Jump to:
General |
Composers |
Composition & Music Theory |
Ethnomusicology & Folk
Music |
History |
Instrumental | Jazz &
Blues |
Opera |
Rock & Pop & Rap | Scores
General
Baroque Music Homepage
This site contains a
number of links on Baroque music including information on
performances, composers, musicians, recommended recordings and
discussion of historical perspectives of Baroque. -cb
CAIRSS
for Music
(Computer-Assisted Information
Retrieval Service System)
This is a
bibliographic database of music research literature in music
education, music psychology, music therapy, and music medicine.
Center for the History of Music Theory and Literature [Indiana University]
Offers electronic access to
Doctoral Dissertations Online, music bibliographies, Saggi musicali
Italiani,
Thesaurus Musicarum Latinarum and more for serious scholars of music. -cb
Classical Music MIDI Page
This site contains
note-for-note accurate MIDI sound files of classical music from
composers such as Bach, Beethoven, Chopin, Liszt, Handel, Mozart,
Tchaikovsky, and others. While access to the MIDi files is free, this
site does contain links to purchase music. -cb
Classical Net Homepage
Classical Net is one of
largest sites of classical music, composer and works on the Internet.
It contains the sheet music collection at John Hopkins University,
composer page links and links to music organizations all over the
world, a basic repertoire of the canon of classical works and modern
performers currently playing the music of the masters. -cb
College Music Society, Music Arts and Education Links
The College Music
Society is a consortium of college, conservatory, university, and
independent musicians and scholars interested in composition,
ethnomusicology and world music, music education, music in general
studies, musicology, performance, theory, and other fields. The
Society is dedicated to gathering, considering, and disseminating
ideas on the philosophy and practice of music. -cb
Copyright for Music Librarians
This page offers
clear guidelines concerning copyright issues for educators and and
librarians. It has been published by the Music Library
Association and contains current updates. -cb
Digital Music Collections, Ada Kuhn
Loeb Music Library
[Harvard College Library]
The Eda Kuhn Loeb Music Library is the primary repository of musical
materials at Harvard. It includes about 62,000 books, 99,000 scores,
60,000 recordings, and nearly 900 periodical titles that support
research in a wide variety of musical disciplines including historical
musicology, music theory, ethnomusicology, composition, and
historically informed performance practice.
DW3 Classical Music Resources :
Index
Extensive collection of
classical music resources with links to many non-commercial
pages/sites over a dozen languages. The site is created and maintained
by Yale Fineman, User Services Librarian, Duke University Music
Library.
Encyclopedia of Music in Canada
"This electronic version
of the 1992 edition describes Canada's musical heritage and culture.
It includes popular, folk, religious, concert, and other forms of
music, as well as Canadian music's educational, critical,
administrative, and commercial aspects."- C Bruns.
Essentials of Music
This web has been created by the publisher, W.W. Norton & Company, and
contains music information in three categories: eras, composers, and
glossary.
Gaylord Music Library Necrology File
Do you need to know if
someone in the music field has died? The Gaylord Music Library at the
Washington University in St. Louis, Missouri, maintains a necrology
index. Listing is alphabetical by last name and the file is updated
daily. The entries are complied from a wide range of international
music journals and includes the date, age at death if known and the
source. -cb
Gramophone
Classical music reviews, interviews, analysis, and audio equipment
news and reviews.
The Hoagy Carmichael Collection
Indiana University’s extensive collections pertaining to the life and
career of master songwriter Hoagland "Hoagy" Carmichael (1899-1981).
Web site will contain the complete catalog of the Carmichael
Collection, access to selected digital objects, and supplemental
research information, such as genealogy. The Hoagy Carmichael
Collection contains sound recordings of Hoagy’s music, letters,
photographs of him and his family, print and handwritten musical
compositions, and more. - site intro
Information Resources for Music
Site maintained by the
Arts Library UC Santa Barbara. Computer music resources, music
history/musicology, copyright information, blues & jazz, folk and
non-western music, instruments, performers, and much more. An
interesting part this web site is the searchable digitized sheet
music, much of it historical. -cb
Internet Resources for Music Scholars
This site is maintained
by the Loeb Music Library at Harvard. It contain links to scholarly
societies and organizations, online journals, music databases, MIDI
resources, meta-sites, homes pages for music libraries and academic
music departments, and vendor sites.
Music Resources: Sibelius Academy [Finland]
Music Resources is part of
Sibelius Academy's larger Arts and Culture meta-site, but it stands
alone as a portal to music resources. Although sites are not
annotated, a wide range and broad scope of sites are available.
Categories include different types of music, education, libraries,
theory, catalogs, and instruments, among others. Note that most
classical music information can be found under "composers." Maintained
by the Sibelius Academy in Finland.
Musica
A project at the University of California Irvine to maintain records
on scientific research on music and its biological substrates(MuSICA
Research Notes was published in nineteen (19) issues from Spring 1994
through Summer 2001). -cb
Musicals101: The Cyber Encyclopedia of Music Theater,
TV and Film
This site has general information for musical theater fans. The site
also contains an especially useful section on the history of musicals
starting in the 1900’s. -cb
Online Classics
At the site, visitors will find over 150 hours of video-on-demand of
opera, theatre, concerts, plays, dance, and musicals, and new live
broadcasts are added each week. -cb
Performing Arts Encyclopedia.
Library of Congress website that
offers a search engine for Music, theatre, and dance materials found
in the American Memory Project.
http://memory.loc.gov/diglib/ihas/html/guide/guide-home.html
-cb
Public Domain Music
Use this web site to determine
whether a song is in the public domain and therefore available for use
without fear of infringing upon copyright. -cb
Selected Music Resources on the
Internet
This site contains a
wide range of Internet sites compiled by the music research library at
the New York Public Library, such as additional music links, music
licensing and publishing, music libraries and archives, music
organizations, and performance schedules for the New York area.
Songfile
A database of over two million songs. The database offers name of
performers, and sometimes audio files, or lyrics, or sheet music or
licensing information. -cb
Virginia Tech
Multimedia Music Dictionary
An easy-to-use music music dictionary with
pronouncing sound files attached to entries, useful as so many music
terms are in languages other than English. -cb
Worldwide Internet Music Resources
A combination of popular
and scholarly material, this site is a Web directory to musicians and
musical organizations. Maintained at the William and Gayle Cook Music
Library, Indiana University.
WWW Sites of Interest to
Musicologists
Maintained at the
University of Pennsylvania.
Composers
Aaron Copeland Collection: ca 1900-1990
This is a part of the
American Memory Project from the Library of Congress and contains
digitized documents including original scores, letters, photographs,
unpublished writings and more on Aaron Copeland’s work. -cb
Bach Bibliography
This bibliography is
maintained at the Queens University in Belfast but its mission is to
serve Bach scholars all over the world. The worldwide distribution of
contributors reflects the international importance of this database.
There are a number of mirror sites worldwide. This URL will take you
to the United States site. The Bach Bibliography contains an extensive
bibliography with search capability, a list of collections worldwide,
new publications in the field, and a list of journal abbreviations.
-cb
Bach Central Station
Links to Bach-related Internet resources including: Analysis, Audio,
Bibliography, Biography, Commercial, Educational, Events, Images,
Instruments, Links MIDI, Newsgroups, Performers, Personal, Recordings,
Scores, and Works. -mh
Beethoven-Haus Digital Archives
Beethoven-Haus
Bonn is a museum of Beethoven's birthplace and a library for
researchers. This museum also manages a substantial digital
archive that includes manuscripts, correspondence, music clips,
portraits, and sound files. -cb
Beethoven Bibliography Database
The Ira F. Brillant
Center for Beethoven Studies at San Jose State University has produced
a fully-indexed bibliography of published material relating to Ludwig
van Beethoven held by the Center’s own library. This bibliography
contains over 10,000 records. -cb
Classical Music Navigator
Contains a list of the 444 most influential composers with a list of
their most notable work, their style and period, what music influenced
their work and what composers they influenced. Also included is a
geographical listing of the composers and a listing of the forms and
styles of music with the related composers. -cb
Composers: Worldwide Internet Music
Resources
Links to various classical composers both old and new (Adams, Bach,
Handel, Mozart, Piazolla, Purcell, and Sierra are a few examples).
Also includes links to biographies, lists, and timelines. -gy
Composers Bureau Online
This site provides information on contemporary American composers. It
includes biographies, works, audio clips, score samples, photographs,
and contact information for many members of the Bureau. -gy
Digital Mozart Edition
This website is a reproduction of
the new collected edition of Mozart's works in a digitized format.
This is a project of the Internationale
Stiftung Mozarteum and The Packard Humanities Institute.
The website provides easy access to different variants and versions
of compositions and simultaneous access to scores and critical
commentaries -Choice May 2007
Hector
Berlioz Website
This site is devoted entirely to the music, life, and works of
Hector. It is maintained by Michael Austin and Monir Tayeb,
both based in universities in Scotland.
The site is updated twice a week and contains a massive amount of
information, all of which is searchable through an in-site
search engine. -cb
Leonard Bernstein Collection:1920-1989
A part of the American Memory
Collection of the Library of Congress. -cb
Leopold Stokowski: Making Music
Matter
This website from the University of Pennsylvania Library provides an
exhibition on the career and music of Leopold Stakowski -cb
Composition
& Music Theory
Center for Computer Research in Music & Acoustics
Maintained at Stanford University, this web site provides information
on the center, its research and serves as a repository of software
developed or maintained at CCRMA.
Music Theory Online
Electronic refereed journal by the Society for Music Theory, Inc. -gy
Ethnomusicology & Folk Music
Ethnomusicology, Folk Music, and World
Music
Extensive list of links maintained at University of Washington Music
Library.
FolkLib Index: A Library of Folk Music Links
Google Web Directory:
Ethnomusicology
This site features links to archives, societies, journals, world
music, folk music, and instruments. -gy
Society for Ethnomusicology
History
Charles H. Templeton Sheet Music
Collection
"Ragtime: Charles H. Templeton Sheet Music Collection. This site
contains a digitized Ragtime sheet music from the Charles H. Templeton
Sheet Music Collection. This is an ongoing project and new materials
will be added."- C Bruns.
Evolution of Rap Music in the United
States
Curriculum unit intended for middle and high school students who are
studying American history. Includes study of rap music's major
components, the influence of Jamaican music, and examines rap artists
and their styles and technology. By Henry A. Rhodes.
Historic American Sheet Music
"The Rare Book,
Manuscript, and Special Collections Library at Duke University holds a
significant collection of 19th and early 20th century American sheet
music. The Historic American Sheet Music Project provides access to
digital images of 3042 pieces from the collection, published in the
United States between 1850 and 1920."-Home Page. Searchable.
Thomas Hampson: I Hear America Singing
Sponsored by PBS, this web site offers a cultural history of American
concert songs.
Instrumental
Brass Resources
This site includes links
to various brass pages, fingerings, performers, vintage instruments,
and societies. -gy
Google Web Directory: Instruments
This site features links
to various instruments. Includes articles, fingerings, historical
information, and links to societies. -gy
Music Heritage Network Instrument
Encyclopedia
This site comes to us
from the cultural Heritage Information and Community Outreach project
at the University of Michigan. Users may browse for information on
instruments around the world by classification, geographic origin,
instrument type, make, materials or description. -cb
Oddmusic.com
This site features
ethnic, experimental music and instruments. The gallery features
descriptions, photos, and sounds of the instruments. The site also has
a discussion group area, resources page, and links to other sites. -gy
Piano Resources on the Internet
This site features links
to education, history, performers, and many other piano related links.
-gy
World Guitarist
These pages are
dedicated to news coverage of the classical guitar community. Includes
links to artists, online webzines, guitar societies, history and
reference material, and more. -gy
Jazz / Blues
Big
Bands Database
Information on the bands, composers, players, and overviews of the
styles (Kansas City, Retro Swing, Western Swing). -gy
Blue Highway
Essays, photos, chat rooms, news, and links to related sites. -gy
BluesNet
Information on blues performers with links to musicians,
essays/documents, photos, and other web sites. -gy
DownBeat.com
Online version of the jazz magazine Down Beat. Features Artists, News,
Festivals DB Radio, Digital Downloads, Education, Boards, and Hall of
Fame.
Jazz Alley
Links to a handbook for playing jazz, and to several sites with
interviews, reviews, and photos. -gy
Jazz/Blues Archives, Collections &
Museums
National/international links to Jazz/Blues archives, collections, and
museums. -gy
Latin Jazz Network
Information on artists, articles, and reviews of Latin Jazz. -gy
William P. Gottlieb Photographs from
the Golden Age of Jazz [American Memory]
"The William P. Gottlieb
Collection, comprising over sixteen hundred photographs of celebrated
jazz artists, documents the jazz scene from 1938 to 1948, primarily in
New York City and Washington, D.C."
Opera
Aria Database
Information on over
1000 operatic arias with translations and aria texts as well as MIDI
files of operatic arias and ensembles. -gy
OperaGlass
Libretti,
reviews, information on opera companies, and links to other opera
sites. -gy
Rock / Pop / Rap
Epsilon: an ambient music information
archive
Articles and
documents on ambient music and also ambient music links. -gy
Gibraltar Encyclopedia of Progressive
Rock
Reference resource
for progressive rock music with alphabetic index, a guide to
subgengres, and entries on mainstream, obscure, and new bands. -gy
HipHop-Directory.com
Reviews,
deejaying, emceeing, online magazines and news. -gy
Popular American Music Collection from UCLA
A database of the history of popular music in the U.S. from 1790 to
present date. It includes music for the theatre, motion pictures,
radio, televison, and general popular music, country, rhythm and
blues, and rock. cb
R&B Music Primer
Links to R&B
artists, primer on the music, news, and reviews. -gy
Rap Music.com
Links to artists,
news, reviews, old school, and turntablism. -gy
Rock and Roll Hall of Fame
Information on all
the inductees to the Hall of Fame. -gy
RockWisdom.com
Online reference
book of over 10,000 rock song quotes. Search by subject, artist, or
view the full lyrics of a song. -gy
Trouser Press
Trouser Press
produced rock music guides from the 70s to the 90s. Now all the
information from their previous guides is online including new updated
entries. -gy
Scores
American Memory Collections:
Performing Arts
The Library of Congress has a large collection of public domain
digitized materials. Topics include the research materials for Aaron
Copeland, Leonard Bernstein, African American Music, Civil War music,
American folk music, Hispanic music, and more. Most of these digitized
collections contain sheet music or scores.
Charles H. Templeton Sheet Music
Collection
"Ragtime: Charles H. Templeton Sheet Music Collection. This site
contains a digitized Ragtime sheet music from the Charles H. Templeton
Sheet Music Collection. This is an ongoing project and new materials
will be added."- C Bruns.
Choral Public Domain Library: A Free Sheet Music
Archive
The purpose of the Choral Public Domain Library is to make available
public domain music in the form of scores and to make sure that these
materials remain free and available to the users.
Digital Mozart Edition
This website is a reproduction of
the new collected edition of Mozart's works in a digitized format.
This is a project of the Internationale
Stiftung Mozarteum and The Packard Humanities Institute.
The website provides easy access to different variants and versions
of compositions and simultaneous access to scores and critical
commentaries -Choice May 2007
Digital Scores Collection
This project comes from the Loeb Library at
Harvard. It includes scores from The Bach Family,
Mozart, Giuseppe Verdi.
It is an expanding collection of scanned images of rare and
unique musical scores that are freely
available via the Web for classroom and research use.
Lester S. Levy Sheet Music Collection
An index of over 29,000 pieces of sheet music published between
1780-1980. In the case of music printed before 1923, the cover and the
sheet music itself may be retrieved and downloaded.
Mutopia Project
This site features free sheet music. There are 259 pieces available
from the web site. The music is available as postscript and pdf files.
-gy
Sheet Music Archive
This is a database of public
domain scores. A user may download two scores for free each
day
or you may subscribe to the site for a fee. This website also
offers
advice on how to recognize public
domain music. cb
Sheet Music Plus
Commercial site for the purchase of sheet music, including difficult
to find titles.
VARIATIONS Prototype: Online Musical
Scores
This site is from Indiana University's Cook Music Library. It includes
selected opera, song, orchestral, chamber, instrumental, and piano
scores that are in the public domain. -gy