|
Sociology
| |
Reference Sources
Reference Sources are books and
electronic databases which are designed to be used to access information
quickly, often small bits of information. They can be a great time saver
for students and researchers. Some of the types of information that can be
accessed are definitions, facts, theories, statistics, formulas, citations,
codes, addresses and other contact information. The Reference
books are kept on
the first floor of Pollak Library, North Wing. They consist of dictionaries,
encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, directories, and more.
There are an increasing number of Reference sources which are
available in an online format, both databases of information or ebooks. A small
selection of the recent Reference materials, both in print
and in online format, which might be of interest to the
Sociology student are listed below.
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Research Guides
Statistical Information
Vocational Guidance
Biographical Information
|
» |
Dictionaries
and Encyclopedias |
REF
HM425
J64
2000 |
The Blackwell Dictionary of
Sociology : a User's Guide to Sociological Language, 2000 by Allan
G. Johnson, Blackwell Publishers |
REF
HM 425
C65
2006 |
Collins Web-linked
Dictionary of Sociology
|
Ref
HV
411
C53 |
Dictionary of American Criminal Justice: Key Terms and Major Supreme Court
Cases by Dean J. Champion, 1998 This dictionary defines words,
phrases, and major people in the field. The second half of the book is
an extensive alphabetic listing of major Supreme Court cases affecting
Criminal Justice. These cases are indexed by subject. |
REF
HV
7411
R87
2000 |
The
Dictionary of Criminal Justice by George E. Rush, 2000 This
dictionary contains words, phrases, people, acts, and associations. included
a few flow included a flowchart of the sequence of events through the court
system. Also major Supreme Court Cases relating to Criminal Justice are
listed by subject and indexed by title. |
Ref
HV
6017
E52 |
Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice, ed. by Stanford H. Kadish,
This four volume set includes extensive articles on broad topics in
Criminal Justice. It would be especially helpful to a student who
needed some theoretical background on a topic. A bibliography is
included for each article. |
| ebook |
Encyclopedia of crime
and justice [electronic resource].
New York : Macmillan Reference USA, c2002
Access on Internet. CSUF IP address required |
REF
HM
425
E5 |
Encyclopedia of Sociology
2000, Edgar F. Borgatta, editor-in-chief, Rhonda Montgomery,
New York : Macmillan Reference USA, 5 volumes
|
REF
HM
425
A23 |
The Penguin Dictionary of
Sociology, 2000, Nicholas Abercrombie, Stephen Hill, Bryan S.
Turner London : Penguin. |
REF
KF9223
A68
F35 |
Prentice Hall's
Dictionary of American Criminal
Justice, Criminology,
and Criminal Law
by David N. Falcone, 2005. |
REF
HV6017 S24 |
Sage
Dictionary of Criminology,
compiled and edited by Eugene McLaughlin and
John Muncie, 2006 |
|
return to top |
|
» |
Research Guides |
REF
HV
6789
H25
|
Handbook of Crime and Punishment ed. Michael Tonry, 1998
This book contains theoretically-based articles on broad topics such as
gangs, white collar crime, organized crime, family violence, deterrence,
treatment of sex offenders, penal theories and much more. All articles
have an extensive bibliography. This book is recommended as a starting
point for the student who is researching a topic and needs to become quickly
familiar with the subject. |
Ref
HV
6469
U5
K663 |
Hate
Crimes: Contemporary World Issues by Donald Altschiller, 1999
This book acts as an introduction to the topic of hate crimes for
the students who is doing research in this area. It contains an
explanation of hate crimes, targeted groups, history of, chronology, laws
and legislation, biographical sketches, statistics, bibliography of all
types of sources, and a listing of World Wide Web sites. |
REF
HM
585
I57 |
The International Handbook of
Sociology 2000 edited by Stella R. Quah and Arnaud Sales, London ;
Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage, 2000 |
REF
Z695.1
S63
B66 |
Thesaurus of Sociological
Indexing Terms, 1999, by Barbara Booth, Bethesda, Md.: Cambridge
Scientific Abstracts, |
|
return to top |
|
» |
Statistical
Information |
Ref
HT123 A669 |
America's top rated cities
: a statistical handbook , v.1-4 |
Ref
HT123 A6692 |
America's top-rated smaller
cities : a statistical profile. |
Ref Desk
HQ792
U52
A56 |
Annual report on the
condition of children in Orange County / by Children's Services Coordination
Committee.
Access latest edition on Internet. Requires Adobe Acrobat reader |
| online |
Census of the
United States
http://www.census.gov/
American Fact Finder (easy to use section of the Census that is a
good place to start) http://factfinder.census.gov/home/saff/main.html?_lang=en |
| Ref
HV6787 C58 |
City Crime
Rankings : Crime in
Metropolitan America |
Ref
HV
6787
C745 |
Crime in America's Top-Rated Cities: A Statistical Profile, This book includes 20 years of statistical crime
information for 75 American cities. It contains information on types
of crime, crime rates, hate crimes, illegal drugs, correctional facilities,
curfews, inmates, law enforcement personnel, anti-crime programs and much
more. |
|
Doc/US
J 1.14/7 Current year at DocDesk |
Crime in the United States: Uniform Crime
Reports Criminal Justice statistics of all types are
published in this annual set of books. The library owns this set of books
back to 1962. The statistics are based on the Uniform Crime
Reports contributed by law enforcement agencies. This source is
now also available on the Internet: |
REF
HV
6787
C77 |
Crime State Ranking: Crime in the 50 United States
This source contains crime statistics such as murder, crime rates,
change in crime rates, recidivism, prison and jail populations, executions,
arrests by type and many others. All statistics are ranked by all
fifty states. |
| ebook |
Social Trends & Indicators USA
Arsen J. Darnay, managing editor ; Helen S. Fisher,
Access on Internet. CSUF IP address required |
Doc/US
J 29.9
/6
Current year at DocDesk |
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics, Bureau of Justice
This statistical book is a collection of statistics from a wide
range of organizations, agencies and public opinion polls.
Statistics cover topics such as characteristics of the criminal justice
system, public attitudes, offences, persons arrested, the the correctional
system. The library own back to 1973. This source is also available on
the Internet:
http:www.albany.edu/sourcebook |
DocDesk
Y3.SE5:
1 |
Sourcebook of Federal Sentencing Statistics This book contains
descriptive statistics on the application of the federal sentencing
guidelines and provides selected district, circuit, and national sentencing
data. |
|
Doc/US
C 3.134: Current year at RefDesk |
Statistical Abstract of the United States This is a
statistical source which covers a very wide range of subjects. Because
of this wide coverage, it is a good place to start looking for statistics.
The sources are listed and can lead the user to further statistics. This
book comes out annually and the library owns back to 1878. It is also
available through the Internet.
http:/www.census.gov/statab/www/ |
Ref
HQ
767.9
K385 |
Statistical
Handbook of the World's Children by Chandrika Kual This source
offers statistics as they relate to children on demographics, education,
health, nutrition, disease, hunger, malnutrition, AIDS. economics, social
environments, family, crime violence and war. |
|
return to top |
|
» |
Vocational Guidance |
Ref
JK
716
P58
1999 |
Careers in Government by Mary Elizabeth Pitz, 1999.
This book offers advice and job hunting strategies. Included are
job descriptions, salary ranges, working conditions, required qualifications
and an academic major listing of agencies and departments who are interested
in individuals with that academic background. |
| Ref
HV9950 A54 2003 |
Criminal
Justice and Criminology: a
Career Guide to
Local, State,
Federal, and Academic
Positions
by James F. Anderson, Nancie J. Mangels,
Laronistine Dyson |
REF
HF
5382.7
R557
1998 |
The Guide to
Internet Job Searching, 1998. There are many opportunities for job
searching on the Internet. This book gives advice on how to proceed
with the job search and the web addresses for job sites, employers and other
useful pages. The Criminal Justice major might be interested in the
chapter on "Government, Public Policy and Public Service." |
|
return to top |
| » |
Biographical
Information |
|
Computer
Database |
Biography and Genealogy Master Index This is a database
which will indicate which Reference sources contain biographical entries for
the individual which the student is searching. This database is so extensive
that it helps to know the individual's full name and birth/death dates. |
|
Computer
Database |
Biography Index
This is a database which provides
citations on biographical information. It indexes both articles and
books. |
|
Computer Database |
Marquis Who's Who Online A database of the
contents of twenty Who's Who sets of books published by Marquis. |
|