|
| |
Graduate
Students in Music
This page of the Music Guide is
directed toward CSUF graduate Music students. As
a graduate student your research needs will be much
greater than that of an undergraduate student. This library has a wide range of
specialized services, research sources and assistance available which you will
find of interest.
A new service in the
library of special interest to Graduate students!

|
RefWorks
is a web-based bibliographic management service used for storing and
organizing citations, as well as automatically formatting
and producing bibliographies. It is similar to EndNote and ProCite, but your citations
are stored on the RefWorks server rather than on your local machine and
thus you must be connected to the Internet to use RefWorks. All current
CSUF people may
register for a free account
For More Information |
Where to Obtain Research
Assistance
| Reference
Desk |
The Reference Desk is a good place to start
with your research questions. The librarians working at this desk have
multiple degrees, including a masters in Library Science, and years of
experience working with college students and the research process. There at
least one librarian on duty at the Reference desk almost every hour the
library is open. You may also call |
|
Research Assistance Appointment |
It is possible for
current CSUF students to make an appointment with a librarian who is
a subject specialist within your field of study. This is especially useful
when you have already talked to a librarian at the Reference Desk and still
need additional in-depth assistance. The Research Assistance
Appointment forms can be obtained
online.
After you have submitted the form, a librarian will contact you within a few
days e-mail to arrange a meeting. |
|
Library Instruction |
At the request of the faculty member a
Library Instruction session can to arranged to
teach research techniques, electronic resources in
Music and more. These sessions are for the entire class and take place
during class time.
|
|
Survival Skills
Electronic Workshops |
Many graduate students return to the
academic setting after years working as a professional. During those
years the research process changed dramatically as it became entirely
computerized. We understand that this can be frustrating at a time
when you have little extra time and need to "get up to speed quickly." The
library offers free Survival Skills Electronic
Workshops each semester to introduce the techniques of electronic research.
These workshops are available to the entire campus community. |
|
AskRef |
AskRef E-mail Reference Service is a service for answering questions through e mail.
You may ask any questions that you would ask in
person at the Reference Desk. Expect an answer the
following workday. This service can be especially helpful for the
graduate student who is on campus only once or twice a week. |
|
24/7 Chat Reference |
24/7 Chat Reference is an
online real time Reference service. Students will questions may chat
anytime in the online environment. This service works especially well
when students have questions on a database they are searching. |
How to Find Everything on Your Topic
|
Primary Music Databases |
Music students will start their
research looking for articles in the primary databases within their field.
The best example is RILM which is a graduate and
faculty-level music database which leads to
articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings and much more in the
field of Music. |
|
List of all Electronic Databases |
After searching the primary
music databases, explore further. This library subscribes to over
one hundred indexes in every subject taught on
this campus. These supplementary indexes may lead to you only a few
additional sources each. However, you may find them very helpful as
they often will offer a different perspective. Examples would be the
Historical Abstracts to get a historical perspective or Psycinfo to get a psychological perspective. To get ideas
on additional places to look for materials on your topic, take a look at
our database or ask at the Reference Desk for
help. |
|
WorldCat |
WHAT IS IT? WorldCat is the OCLC
Online Union catalog which contains more than 40
million records describing items owned by
libraries around the world. Each record will contain library holdings.
It covers the years about 1000AD to present date with new records added
daily. WorldCAT does not contain articles.
What you would use it for: The WorldCat does not contain everything ever
published but it does contain a significant portion of published materials.
Search this database for materials on your subject not owned in the Pollak
Library. Once you have found books on your topic, you may request them
through |
|
Melvyl Catalog |
WHAT IS IT? This online
catalog contains records of books and other
materials belonging to the University of
California libraries.
What you would use it for: The Melvyl catalog is so large that it is a good
place to check on other library holdings in your area of research. Searching
Melvyl is one way to locate a library that has a large collection within
your subject area. A graduate student might find that a trip to a
library with a specialized collection is well worth the time.
Materials listed in Melvyl can generally be requested through
Interlibrary Loan. |
|
Citation Indexes |
WHAT IS IT? Citation indexes are
specialized research tools designed to tell the researcher whose work is
being cited and how often. It other words, a citation database
searches the bibliographies of articles. The library has three
different citation databases; Arts and Humanities Search, Social SciSearch
and SciSearch. Music researchers would be most likely to use the Arts
and Humanities Search.
WHAT WOULD YOU USE IT FOR?: A researcher will search a citation database to
determine how important an article or researcher is within the field based
on how often other researchers cite their work. It is also helpful in
finding out who is currently doing research within a narrow field. |
|
Dissertation Abstracts Online |
WHAT IS IT? This is an
online index of dissertations awarded from accredited academic institutions
from 1861 through present day. The index selectively covers masters,
Canadian dissertations, and European dissertations. New records are added
monthly. The library also has the paper version of the set,
Dissertation Abstracts International, (5th floor, Library South Z5055 U5)
WHAT WOULD YOU USE IT FOR? Dissertation have gone through vigorous quality
control and contain very detailed research on the topic. They often
represent unique research that is not available elsewhere. Dissertations are
also very useful for their extensive bibliographies.
How to obtain dissertations:
1. To find out if a dissertation was later published and is easily
available, check the
Library Catalog first and
then the
WorldCat
by author.
2. Request the dissertation through Interlibrary Loan. Do be aware
that this request may take longer than the average
article request.
3. Purchase a paper or microfilm copy of the dissertation through the UMI, the company that produces Dissertation Abstracts
http://www.umi.com |
Where to Obtain Materials for Your Research
|
Library Catalog |
The Library Catalog is listing of
everything that this library owns. It is a good idea to check first
to see what this library owns on your topic before searching other
libraries. We own a remarkably large collection and
the graduate student can be pleasantly surprised as to the extent of our
holdings. |
|
Interlibrary Loan |
Using this service, the library
will obtain
materials for you from other libraries that this library
does not own. The turn around time is about
one to two weeks. Books can be picked up when they arrive at the Circulation Desk and
articles will arrive in an electronic format. Notification will come
through your email. |
|
Link+ |
Link+
is a project to provide a single searchable catalog for books and other
materials for the participating academic libraries. It
contains the holdings of more than twenty academic libraries.
It is possible to request any available books you find
within this catalog. This catalog will not contain information on
articles but it will list the journals by title. |

 |
|
|
| This site is prepared
and maintained by Cynthia Bruns, cbruns@fullerton.edu, Reference Librarian, Pollak Library,
California State University Fullerton, Last updated:10/30/07 |
|
|