Recent Titles ▲
- U.S.--immigration reform in Obama administration: Building an Americanization Movement for the Twenty-first Century: A Report to the President of the United States from the Task Force on New Americans (2009)
- U.S.: Naturalizations in the United States: 2007 (2008) PDF-4 pages
- U.S.--latest statistical reports: Immigration Statistics
- U.S.--latest reports: Pew Hispanic Center
- California: Just the Facts: Immigrants in California (2008) PDF-2 pages
- California--illegal immigrants: Just the Facts: Illegal Immigrants [California] (2008) PDF-2 pages
- California: Immigrant Pathways to Legal Permanent Residence: Now and Under A Merit-Based System (2008) PDF-28 pages
- California--statistical reports: Immigration and Migration
- Los Angeles: Los Angeles on the Leading Edge: Immigrant Integration Indicators and Their Policy Implications (2008) PDF-74 pages
- U.S.--policy: Farm Labor Shortages and Immigration Policy (2008) [CRS]
- U.S.: Estimates of the Legal Permanent Resident Population in 2006 (Feb 2008) PDF-5 pages
- US.: Estimates of the Unauthorized Immigrant Population Residing in the United States: January 2007 (2007) PDF-7 pages
- US.: Trends in Naturalization Rates (2007) PDF-2 pages
- U.S.: Civics and Citizenship Toolkit: A Collection of Educational Resources for Immigrants (2007) | PDF-124 pages
- California: California's Out of-School Immigrant Youth: A Vulnerable Minority (2007) PDF-2 pages
- California: Children in Immigrant Families (2007)
- California, L.A., U.S.: The Characteristics of Unauthorized Immigrants in California, Los Angeles County, and the United States [Urban Institute] (2007)
- California: How Immigrants Affect California Employment and Wages (2007) [PPIC]
- Maps: Maps of Naturalized Citizens (2006)
- Current data: Center for Immigration Studies [this web site provides concise summaries of INS and Census data on Current Numbers, History, Legal Immigration, Illegal Immigration, and Costs of Immigration]
Encyclopedias ▲
- Online: Gale Virtual Reference Library [CSUF only]
- Core Statistics: Yearbook of Immigration Statistics
- Illegal Immigration: A Reference Handbook
- Immigration and Asylum: From 1900 to the Present (2005)
- Encyclopedia of North American Immigration (2005)
- Immigration in America Today: An Encyclopedia (2006)
- American Immigrant Cultures: Builders of a Nation (1997)
Statistics ▲
- Latest statistical publications: Publications [Dept. of Homeland Security]
- Latest statistics: Immigration Statistics
- Latest statistics: Center for Immigration Statistics: Current Numbers
- U.S.: Naturalizations in the United States: 2007 (2008) PDF-4 pages
- California: Just the Facts: Immigrations in California (2008) PDF-2 pages
- Costs: Costs of Immigration
- Maps: Maps of Naturalized Citizens (2006)
- Trends: Trends in Naturalization Rates (2007)
- Trends-international: Trends in International Migration [annual]
- U.S.-basic statistics: Statistical Abstract of the United States: Population
-
U.S. historical:
Historical Census Statistics on the Foreign-Born Population of the United
States: 1850-2000
Selected decennial census data on the foreign-born population, with data for the nation's largest metropolitan areas and cities. The 1850 decennial census was the first to collect data on the nativity of the U.S. population.
Census Bureau Reports ▲
- Latest reports: Foreign-Born Population Reports
- CENSUS 2000: Foreign Born Population in the United States (March 2000)
- CENSUS 2000: The Asian and Pacific islander Population in the United States: March 1999
- CENSUS 2000: From the Mideast to the Pacific: A Profile of the Nation's Asian Foreign-Born Population (2000)
- CENSUS 2000: Coming from the Americas: A Profile of the Nation's Latin American Foreign-Born Population (2000)
Books ▲
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: Aliens united states
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: California emigration and immigration
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: Citizenship Study and teaching United States
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: Emigration and immigration
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: Emigration and immigration statistics periodicals
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: Illegal aliens united states
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: Immigrants united states
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: Los angeles calif emigration and immigration
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: United states emigration and immigration
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: United states emigration and immigration government policy
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: united states emigration and immigration history
Book of note:
- The closing of the American border: terrorism, immigration, and security since 9/11 (2008)
- Illegal, alien, or immigrant: the politics of immigration reform (2008)
- Why immigrants come to America: braceros, indocumentados, and the migra (2008)
- Opening the floodgates: why America needs to rethink its borders and immigration laws (2007)
- Statistical Portrait of the United States: Social Conditions and Trends. SEE Chapter 3: Social Conditions--Immigration
- The Socioeconomic well-being of California's immigrant youth (2004)
- Anti-immigrantism in Western democracies: statecraft, desire and the politics of exclusion (2003)
- A Century of Chicano History: Empire, Nations, and Migration (2003)
- Mexican-origin people in the United States: a topical history (2001)
- Children of Immigration (2001)
- Legislative history of American immigration policy, 1798-1965 (1981)
Primary Sources and Historic Documents ▲
Primary Sources:
Library Catalog SUBJECT: emigration and immigration united states history sources
Search the database North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories.
Search the database Historic Documents (1972-present).
Annual Reports:
- Yearbook of Immigration Statistics (2002-current date) HTML | CATALOG RECORD
- Statistical Yearbook of the Immigration and Naturalization Service (1978-2001)
- Annual Report of the Immigration and Naturalization Service (1978-1986)
- Annual Report of the Immigration and Naturalization Service (1968 to 1977)
-
Annual Report of the
Immigration and Naturalization Service (1965
TO 1967)
Note: Published 1933 to 1967 but CSUF owns only 1965 and 1967 editions.
Additional Publications:
In reverse chronological order. For assistance in finding additional primary source materials, inquire at the Reference Desk.
- Historical
Census Statistics on the Foreign-Born Population of the United States:
1850 to 2000 (2006)
Selected decennial census data on the foreign-born population, with data for the nation's largest metropolitan areas and cities. The 1850 decennial census was the first to collect data on the nativity of the U.S. population. - Historical Census Statistics on the Foreign-Born Population of the United States: 1850-1990 (1999, rev. 2001).
- "By Way of Canada: U.S. Records of Immigration Across the U.S.-Canadian Border, 1895–1954," Prologue 32(3), Fall 2000, pp. 192-199..
-
Chinese Immigration and the Chinese in the United States [National Archives]
- Becoming an American: Immigration and Immigrant Policy
(1997)
Executive Summary | Full Report PDF-246 pages | CATALOG RECORD - Legal Immigration: Setting Priorities: A Report to Congress, 1995 CATALOG RECORD
- U.S. Immigration Policy: Restoring Credibility: A Report to Congress, 1994 CATALOG RECORD
- U.S. Immigration Policy and the National Interest (1981) CATALOG RECORD
- U.S. Immigration Policy and the National Interest [supplements] (1981) CATALOG RECORD
- Report of the Commission
on Government Security (see chapter: Immigration and
Nationality Program, pp. 519-612)
(1971)
CATALOG RECORD
This commission report strives to give an objective, nonpolitical review of the laws and regulations concerning immigration that were passed to provide for the protection of the national security, starting with the 1882 Chinese Exclusion Act. Provides summary and analysis of the Immigration and Nationality Act of 1952. - Reports of the Immigration Commission
(1957)
CATALOG RECORD
Note: Pollak Library owns volumes 1, 2, and 5. Other volumes may be requested via Link+ or Interlibrary Loan.
Contents: v. 1-2. Abstracts of reports of the Immigration Commission.--v. 3. Statistical review of immigration, 1819-1910.--v. 4. Emigration conditions in Europe.--v. 5. Dictionary of races of peoples.--v. 6-25. Immigrants in industries.--v. 26-27. Immigrants in cities.--v. 28. Occupations of the first and second generation of immigrants in the United States. Fecundity of immigrant women.--v. 29-33. The children of immigrants in schools.--v. 34-35. Immigrants as charity seekers.--v. 36. Immigration and crime.--v. 37. Steerage conditions. Importation and harboring of women for immoral purposes. Immigrant homes and aid societies. Immigrant banks.--v. 38. Changes in bodily form of descendants of immigrants.--v. 39. Federal immigration legislation. Digest of immigration decisions. Steerage legislation, 1819-1908. State immigration and alien law.--v. 40. The immigration situation in other countries.--v. 41. Statements and recommendations submitted by societies and organizations interested in the subject of immigration. - Treaty, Laws, and Rules Governing the Admission of Chinese: Rules Approved January 24, 1914 (1914) CATALOG RECORD
- Statistical Review of Immigration, 1820-1910. Distribution of
Immigrants, 1850-1900 (1911)
CATALOG RECORD
61st Cong., 3d sess, Senate Document 756. Popularly known as the Dillingham Commission. - Final Report of the Industrial Commission (see chapter: "Immigration," pp. 957-1030) (1902) CATALOG RECORD
- Reports of the Industrial
Commission on Immigration :
including testimony with review and digest
(1901)
CATALOG RECORD
Immigration issues as viewed in 1901: statistics, social character and effects of immigration, economic effects of immigration, distribution and employment of immigration, causes inducing immigration, existing legislation restricting immigration. Of special note: Part IV: Chinese and Japanese Immigration (discusses laborers on railway lines, in mines, in agriculture, and in San Francisco). - Chinese Immigration: Its Social, Moral, and Political Effect: report to
the California State Senate of its Special Committee on Chinese
Immigration
(1878)
CATALOG RECORD
Report of the Special committee.--An address to the people of the United States upon the evils of Chinese immigration.--Memorial of the Senate of California to the Congress of the United States.--Chinese immigration, resolution offered by Creed Haymond.--Proceedings of the commission: testimony taken before a committee of the Senate, appointed April 3, 1876.--Statistics.--Resolutions adopted by the General association of Congregational churches of California, and address of Rev. S. V. Blakeslee.--The Chinese question, by J. H. Boalt.--The conflict of races in California, by H. N. Clement.--Opinions of J. W. Draper, Goldwin Smith, and the London times.--Address by E. R. Meade. - History of Immigration
to the United States (originally published in
1856)
CATALOG RECORD
By William Jeremy Bromwell. Immigration statistics from official data.
Originally published March 1981 as U.S. Immigration Policy: Final Report and Recommendations of the Select Commission. 97th Congress, 1st Session, Joint Committee Print, No. 8. Contents: I. International issues. II. Undocumented/illegal aliens. III. Admission of immigrants. IV. Phasing in new programs recommended by the Select Commission. V. Refugee and mass first asylum issues. VI. Nonimmigrant aliens. VII. Administrative issues. VIII. Legal issues. IX. Language requirement for naturalization. X. Treatment of U.S. territories under U.S. immigration and nationality laws. Tables: 1. Resettlement totals of receiving countries. 2. Contributions to international refugee agencies. 3. Outline of U.S. immigration policy, 1783-1980. 4. Levels and rates of U.S. immigration, 1870-1979. 5. U.S. gross immigration, 1976-1981. 6. Five countries with highest levels of immigration by decade, 1821-1978. 7. Proposed immigration admissions system. 8. Comparison of proposed and current visa allocation systems. 9. Countries with the greatest number of active visa applicants, January 1, 1980. 10. Proposed refugee admissions by region. 11. Selected refugee programs. 12. Current Indochinese refugee population in the United States by state as of December 31. 1980. 13. Estimated net secondary migration of Indochinese refugees by state. 14. Temporary visitor classifications and entry data, 1968 and 1978.
Web Sites ▲
- Pew Hispanic Center
- Center for immigration Studies
- Federation for American Immigration Reform
- Public Policy Institute of California: Immigration
- Urban Institute: in search box, type IMMIGRATION
Articles ▲
To find articles, search Pollak Library's subscription databases. The links below will take you to a list of relevant databases.
- Databases--Pro & Con
- Databases--Scholarly Journals
- Databases--Newspapers
- Databases--Government Sources
California ▲
- California: Just the Facts: Immigrants in California (2008) PDF-2 pages/li>
- California: Just the Facts: Illegal Immigrants [California] (2008) PDF-2 pages
- California: Immigrant Pathways to Legal Permanent Residence: Now and Under Merit-Based System (2008) PDF-28 pages
- California: Crime, Corrections, and California: What Does Immigration Have to Do with It? (2008) PDF-24 pages
- California: California's Out of-School Immigrant Youth: A Vulnerable Minority (2007) PDF-2 pages
- California: Children in Immigrant Families (2007)
- California: Immigrants in California: Just the Facts (2007) PDF-2 pages
- California, L.A., U.S.: The Characteristics of Unauthorized Immigrants in California, Los Angeles County, and the United States [Urban Institute] (2007)
- California: How Immigrants Affect California Employment and Wages (2007) [PPIC]
- California: California Immigration (statistics)
- Overview: Illegal Immigration (2006) [PPIC] PDF-20 pages (Focusing on California, discusses where illegal immigrants come from and settle, who they are, why they come, how they fit into the economy, and how public policy is addressing illegal immigration.)
- Costs of illegal immigration: "Illegal--but Essential" [Experts say undocumented immigrants are a driving force in the economy, despite a toll on public services and unskilled workers], by David Streitfield, Los Angeles Times, October 1, 2006.
- Economic mobility: Economic Mobility of Orange County Immigrants, 1980-2000 (2004) [Center for Demographic Research] PDF 6-pages
- Immigrant labor force: LA Economy Project Data Library (2006)
- LA economic data (in excel, word, and PDF documents) for policy makers, students, researchers and others. Data included: distribution of occupations, average wages (by occupation, area), immigrant labor force (by area and occupation), occupations of the working poor, employers by planning area, maps of industries across LA and more. Also included are links to census and labor market data as well as federal agencies.
- Instruction resources: The Immigration Debate in the Classroom: 2006
- Education: Educational Progress Across Immigrant Generations in California (2005)
- California: Second Generation Immigrants in California (2005) PDF-20 pages
Illegal Aliens ▲
- California: Just the Facts: Illegal Immigrants [California] (2008) PDF-2 pages
- California: Immigrant Pathways to Legal Permanent Residence: Now and Under Merit-Based System (2008) PDF-28 pages
- California, U.S.--country of origin: Estimates of the Unauthorized Immigrant Population Residing in the United States: January 2006 (2007) PDF-6 pages
- California, L.A., U.S.: The Characteristics of Unauthorized Immigrants in California, Los Angeles County, and the United States [Urban Institute] (2007)
- US.: Estimates of the Unauthorized Immigrant Population Residing in the United States: January 2007 (2007) PDF-7 pages
- US. & California: Illegal Immigration (2006) [PPIC] PDF-20 pages (Focusing on California, discusses where illegal immigrants come from and settle, who they are, why they come, how they fit into the economy, and how public policy is addressing illegal immigration.)
- Costs of illegal immigration: "Illegal--but Essential" [Experts say undocumented immigrants are a driving force in the economy, despite a toll on public services and unskilled workers], by David Streitfield, Los Angeles Times, October 1, 2006.
- US.: Size and Characteristics of the Unauthorized Migrant Population in the U.S. (2006) [how many, gender, country of origin, family composition, workforce characteristics (occupations/industries, labor participation rates, gender), trends over time, and more]
Pro and Con ▲
- Database: CQ Researcher [CSUF only]
- Database: Opposing Viewpoints [CSUF only]
