|
Sociology
| |
| Sources of News Articles:
Newspaper articles are not scholarly or
professional information and not acceptable in many Sociology
assignments. Most Sociology faculty will expect their students to use
scholarly journals
as a basis for research.
However, for certain types of assignments, you may require news
articles on your topic.
The following indexes are all good places to look for news articles. If
you are unsure as to the type of material which will be accepted, be sure to talk
to your professor or ask at the Reference Desk.
|
-
LexisNexis
Academic
To find news articles in this database, click on [News] .
This database contains the full text of news articles in large collection of
newspapers and magazines going back as far as twenty years in a few cases.
Notice that there is also a search button labeled [Legal Research].
-
Proquest Newspapers:
This database contains an
extensive collection of United States and international news sources.
- Newspapers in This Library: We also subscribes to paper copies of a number of
newspapers. To find out if we subscribe to the newspaper you are interested
in, search the
Library
Catalog by title of the newspaper. These newspapers, both paper and
microfilm, are kept on the 2nd floor of the north wing of Pollak Library.
- Historical Newspaper Articles: If you are looking for old newspaper articles,
approximately before 1980, they generally will not be found in computerized
databases. We have paper indexes to a limited number of newspapers. Ask at the Reference Desk for assistance.
Los Angeles
Times--1881-1984: We now own historic access to the Los Angeles Times with a
full-text, full-image online format from 1881 to approximately 1960 (indexing
in progress up to 1984)
New York
Times--1851-2001: We now own historic access to the New York Times in a
full-text full-image online format from 1851 through 2001.
|
|