Music
     A Pollak Library Research Guide

 

The Three Different Types of Music Periodicals and their Uses:

 

Scholarly Journals

Trade Journals

Magazines   

Written for

Musicologists and college students

Music professionals

General public

Written by

Musicologists and other scholars

Professionals within music

Professional writers

Appearance

Covers: Simple, using few colors
Advertisements: very few
Contains: Research results, charts, graphs, statistics, or a few lines of music.
Published by: Universities or professional associations

Covers: Glossy with great photos
Advertisements:  Many
Contains: Practical information  and lots of advertisements useful to music professionals
Published by: Professional associations

Covers: Glossy with great photos Advertisements: Many
Contains: Entertaining information for the people who love music.
Published by: Commercial publishers

Articles

are always signed.
written in scholarly language
are long, eight or more pages
report research
will be fully cited
● have detailed bibliography
reviewed by an editorial board

might be signed.
easy to read.
report trends, news or practical information for music professionals.
will be short, 1 paragraph to a couple of pages.
are likely to be illustrated.

might be signed.
are easy to read.
are read for pleasure.
include lots of photographs
report on current topics and events.
Articles tend to be short.

Used for

Journals report scholarly research and are read by scholars and college students.  They are often the basis for further scholarly research done by musicologists.  They are used by college students doing research.

Trade journals inform music professionals on practical information, current trends, products, and advertise conferences & workshops. They might be used in college research.  Check with your professor.

Popular magazines are written primarily for the pleasure of the general public but they can also inform and educate.  They are not used college-level research papers. They are appropriate for High School level work.

 

 

Scholarly Journals

 

Trade Journals

 

Magazines   

Cost

Remarkably expensive, subscription starts about $500. per year, obtain from a university or college.

Cost varies, less expensive, can come with a professional membership

Very reasonable, $5-15 per issue, subscriptions bring the cost down.

Subject Access

RILM, Humanities Abstracts, Music and Performing Art Online

 RILM, Music and Performing Art Online, ERIC, Academic Search Premier

Academic Search Premier, Readers Guide

Sample
 Titles

American Music
The Musical Times
Notes
Psychology of Music
Journal of Research In Music Education
The Musical Quarterly
Journal of Music Theory
Early Music

Music Educators Journal
Instrumentalist
American Music Teacher
The Music Trades
Performing Songwriter
Trombone
Symphony (New York)

Downbeat
Rolling Stone Magazine
Guitar World
Jazz Times
Opera News
Sound and Vision

Sample Covers

 

Journal of Music Theory

    Scholarly Journal

Music Educators Journal Cover Image 

Music Educators Journal
   Trade magazine

JazzTimes, America's Jazz Magazine 

JazzTimes
    Popular Magazine

 

Prepared by Cynthia Bruns CBruns@fullerton.edu, Music Instruction Librarian,
An administrative page of the Paulina June & George Pollak Library at California State University, Fullerton.
(c) 1999 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved. Date this site was last updated:  03/11/08