Reference
The following
is a selected list of some of the Reference books that might of interest to music
students. Reference books are found on the first floor
of the north wing of Pollak Library.
They do not check out and
can give the researcher a quick overview on a topic,
provide contact information on groups or individuals, offer vocational guidance
and more.
Dictionaries and EncyclopediasThese books are a great way to quickly obtain
beginning information on a topic, theory, person, piece of music or musical
term.
Handbooks and Manuals A source of practicable and current information for the working music
professional who needs assistance on the business aspects of a music career.
Biographies
These sources will provide biographical information on people both living and
dead in the field of music.
Directories
Directories are useful as sources of contact information within the music
industry.
Research Guides
Books that will provide research assistance and explain the research process for
the music student.
Vocational Guidance
These are books
and web sites that will provide assistance in job hunting and will give advice
on career development.

| |
Dictionaries,
Encyclopedias |
REF
ML
102
M68
H57 |
American Musical Film Encyclopedia, by Thomas S. Hischak,
1999. This book contains information on over 1,700 film songs. It also
contains alternate song titles, movie songs from other sources, Oscars
awards, list of film musicals, and extensive indexing. |
REF
ML
128
M78
B6
1996 |
American Song; The Complete Musical Theatre Companion
by Ken Bloom, 1996. This two volume set contains data on over
4,800 American musicals from 1877. It includes production on and off
Broadway, resident theatre productions by major artists and original
television musicals. Information on the musicals may include; when
opened, which theatre, composer, producer, librettist, director, set design,
cast, choreographer and songs. The extensive indexes (name, song and
chronological), are especially useful. |
REF
ML102.
P66
M67 |
Caribbean Popular
Music:
an Encyclopedia of Reggae,
Mento, Ska,
Rock Steady, and
Dancehall / David V. Moskowitz |
REF
ML106.
U3
B87 |
Dictionary of American classical composers /
Neil Butterworth |
REF
ML102
G6
E63 |
Encyclopedia of American gospel music / W.K.
McNeil, editor |
REF
ML
102
M88
G3 |
The Encyclopedia of Musical Theatre by Kurt Ganzl,
1994 This two volume set contains entries on musicals, writers, composers,
performers and more. Information on musicals will include the plot of
the musical. Information on people will include much of their work
chronologically. The books contain some illustrations. |
REF
ML
102
P66
G84 |
The Encyclopedia of Popular Music, edited by Colin
Larkin, 1998. This an eight volume set which contains information on groups
and individual performers and a rated list of their albums. A
list of fanzines and a song title index are included in the 8th volume. |
REF
ML
1100
C63 |
The Literature of Chamber Music by Arthur Cohn, 1997
This four volume set lists composers alphabetically and contains
biographical information and discussion of the composers chamber music. |
REF
ML
100
N48
2001 |
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
edited by Stanley Sadie, 2001 This twenty-nine volume set is a standard in the field. It contains detailed entries on all
aspects of music; performers, composers, theories, instruments, periods,
places, and more. Entries on people will include a complete list of
their work. A bibliography is included. The online version is called
Grove Music |
Ref
ML
102
O6
N5 |
The New Grove Dictionary of Opera edited by Stanley Sadie, 1992. This five volume set includes
entries on composers, performers, theaters, operas, opera companies, and
more like. Many entries contain a bibliography of recommended
readings. Entries on operas will include a brief synopsis of the plot. This set is a part of
Grove Music,
an online music encyclopedia. |
Ref
ML100 .K35 2006 |
The Oxford
Dictionary of Music
by Michael Kennedy |
REF
ML108 D576 |
The Oxford
dictionary of musical terms / edited by Alison Latham |
REF
ML160
T18 |
The Oxford
history of western music / Richard Taruskin
v. 1-6 |
|
website |
Performing Arts Encyclopedia.
Library of Congress website that offers a
search engine for Music, theatre, and dance materials found in the American
Memory Project. |
RER
ML102
P66
S58 |
Popular
music: the key concepts / Roy Shuker |
 |
Handbooks, Manuals |
Ref
ML
3795
B33
1995 |
Music
Business Handbook and Career Guide by David Baskerville, 1995. This
handbook is designed to assist the music professional with the business
aspects of a career in music. It contains advice on publishing,
copyright, licensing, unions, agents, promotion, contracts, merchandising,
production, studios, film scoring, and careers options. |
REF
MT
67
S657
1998 |
Song Writers
Market, 1998. This handbook will provide information on where and how to
market your music to record companies, producers, music publishers,
managers, agencies, classical groups and theater companies. It
includes types of music sought, complete contact information, and articles
with advice. |
REF
ML
3790
S5 |
This
Business of Music by Krasilovsky and Shemel, 1995. This book offers advice
to the professional on the details of handling a career in music. Included
is information such as contracts, copyright, labor agreements, licensing,
and taxation. |
| |
Biographies |
REF
ML106
U3
W2 |
American singing groups : a history from
1940s to today / Jay Warner |
REF
ML102
P66
B35 |
Baker's biographical dictionary of popular
musicians since 1990 / introduction by David Freeland
v1-2 |
Electronic
Database |
Biography and
Genealogy Master Index
This database is the
best place to begin a search for biographical information on a person.
It indexes current reference print sources on individuals both living and
deceased worldwide. There are about 12 million entries in this database. |
REF
ML
106
G7
W43 |
International Who's Who in Music, edited by Sean Tyler 1998/99. This two part set is broken into
Classical and Popular musicians alive world-wide. It contains over
8,000 entries with a emphasis on essential career information including
works or repertory. The appendix includes directory information by county
such as record companies, agents, publishers, festivals and events and
organizations. |
REF
ML
102
R6H5 |
The Rock Who's Who by Brooke
Helander, 1996. This book contains biographical information on rock
performers. The entries contain a chronological listing of their
material. The bibliography is at the end of the book and is rather
extensive. |
| |
Directories |
REF
ML
12
I57
1996 |
International Directory of Music Organizations, 1996. This book includes standard directory
information such as names and addresses and FAX associated with the
organization. It also lists special events, publications, committees,
annual conferences and purpose of the organization. It is extensively
indexed. |
REF
ML
3710
R43 |
Recording Industry Sourcebook, This
is a directory of
names, addresses and telephone numbers in the music industry. It
contains categories such as producers, labels, agencies, distribution.
attorneys, business management, industry associations, publicity and
promotion, album production coordinators and studios. |
| |
Research Guides |
REF
ML
3797
I79
1999 |
Irvine's Writing About Music by Mark A. Radice, 1999. This
manual gives advice on music writing and the documentation of that writing.
The book works as a style guide, offers advice on the writing process,
music notation, bibliographies, the nature of musical sources and more. |
REF
ML
113
D83
1997 |
Music Reference and Research Materials: An Annotated
Bibliography, by Vincent Duckles, 1997. A annotated bibliography of
the premier international reference tools in the field of music research.
Many of the books listed in this bibliography would be found in a large
music research library. |
REF
ML74.7 A94
|
Song sheets to software: a guide to print
music, software, and web sites for musicians by
Elizabeth C. Axford |
REF
ML
113
C68
1993 |
Sourcebook for Research in Music by Phillip D.
Crabtree, 1993. This book is intended to be used by the student as an
introductory course in the field of music research. It describes the
basic bibliographical tools for research in music their use. Also included
is a glossary of bibliographical terms and a breakdown of Library of
Congress Music classification. |
| |
Vocational Guidance |
5th Floor, South,
ML3795 B42 |
Beyond Talent:
Creating a successful Career in Music
by Angela Myles Beeching |
REF
ML3795 F497
|
Career opportunities in the music industry /
Shelly Field |
REF
ML
3795
M53 |
The Gigging Musician: How to get, Play, and Keep the Gig, 2001, by Billy Mitchell This book offers practical information
from working professionals on making a living as a musician, on a wide
variety of topics. Some topics covered would be control of finances,
dealing with crowds, sales skills, standards of behavior while working, and
more. |
REF
ML
3795
G74 |
Great
Jobs for Music Majors by Jan Goldberg, This
book contains advice on searching for a job in the field of music,
considering graduate schools, and the various career paths that are open to
music majors. |
Ref
ML
3795
B33 |
Music
Business Handbook and Career Guide by David Baskerville, This handbook
is designed to assist the music professional with the business aspects of a
career in music. It also contains practicable advise on career
development and options. |
|
ML3790 .K62 2003 |
Music is Your
Business : helping musicians help themselves with
the business of music Christopher Knab ; with legal
tips from entertainment law attorney Bartley F. Day |
REF
ML
3790
M84 |
The Musicians Business and Legal Guide,
|
REF
ML112 W58
|
The Plain and Simple
Guide to Music Publishing by Randall D. Wixen |
REF
MT
67
S657 |
Song Writer's Market: 2,000 Places to Market Your Songs, Cindy Laufenberg ed., A guide to where and how to market
your music. The book contains names, addresses, types of music and
advise for the songwriters. |