Recent Titles ▲
- Foreclosures and homelessness: Foreclosure to Homelessness 2009: The Forgotten Victims of the Subprime Crisis (2009)
- Recent report: 2009 Greater Los Angeles Homeless Count Report (2009)
- Recent reports: Good . . . to Better . . . to Great: Innovations in 10-Year Plans to End Chronic Homelessness in Your Community (2009) [USICH]
- Recent reports: Housing & Homelessness [United Way of Greater Los Angeles]
- Recent reports: Factsheets [National Coalition for the Homeless]
- Recent reports: Data + Research [National Alliance to End Homelessness]
- U.S. California, Orange County--statistics: Third Annual Homeless Assessment Report to Congress (2008)
- L.A.: 2008 Report Card on Homelessness in L.A. County (2008)
- U.S.: Annual Homeless Assessment Report to Congress (2007)
- CRS Report: The Runaway and Homeless Youth Program: Administration, Funding, and Legislative Actions (2006)
Encyclopedias ▲
- Online: Gale Virtual Reference Library [CSUF]
- Encyclopedia of Homelessness (2004)
- Education and Sociology: An Encyclopedia (2002)
Statistics ▲
- U.S., California, Orange County: Third Annual Homeless Assessment Report to Congress (2008)
- L.A.: 2008 Report Card on Homelessness in L.A. County (2008)
- L.A. 2007 Homeless Count Report
- U.S.: Data + Research [National Alliance to End Homelessness]
- U.S. and states: Homeless Counts
- U.S.: Factsheets [National Coalition for the Homeless]
- All 50 states: Homelessness Counts: State by State Data on Homelessness
- U.S.: Hate crimes against the homeless (U.S.): Hate, Violence, And Death on Main Street USA A Report on Hate Crimes and Violence Against People Experiencing Homelessness 2007
- Census 2000: Emergency and Transitional Shelter Population: 2000 (2001) [U.S., California, Los Angeles/Orange County]
- Census 2000--U.S., states, counties and census tracts: Population in Emergency and Transitional Shelters - scroll down to California then Los Angeles County or Orange County.
- All 50 states--major cities: Homeless Counts in Major US Cities and Counties: 2005
Books ▲
- Library Catalog subject: homeless
- Library Catalog subject: homeless persons united states
- Library Catalog subject: homelessness united states history
- Library Catalog subject: homeless women
- Library Catalog subject: homeless youth
- Library Catalog subject: homeless families
- Library Catalog subject: homeless persons services for law and legislation
Books of note:
- Skid Row USA (1956)
- Skid Row: An Introduction to Disaffiliation (1973)
- Down and Out in America: The Origins of Homelessness (1989)
- Men on the Move (1940)
- Outcasts on Main Street (1992)
- Impact of Multiple Childhood Trauma on Homeless Runaway Adolescents (1999)
Articles ▲
To find articles, search the subscription databases. The links below will take you to a list of relevant databases.
- Databases--Statistics
- Databases--Pro and Con
- Databases--Scholarly Journals
- Databases--Newspapers
- Databases--Government Sources
Web Sites ▲
- Recent reports: Housing & Homelessness [United Way of Greater Los Angeles]
- National Alliance to End Homelessness
- Poverty and Homelessness [HUD]
- Interagency Council on Homelessness: Library
California & Orange County ▲
- Library Catalog KEYWORD SEARCH:
homeless california
- Recent reports: Housing & Homelessness [United Way of Greater Los Angeles]
- California: Homelessness Counts: State-by-State Data on Homelessness
- L.A.: 2009 Greater Los Angeles Homeless Count Report (2009)
- L.A.: Unsheltered: A Report on Homelessness in South Los Angeles (2008)
- U.S. California, Orange County--statistics: Third Annual Homeless Assessment Report to Congress (2008)
- Orange County: Orange County Community Indicators 2009 - search: homeless
- L.A.: Policing Our Way Out of Homelessness? The First Year of the Safer Cities Initiative on Skid Row (2007)
- L.A.: Ending Homelessness in Los Angeles (2007)
- Pasadena: Pasadena Homeless Count: Final Report 2006
- All 50 states--Orange County--major cities: Homeless Counts in Major US Cities and Counties: 2005
- California--homeless youth: Voices from the Street: A Survey of Homeless Youth by Their Peers (2008)
- L.A.:
Dying
without Dignity: Homeless Deaths in Los Angeles County: 2000-2007 (2008)
Nature and prevalence of death among homeless individuals from 2000 to 2007 in LA County. Demographics (ethnicity, gender, age), causes of deaths, geographic distribution and more. Comparisons to other major metro areas. Policy recommendations on preventing deaths among homeless in LA County. - L.A., Santa Monica, San Francisco and other U.S. cities: Hunger and Homelessness Survey (2007) PDF-72 pages [city profiles of homelessness including Los Angeles, Santa Monica, and San Francisco]
- California--educational success of homeless youth: The Educational Success of Homeless Youth in California (2007) [CRB]
- California: Addressing Long-Term Homelessness: Permanent Supportive Housing (2003) [CRB]
- L.A.: Los Angeles County: "County's Homeless Number 90,000" [LA County], Los Angeles Times, June 16, 2005.
- California: "California is 'Meanest" State for Homeless [statistics], Los Angeles Times, August 6, 2003.
- Orange County: "O.C. Homeless Count Up 6% Survey: Estimates Put This Year's Population at 19,740." Los Angeles Times, Friday, June 1, 2001, page B3.
- L.A.: "Inside Story: Specters on the Street," Los Angeles Times Magazine, Home Edition, Sept. 17, 2000, p. 16.
