury Mortality CATALOG RECORD
  • "Risk Factors and Effectiveness of Denying Handgun Purchase," JAMA, Vol. 285 No.8, February 28, 2001 [PERIODICALS R15 .A48] CATALOG RECORD FOR JAMA
  • Commerce in Firearms in the United States (2000) CATALOG RECORD
  • Firearm and Motor Vehicle Injury Mortality--Variations by State, Race, and Ethnicity: United States, 1990-91. CATALOG RECORD
  • Firearm Injury From Crime: Firearms, Crime, and Criminal Justice (1996) CATALOG RECORD
  • Firearm Mortality Among Children, Youth, and Young Adults 1-34 Years of Age, Trends and Current Status: United States, 1985-90 CATALOG RECORD
  • Guns and Crime (1994) CATALOG RECORD
  • Country data: Rates of Homicide, Suicide, and Firearm-Related Death Among Children--26 Industrialized Countries
    Print: DOCS/US  HE 20.7009:46(5),  pp. 101-105

Books 


newspaper and journal articles
Articles  

To find articles, search Pollak Library's subscription databases. The links below will take you to a list of relevant databases.

Databases--Statistics
Databases--Pro & Co/Current Issues
Databases--Scholarly Journals
Databases--Newspapers
Databases--Government Sources

CQ Researcher issues of special note:

  • "Gun Control Debate," November 11, 2004
  • "High Impact Litigation," February 11, 2000
  • "Gun Control Standoff," Dec. 19, 1997

Articles of note:    
new title First Reports Evaluating the Effectiveness of Strategies for Preventing Violence: Firearms Laws (MMWR, October 3, 2003)

"Gun Laws Effective in Deterring Criminals." Los Angeles Times, Thursday, August 30, 2001, Part A, Part 1, Page 16.


California  
  • National Survey of State Laws (all 50 states) (2003)
    REFERENCE KF386 .N38 2003 (see page147-161) CATALOG RECORD
    .
  • Reducing Gun Violence: Results from an Intervention in East Los Angeles (2003) [RAND] PDF-69 pages
    .
  • "Gun, Stem Cell Bills Signed: Gov. Davis approves measures to make semiautomatic pistols safer and advance research on serious diseases," Los  Angeles Times, Thursday, September 25, 2003, Part 2 Page 1.
    .
  • California Firearms Laws, 2003 PDF-68 pages | CATALOG RECORD
    Summaries of laws regarding prohibited firearms, persons ineligible to possess firearms, deadly force, concealed weapons, firearms sales, safety, and more.
    .
  • "State's Children Facing Fewer Risks, Study Says: Safety: Annual survey reports declines in child abuse, gun injuries and teen births. School performance remains a cause for concern," Los Angeles Times, Wednesday, November 28, 2001, Home Edition, Part 2 Page 3.  
    This article summarizes findings from the California Report Card 2001 providing discussion and statistics (Excerpt: "The number of gun injuries decreased from 415 in 1997 to 282 in 1999, while 113 gun deaths were recorded in 1999 compared with 145 in 1997.")
    .
  • "Gun Deaths in County Rose 9%, Survey Says: Violence: A firearm control group compared the year 2000 to 1999: Police blame gangs." [Includes statistics]. Los Angeles Times, Friday, December 7, 2001. Section B, page 4. 
    .
  • Attorney General [of California] Position on the Second Amendment to the United States Constitution (2007)
  • Concealed Handgun Laws and Public Safety [CRB Report] (1998) PDF-5 pages
  • California Firearms Legislation 1999
  • Concealable Firearms Charges in California [ANNUAL, 2000-] CATALOG RECORD & INTERNET LINK
  • Firearm-Related Violence in California
  • California Penal Code [Use your browser's FIND command to search for keyword firearms to quickly scroll to Section 12000]
  • Firearm-Related Violence in California: Incidence and Economic Costs (1994) CATALOG RECORD
  • The Right to Defend Your Life, Your Family and Your Property (1996) CATALOG RECORD

Brady Handgun Violence Protection Act  
  Library Home Page  

Locations of visitors to this page