Primary Documents
It will be useful to read primary documents. Among other items, the previously devised peace plans will be very useful. Also, when you are doing your research in the secondary literature, you will find references to other primary documents not found below. You may want to look those documents up as well.
A Performance-Based Roadmap to a Permanent Two-State Solution to the Israeli-Palestinian ConflictState Department "key documents"
Avalon Project at Yale Law School (many primary documents related to Israeli-Palestinian conflict: Security Council resolutions, etc).
UN site about the "Question of Palestine"
More links to Security Council Docs and other Primary Sources
English Translation of the Saudi Plan and another English Translation and one more
Israel Ministry of Foreign Affairs (Text of various treaties and other docs)
EU Perspective (not primary documents, but gives the EU perspective)
Vital Speeches of the Day (this is a journal title) - use the "Find Journals by Title" option to look up this work and locate speeches given by key people about the peace process etc.
Academic Search Premier - You can limit to document type if your scroll down below the search box. Select the "Primary Sources" option and you may find something useful.
The Israel-Arab reader : a documentary history of the Middle East conflict - this is the book your professor mentioned in class. You will probably have to get it through interlibrary loan.
Books
We may have books on your topic. Check the Pollak Library catalog as well as other catalogs. Remember, you can order books through interlibrary loan.
Remember, when you find a book that matches your interests, use the subject headings to find more like it.
Here are some items that may or may not be useful for your research. You have to evaluate them to find out. There are hundreds of books at the Pollak Library dealing with the issues covered in your research papers. Here are a few that looked interesting to me.
Prospects for peace in the Middle East : the view from Israel: report / by Senator Frank Church to the Committee on Foreign Relations, United States Senate on a study mission to Israel
The Middle East: prospects for peace; background papers and proceedings. Quincy Wright, author of the working paper. Isaac Shapiro, editor
Partner to partition : the Jewish Agency's partition plan in the mandate era / Yossi Katz
A Decade of American foreign policy : basic documents 1941-1949 (US State Department Publication)
The Rise of Israel. The American trusteeship proposal, 1948 / edited with an introduction by Michael J. Cohen
The Rise of Israel. United Nations discussions on Palestine, 1947 / edited with an introduction by Michael J. Cohen
Dictionary of the Israeli-Palestinian conflict
Encyclopedia of the Palestinians (this work has an annotated bibliography)
The Israel-Arab reader : a documentary history of the Middle East conflict
Databases for Scholarly Journals and Newspapers
Go to the Database by Subject List and navigate to political science for all of the political science databases. The databases listed below should be especially useful for this assignment. Once you figure out the names of key players on each side, you can do author searches in the databases below.
Los Angeles Times - 1985-current
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Look up Journals by Title
When you find an interesting article, check the reference list. You can look up citations using the Find Journals By Title Link from the Library Homepage. You can also look up journals that you know will give a particular perspective and then search for articles within the journal.
Search Strategy