Music
     A Pollak Library Research Guide

 

Journal Articles:
The music faculty expect their students to use scholarly journal articles for research assignments. These articles usually provide the most comprehensive and research-oriented information on a topic. Articles in scholarly journals have also gone through a rigorous selection process to ensure a uniformly high level of scholarship.

bullet.jpg (997 bytes)Differences between scholarly journals and popular magazines.

       Different Types of Music Periodicals and their Use Chart:

horizontal rule

To find citations to articles in musicand links to full-text, consult one or more of the indexes listed below:

 

Electronic Indexes

  List of all Pollak Library Subscription Databases
Good Source for Scholarly Research Materials RILM
   
1. Index to more than 200,000 citations
     2. Articles, bibliographies, catalogs, dissertations
     3. Emphasizes scholarly sources
     4. International, contains 202 languages
     5. 1969-current date, updated monthly
Popular and Current Music Articles Academic Search Premier
    
1. Source for current articles of general topics          
      2. Contains a large number of full-text articles
      3. The results of a search can be e-mailed
      4.  Includes magazines, journals and newspapers
Pollak Library will own most articles in the Humanities Abstracts Humanities Full Text
     
 1. 300 Key Humanities publications
       2. Covers 1984 to present date
       3. Contains abstracts for 3/94 to present date
       4. Primarily journal Articles and reviews
General OmniFile Full Text Mega
       
1. Combined search of eleven databases
        2. Includes Humanities, Social Sciences, Art, Business, Sciences and more.
Information on teaching music ERIC
      
1. Indexes professional education materials
        2. Indexes journals and Education Documents
        3. Covers 1976 to present date
Worldwide Holdings of Library Catalogs WorldCat
      
1. A source for books, sound recordings, manuscripts,
              archives and more

        2. Catalogs of libraries worldwide
        3. Forty million+ records
        4. Back to the year 1000 AD, updated daily
Good Source for Historical Sources Music and Performing Arts Online
    
1. 400+ scholarly and popular journals
      2. Includes two databases:
          International Index of Music Periodicals
          International Index of Performing Arts

      3. 1874-to current date, updated quarterly
      4. Covers all music aspects from classical to
           popular music
Scores Classical Scores Online
       
1. Not a source of articles
        2. Databases of printable scores
Audio Files Classical Music Online
        1. Not a source of articles
        2. Database of audio files of classical music
UC Library Catalog Melvyl
        
1. Database of the holdings of the University of California libraries
          2. The public version of Melvyl does not include access to articles.

Note: It is possible for current CSUF students to search all of the online databases at home. 

Home Pollak Library  Questions? Music Dept CSUF Arts Events
This site is prepared and maintained by Cynthia Bruns, CBruns@fullerton.edu, Reference Librarian, Pollak Library, California State University Fullerton, Last updated:11/20/07