Political Science Research Guide




Articles | Reference Books | Web Resources | Courses | Research Help


Articles

If you are looking for peer-reviewed or scholarly articles follow this link to a comprehensive list of databases for political science research.  If there is a problem with the link, go to the Library Homepage and under the "Quick Links" column select "Databases by Subject." Select "Political Science" in the Category column for the databases most relevant to political science topics. For even more database options, go to the "Quick Links" column and select Databases A-Z.

Reference Books

This is a list of reference books that you may find useful.  Check the Library Catalog for availability. Just copy and paste the title into the catalog search box.

Encyclopedia of politics: the left and the right

A glossary of political ideas

A glossary of political theory

Encyclopedia of Latin American Politics

Encyclopedia of government and politics

Encyclopedia of public administration and public policy

Encyclopedia of American political parties and elections

Encyclopedia of American religion and politics

Encyclopedia of presidential campaigns, slogans, issues, and platforms

Oxford dictionary of political quotations

Encyclopedia of the Palestine problem

Encyclopedia of the modern Middle East & North Africa

Political encyclopedia of the Middle East


Web Resources

Congressional Research Service Reports - These are reports are created by a non-partisan group working within the legislative branch. They do not release the reports directly to the public; however, many reports can be obtained via the web through other sites. Try Federation of American Scientists Congressional Research Service Reports archive or OpenCRS.

Political Resources on the Net: This sites provides links to political related websites by country. It contains extensive links to political parties, government agencies and media sources

Program on International Policy Attitudes: This organization studies public opinion on international issues.

Census Bureau: The US Census Bureau provides information about the nation's people and economy.

United Nations Population Information Network: A guide to population information on UN system web sites

Population Reference Bureau: The Population Reference Bureau provides detailed world-wide population statistics. The site includes a database with 136 population, health, and environment variables for more than 220 countries.

BBC Country Profiles:  BBC Country Profiles provide detailed information about the history, politics and economy of countries.

Country Studies: The Country Studies Series is published by the Library of Congress Research Division.   It  gives a description and analysis of the historical setting as well as the social, economic, political, and national security systems of countries throughout the world.

World Fact Book: The World Fact Book is published by the CIA and provides country profiles and maps. 

USA.gov: This website links to a variety of governmental resources and information.

Supreme Court of the United States

 

Courses

Political Science 300

Political Science 431

Political Science 528


Research Help


Librarians are available to help with your geography research. Try one of the following options. For in-depth questions, it may be best to schedule a research consultation appointment.