|
| |
Reference Sources:
Biographical Sources Biographical sources
will offer information on people, their lives and their work. This library
also has many biographies. To find if we own any books on the person you are
researching, search the
library catalog by
the person's name as a subject.
REF
1236.5
U6
M3779 |
The Almanac of Women and Minorities in American Politics by Mart
Martin, 2002. This book actually offers only a little biographical
information. However, it is a very valuable source for statistics on
ethnic groups and names of individuals in American politics. It lists
political "firsts" and other milestones for women, African Americans,
Hispanics, Asian-Americans, Native Americans and Homosexuals.
The focus of the book is national politics but it does include a section on
state politics. |
|
Online database |
Biography and Genealogy Master Index. This Internet index will
enable the user to determine which publication to consult for biographical
information on an individual. The library will own many of the books listed
in this database. |
|
Online database |
Biography
Index. An index to articles and other materials that provides
biographical information on a wide variety of people, especially people in
the news. |
REF
E
176
W64 |
Who's Who in American Politics, this library owns the years
1967-2000. This annual contains entries on individuals who are
currently participating in local, state, or national politics or have been
politically active in the recent past. The data is provided by the entrants
in response to a publisher's questionnaire or from secondary sources. |
REF
D
21.3
W48
1997 |
Who's Who in Democracy, Seymour Martin Lipset ed. 1997.
This book contains biographical articles on 156 historical and
contemporary leaders, activists and theorists. Each article includes a short
bibliography as well as a picture of the individual. |
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
These dictionaries and encyclopedias contain an alphabetical listing of topics,
terms or phrases within Political Science. These books are a good place to
start when you are unfamiliar with a topic or need a brief overview. It is
a fast way to get started with research and can also be used to give the student
ideas for research topics.
| |
return to top |
REF
JK
1067
C67
|
Congress A to Z, A Ready Reference Encyclopedia.
The entries are arranged alphabetically and offer a non-technical
explanation of congressional structure, operations, and the background on
the development of the modern Congress. Included are both essays on broad
subject areas and brief entries that will provide specific information. The
appendix includes information such as: Senate leaders, Committee chairs,
minority members, cases of expulsion, censure proceedings, party
affiliations, votes, cast by vice-presidents, salaries, organizational
charts, the documents used in the law-making process. |
REF
JK
1976
M57
|
Elections A to Z by John L Moore. This
reference book contains more than 200 alphabetical entries on running for
the House, the Senate, the Presidency and some statewide offices.
There are discussions of the stages of the campaign process, the election
process, and the roles played by political consultants, the media and
political parties. The appendices include: changes in the Democrat's
nominating process, election related web sites, presidential nominating
campaigns, a list of national party chairs, chief officers and keynote
speakers at national conventions, general election debates, distribution of
house seats and electoral votes, lists of minorities in congress and the law
for counting electoral votes. |
REF
JK
468
P64
J33 |
Encyclopedia of American Public Policy by Byron M. Jackson,
1999. This encyclopedia is divided into key issues, such as
agriculture, civil rights, commerce, communications, Crime, economics,
education, energy, entitlement programs, Environment, health, housing and
labor. Each section contains information on the significant people,
legislation and milestones with historical context and current developments. |
REF
F1410
E56
2002 |
Encyclopedia of Latin American Politics edited by Diana Kapiszewski, 2002. This encyclopedia opens with a historical
introduction the Latin America. This ten page article would prove to
be a useful overview on the region and the development of the political
situation. The rest of the encyclopedia is arranged alphabetically by
country and contains excellent bibliographies. The appendix contains
listings of wars, multilateral agreements, and organizations, |
REF
JK
511
E53
|
Encyclopedia of the American Presidency, Leonard W. Levy
editor. The organization of this four volume encyclopedia is
unusual in it is divided into five parts; the Presidency, Policies and
Issues, Laws and Legal Cases, Historical Events and Politics, and
Biographies. There is a complete synoptic outline of contents
starting on page 1,719. The appendix includes a table of the president's
cabinet members with dates in office, a table of statistics on all
presidential elections, and a listing of legal cases. |
REF
HV
8694
G76
|
Encyclopedia
of Capital Punishment, ed. by Mark Grossmann, This one
volume encyclopedia includes a introduction that is useful for its overview
of capital punishment brief articles on a wide range of people and laws.
An historical timeline is included. the greatest focus is on
issues related to the United States but the encyclopedia does include
international information. |
Ref
KF
4557
V555
1986 |
Encyclopedia of Constitutional Amendments, Proposed Amendments,
and Amending Issues, 1789-1995 by John R. Vile, 1996. This
book deals with the 27 ratified amendments and the approximately 10,900
proposed amendments and the issues surrounding these amendments.
Especially helpful is the appendix of a table of the most popular amendments
by year and key events. |
REF
HX
830
G39 |
Encyclopedia of Political Anarchy, Kathlyn Gay and Martin
K. Gay, 1999. This book offers definitions of all types of anarchy
movements, court cases, biographical information on individuals and
explanations on organizations and their political goals. Many of the entries
contain bibliographies. The appendix contains a listing of internet address
related to a wide variety of anarchy movements. |
Ref
JF
1067
E63
1995 |
Encyclopedia of the United States Congress, Donald C. Bacon
editor and others, 1995. This four volume set contains
entries on issues, legislation and people with the United State's Congress.
The articles are fairly detailed and often contains a bibliography.
There is copy of the Constitution, a brief glossary and synoptic outline of
contents in the back. |
Ref
JK
1991
O63
1994 |
Open Secrets: The Encyclopedia of Congressional Money and
Politics by Larry Makinson, 1994. This book was
researched by The Center for Responsive Politics, which is a
non-profit, non-partisan research group based in Washington, D.C. It
specializes in the study of Congress and the role that money plays in
Congressional elections and actions. The book documents who is
contributing to individual congressmen, committees, profiles of political
action committees, and breakdown of contributions by industry. |
REF
JA
61
O95
2001 |
The Oxford Companion to Politics of the World, Joel Krieger, editor,
2001. Arranged in a dictionary fashion, this book provides a
comprehensive guide to international relations and national domestic
politics throughout the world. It includes biographies, concepts,
conventions, treaties, international law, forms of government, historical
events, international issues, international organizations, and domestic
issues. Especially useful are the articles in individual countries. |
Ref
JK
511
P775 |
The Presidency A to Z: A Ready Reference Encyclopedia,
Michael Nelson editor. This concise book covers presidents
and the issues surrounding them. Appendix includes backgrounds of
presidents, summary of presidential elections, a chart of presidential
approval rating from 1938 to 1997, a chart of party affiliations, and
presidential cabinets. |
REF
HF
1359
R68
2001 |
Routledge Encyclopedia of International Political Economy, R.J. Bary Jones,
editor, 2001. This three volume encyclopedia covers empirical and
theoretical issues, concepts and theories related to international political
economic community. It is also useful for its explanation of international
agencies, funds, economists, popular terms and the like. |
Ref
JK
9
S2
1993 |
Safire's New Political Dictionary: The Definitive Guide to the
New Language of Politics by William Safire, 1993. The book
includes the political jargon used by insiders, by the media and by
politicians when talking to their public. Also included is the
historical perspective on political jargon. The definitions are
significantly longer and more detailed than most subject dictionaries. |
REF
HN
90
V5
V5474 |
Violence in
America, ed. Ronald Gottesman, 1999. The three volume set
includes articles on types of violence, criminals, laws, criminologists, the
coverage in the mass media, racial issues, and more. There is
generally a detailed bibliography included. The appendix includes
organizations, publications and recommended web sites that deal with the
topic of violence. |
Directories
The following is a selected list of
current directories that contain contact information for governmental agencies,
departments, legislative groups and the individuals who work within these
governmental organizations.
|
return to top |
REF
JK
1012
C65 |
Congressional Staff Directory This directory
contains contact information on members of congress, their staff, and
committees. It also contains congressional staff biographies.
The companion book to this directory is the Federal Staff Directory. |
RefDesk
JK
1083
B55 |
Congressional Yellow Book: Who's Who in Congress, Including
Committees and Key Staff, updated twice yearly, also contains
congressional support agencies such as the Library of Congress, district
maps, state delegations, and zip codes by Congressional District. |
| Internet Source |
Election Directory This Directory provides names
and contact information of election-related federal agencies, congressional
committees, national associations, and state
election officials.
http://www.fec.gov/pdf/eldi9601.pdf |
REF
JK
468
C7
E5
1997 |
Encyclopedia of Governmental Advisory Organizations, Donna
Batten editor. This book is useful for its background
information on over 6,800 permanent, continuing and Ad Hoc governmental
advisory organizations. It contains history, authority, programs,
membership, staff, publications and more on each of the organizations.
it is arranged by broad category and indexed by alphabet and keyword. |
REF
JK
1991
C662 |
Federal PAC Directory 1998-1999. This source
contains contact information for more than 2,400 political action committees
along with a detailed chart of the contribution patterns, and description of
the the ideology and special interests. The appendix contains statistics on
the PAC contributions, listings of the industries they represent and the
recipients of the PAC funds. |
REF
JK
723
E9
F44 |
Federal Staff Directory This extensive directory
gives names and contact information for the executive office of the
President, departments, and agencies. It also contains federal
executive biographies. Each department begins with a organizational
table. It is updated three times a year. The companion book to
this directory is the Congressional Staff Directory. |
RefDesk
JK
6
F425 |
Federal Regional Yellow Book: Who's Who in the Federal
Government's Departments, Agencies, Courts, Diplomatic Missions, Military
Installations and Service academies outside of Washington, DC,
updated twice yearly, companion book to Federal Yellow Book. |
RefDesk
JK
6
F45 |
Federal Yellow Book; Who's Who in Federal Department and
Agencies Updated twice yearly. Divided into three sections:
Executive Office of the President, office of the Vice President,
departments, and independent agencies. |
| Internet Source |
Find Your District, California State Assembly This
page is designed to tell a citizen who their representative is in the
California State Assembly by entering in the address.
http://www.assembly.ca.gov/acs/acsframeset9text.htm |
Internet
Source |
Find Your Reps, United State Congress
This page is designed to tell a citizen who their representatives
are at the federal level by entering in the individual's address.
http://www.congress.org/ |
REF
JK
1118
G65 |
Government Affairs Yellow Book:Who's Who in Government Affairs
This is a semiannual directory which lists over 19,000
government affairs experts who represent the interest of leading businesses,
professional organizations, interest groups and government institutions
before federal, state and local government. |
REF
JS
39
M79 |
Municipal Yellow Book Who's Who in the Leading City and
County Governments and Local Authorities, It is updated twice
yearly. This directory covered the largest 240 cities in the United States.
The book is divided into three sections: cities and towns, counties, and
authorities. |
RefDesk
JK
1011
A1 |
Official Congressional Directory This source is
available both in paper copy at the Reference Desk and the Documents Desk.
It is also available through the Internet.
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/cdirectory/ |
REF
JK
2678
S738
2000 |
State Information Directory This annual is published by
Congressional Quarterly. It is a state by state listing of directory
information, including the governor, key administration officials, and
agency information, followed by legislative and judical information. The
book contains a name index which combines all fifty states and an index of
agencies or functions for all fifty states. |
RefDesk
JK
6
F45 |
State Yellow Book: Who's Who in the Executive and legislation
Branches of the 50 State Governments, updated twice yearly,
Each entry includes two sections: the first section contains Governors and
Lieutenant Governor's office, followed by departments, commissions, boards
and other state agencies in alphabetical order. The second section contains
the state's legislative branch. |
REF
JK
118
D58
1999 |
Washington Representatives, 1999. This Directory
contains a compilation of Washington representatives of the major national
associations, labor unions, and U.S. companies: registered foreign agents;
lobbyists; lawyers; law firms; and special interest groups, together with
their clients and areas of legislative and regulatory concern. |
RefDesk
JK
1010
W48 |
Who's Who in Congress, This concise directory is
updated twice. It contain contact information, brief biographical
information, committees and scores from CQs vote studies. It also contains a
listing of committees, key votes and how the legislators voted and an
explanation of the congressional bell system. |
REF
JK6
W46 |
Who's Who in Federal Regulation, 1995. This
directory is a concise guide to the names and contact information of the top
regulatory officials at more than one hundred federal agencies. The
directory is divided into three parts; independent federal agencies,
agencies which are found within the cabinet departments, and executive
office agencies. |
| Internet Source |
California State Senate
This page is designed to tell the citizen who their senator is in the
California State Senate by entering in the individual's address.
|
REF
JF
37
L345
1996 |
Worldwide Government Directory with International
Organizations This directory
contains contact information on the leadership of 195 countries throughout
the world. Also included is over 100 international and regional
organizations including contact information for the top-level executive
officers. |
Research Guides
These books will you get started with political
research and explain the process to you. Also included in this list are
Internet research books and political almanacs which give overviews, facts and
statistical data.
|
return to
top |
| |
RESEARCH GUIDES |
REF
JA
74
P62
1983 |
Political and
Social Science Journals: A Handbook for Writers and Reviewers, 1983.
The book "provides prospective authors with specific information on
the editorial policies and procedures of journals accepting and publishing
articles and reviews in political science, social science and related
disciplines." (p.ix) Despite its age, this book is still valuable for the
information found inside. |
REF
JN96
A979
B84 |
Political Parties of Easter Europe: A Guide to Politics in the
Post-Communist Era , 2002. By Janusz Bugajski. This
book is organized by countries in the region. It offers a historical
overview, information on the various political parties, and election
results. Especially useful is the list of abbreviations and the index
to European political party names. |
REF
JF
2051
D39 |
Political Parties of the World, 2002, edited by Alan J. Day.
Each country has a explanation of the overall political situation with
background information. Also included in the book is the political
parties, their addresses and a paragraph of background information.
The appendix includes a list of international Party organizations and their
countries of affiliation. Personal names are listed in the index. |
REF
H91
C78
1997 |
Short Guide about Writing About Social Science by Lee Cuba,
1997 This book give concise and clear advice to the student who
needs direction on how to research and write a college-level research
paper. |
|
Almanacs |
REF
JK
1012
A44 |
The Almanac of
American Politics The Senators, the Representatives and the Governors: Their
Records and Election Results, Their States and Districts.
State overviews of the contemporary political situation are the major focus
of this very useful compilation of facts and statistics. The state profiles
includes essays on current state politics along with data on the federal tax
burden, share of federal expenditures and state demographics. Personnel
information includes biographical, votes, ratings, campaign contributions
and expenditures. The current edition is kept in Reference. |
REF
JK
8701
C341X |
California
Political Almanac, A.G. Block This state almanac
provides a comprehensive overview of the political landscape. Also
included is biographical information on members of the state government
along with election results, committees and ratings by six different
interest groups. Current edition is kept at the Reference Desk and the
library owns the years back to 1989. |
Statistical Sources
Searching the Library
Catalog for Statistics on Your
Topic:
 | A keyword search will search
for your words within the title or notes of all entries.
» sample search: abortion
and statistic* will retrieve all entries that have the word abortion
and statistical, statistics, and statistic in the title or notes. |
 | Limit your search to all
entries that have the term statistics in the subject
»
sample search: Seach by subject Education-California, then limit to all
entries that have the word statistical in the subject |
Selected Sources of Statistical
Data
RefDesk
HA
261
C3 |
California Statistical Abstract The most current copy is kept at the Reference
Desk. Government Documents has issues back to 1961. It is also a
internet source produced by the California Department of Finance and is
found at:
http://www.dof.ca.gov/HTML/FS_DATA/Fs_home.asp |
Doc/US
J 1.14/7 Current year at
DocDesk |
Crime in the United States: Uniform Crime Reports Criminal Justice statistics of all types are published in
this annual set of books. The library owns this set of books back to 1962.
The statistics are based on the Uniform Crime Reports contributed
by law enforcement agencies. This source is now also available on the
Internet:
http://www.fbi.gov/ucr/ucr.htm |
REF
HV
6787
C77 |
Crime State Ranking: Crime in the 50 United States 1997
This source containes crime statistics such as murder, crime rates, change
in crime rates, recidivicism, prison and jail populations, executions,
arrests by type and many others. All statistics are ranked by all
fifty states. |
RefDesk
L11
D48 |
Digest of Educational Statisitics This a an annual source and is available
both in paper back throught 1967 and through the Internet
http://nces.ed.gov/surveys/AnnualReports/reports.asp?type=digest |
RefDesk
HC
106.5
A272 |
Economic Report of the President This is an especially good source for
statisical data on the overall condition of the economy. The most
recent copy is kept at the Reference Desk. Government Documents has copies
back to 1947. It is also available on the Internet. http://www.access.gpo.gov/eop/index.html |
| Internet |
FedStat
This is a web
site consisting of more than 70 united States agencies which leads to a wide
range of full-text statistical data. It is indexed by broad subject catagory.
http://www.fedstats.gov |
RefDesk
HD
8051
H36 |
Handbook of U.S. Labor Statistics: Employment, Earnings,
Prices, Productivity and Other labor Data, 1999
The book is arranged by subject matter and
the data is derived from surveys conducted by the federal government. The
library owns this set back to 1967. |
Doc/US
J 29.9/6
Current year at DocDesk |
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics, Bureau of Justice
This statistical book is a collection of
statistics from a wide range of organizations, agencies and public opinion
polls. Statistics cover topics such as characteristics of the
criminal justice system, public attitudes, offences, persons arrested, the
the correctional system. The library own back to 19XX. This source is
also available on the Internet:
http:www.albany.edu/sourcebook |
DocDesk
Y3.SE5:1 |
Sourcebook of Federal Sentencing Statistics This book contains descriptive statistics on the
application of the federal sentencing guidelines and provides selected
district, circuit, and national sentencing data. |
Doc/US
C 3.134: Current year at
RefDesk |
Statistical Abstract of the United States This is a statistical source which covers a very wide range
of subjects. Because of this wide coverage, it is a good place to
start looking for statistics. The sources are listed and can lead the user
to further statistics. The library owns this annual book back to 1878. It is
also available through the Internet.
http://www.census.gov/statab/www/ |
Vocational Guidance
Listed here are books that offer advice on career
choices as well as direction on the job hunt and writing resumes.
|
return to top |
Ref
HF
5381
F456 |
Best Jobs for the 21st Century by J. Michael Farr, 1999
This book includes information the best job as determined by three
criterion; pay, openings, and fastest growth. Also included is advice
on choosing a career, and descriptions of a wide range of professions. |
Ref
JK
716
P58
1999 |
Careers in Government by Mary Elizabeth Pitz, 1999.
This book offers advice and job hunting
strategies. Included are job descriptions, salary ranges, working
conditions, required qualifications and an academic major listing of
agencies and departments who are interested in individuals with that
academic background. |
Ref
HF
5381
E52 |
Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance,
The 1st volume of this four volume set includes industry profiles.
There are a number of sections that might be of interest to political
science majors; Politics, Civil Service, Foreign Service, Military Service,
and Law. The next three volumes contain descriptions of the careers
within these industries. |
REF
JA
88
U6
R68 |
Great Jobs for Political Science Majors by Mark Rowh.
This book contains advice for Political Science majors on how to
choose a career and techniques on how to effectively carry out the job
search. |
REF
HF
5302
.75
U62
W356
2000 |
Insiders Guide to finding a Job in Washington: Contacts and
Strategies to Building Your Career In Public Policy by
Bruce Maxwell, 2000. The author discusses how job hunting in
Washington DC is different from other cities and how to prepare yourself
through the creation of resumes, covers, letters, interview techniques, and
networking. Included in the book is contact information for congressional
committees, agencies, think tanks, political action committees and the
media. The appendix includes a list of job hunting web sites. |
REF
HF
5382.5
O23 |
Occupational Outlook Handbook This handbook
is published annually and contains advice for people who are investigating
all types of careers. Professions are described, along with the
outlook, expected earnings, working conditions, required training and the
types of advancement. This book is a standard in the field and is a
good place to start. |
Voting
Information
|
return to top |
REF
JK
1012
A44 |
Almanac of American Politics; The Senators, the Representatives,
and the Governors: Their Record and Election Results, their States and
Districts. (For a complete annotation see Political Research)
The material on members of Congress includes votes on key bills, ratings by
about a dozen interest groups with a wide spectrum of political orientations
and recent election results. The library owns the most recent edition. |
REF
JK
524
M33 |
America at the Polls.
This book offers the election results for
each of the states for presidential election back to 1960. the information
is broken down by party, county, and records the exact numerical count of
votes. The results of primaries are also listed. |
REF
JK
1967
A8 |
America Votes: A Handbook of Contemporary American Election
Statistics Election results and statistical analysis are
provided for individual states as well as an overview for the entire
country. The set is published biannually and the library owns back to 1956. |
| Internet |
CQ Library
(Congressional Quarterly) This database has a section which
provides the results of votes in Congress. When logging on, click on "CQ
Weekly" and then "floor votes." It is possible to search for the
results of votes by subject, bill number, date, and chamber. |
REF
JK
1051
S555
2000 |
Directory of Congressional Voting Scores and Interest Group
Ratings, 2000. The voting record for each member in the
United States Congress is included for the years 1947 through 1994.
The composite portraits are created by including scores on several voting
scales. The record of members of Congress is also rated by 11 interest
groups. See
Almanac of American Politics
for current voting scales and patterns. |
| Internet |
Roll
Call Votes http://thomas.loc.gov/home/rollcallvotes.html This is a site, maintained
by the Library of Congress, links to a number of quality sites which provide
voting records. |
REF
JK
8792
S73 |
Statement Of Vote. State of California There are
two parts to this set; General Election and Primary election. Together
they are the final and official tally of the results of California
elections. The library owns the set back to 1950 for the General Elections
and 1946 for the Primary Elections. The most current elections are
kept in Reference and later years in Government Documents on the third
floor. |
|