Sociology
Pollak Library Research Guide

Stacked Blue Version

Sociology 101
Dr. Ronald Hughes
October 15, 2009

Cynthia Bruns, Sociology Instruction Librarian
 
cbruns@fullerton.edu
Pollak Library
http://www.library.fullerton.edu

All Library databases can be searched at home by current CSUF students
     For help with technical difficulties with this process, Titan Help Desk 657-278-7777     
What to do if library does not own what you need
     Use Another Library...Your CSUF card is valid at all CSU libraries, local community colleges and
     some private. Warning: public libraries do not have many college-level journals or books  
     Interlibrary Loan...Books and articles from anywhere, plan on about 5-10days turnaround, free  
Library Research Guides by Major/Subject  Research guides for all majors and specialized topics
    Sociology Research Guide  
AND Research Guides by Special Topic

Ask A Librarian How to get help in the Library: 
Reference Desk and Electronic Resources, 1st floor , North Library building, 657
-278-3284 
You can also ask questions through E-mail Reference Service, 24/7 Chat Reference, IM, Texting Questions (657) 464-3787, or make an appointment with a Librarian.  

Shortcuts to Sociology Subject encyclopedias and dictionaries are a quick way to check facts, get a clear-cut explanation on a theory, to get an in-depth explanation on a specialized term, or information on an important person in Sociology.  Here are a few recent examples.  These books are found in Reference or online.
Gale Virtual Reference Library... online collection of 1,250+ encyclopedia volumes
Oxford Reference Online Premium  online collection of additional reference sources
Encyclopedia of Sociology..
. Reference HM 425 E5 2000 vols1-5
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences
H 41 I58 2001, vols 1-25
Encyclopedia of Social Theory  ...Reference HM425 .E47 2005  v. 1-2
Education and Sociology : an Encyclopedia  ... Reference LC189.95 .E38 2002
Sage Dictionary of Sociology...
Reference HM 425 B78 2006


How get books this library owns
Library Catalog http://opac.fullerton.edu
         
This is a listing of what the library owns; books, journals, newspapers, recordings, atlases
            Keyword: addiction recovery....
            Subject: Drug Abuse-Treatment
        or
Subject: Drug addicts- Rehabilitation
            Title:  American Journal of Sociology

Does this library own this article?
Hanneke Polman, Bram Orobio de Castro, and Marcel A.G. van Aken Experimental Study of the Differential Effects of Playing Versus Watching Violent Video Games on Children’s Aggressive Behavior, Aggressive Behavior. 2008 vol:34 iss:3 pg:256 -264.

What is Empirical Research and How to Recognize
Sample Empirical Article,
(a few pages only)



How to get articles on your topic:
Complete list of CSUF online databases:
Academic Search Premier Contains  journals and magazines with many full text articles
        Sample search: college students and binge drinking       
     
How to Limit your search to a particular sociological journal
Sample search: The American Journal of Sociology (SO Journal Name)        
       
          OR Sociological or Sociology or Society or Social or Societal (SO Journal Name)



Additional databases that contain Sociology related topics:
Sociological Abstracts  Professional database with scholarly research and association papers
PsycINFO Extensive international research database that covers social interaction
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) Political Science, Criminal Justice, and Public Policy
ERIC Education topics
SPORTDiscus Professional Athletes, Recreation, and Physical Education database


"Plagiarism is defined as the act of taking the specific substance of another and offering it as one's own without giving credit to the sources.  When sources are used, acknowledgement of the original author or source must be made following scholarly practice." Cal State Fullerton Catalog 07-09
Student Guide to Avoiding Plagiarism   The Campus statement on the avoidance of plagiarism
How to cite Sources Using APA All sources of information must be cited for any work you turn in on campus. 
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 5th ed. (2001) is the style guide required for this class.  Find it at Reference Desk in the library or in the bookstore.


 

 

 

 

 look for articles on the topic you are interested in searching for this class

       
OR look for articles on effect of violence in videogames on children
       
OR look for articles on body image and eating disorders
        OR look for articles on police and racial profiling
        OR look for articles on
effect of divorce on children 

 

 

 

 

 

Stacked Blue Version How to get help in the Library: Reference Desk and Electronic Resources, 1st floor , North Library building, 714-278-3284 
    E-mail Reference Service, 24/7 Chat Reference, IM, Texting, appointment with a Librarian  
         

Prepared by Cynthia Bruns, Reference Librarian, CBruns@fullerton.edu An administrative page of the Paulina June & George Pollak Library at California State University, Fullerton. (c) 2007 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved. Date this site was last updated: 10/13/09          

 

 

 

 

 

 

Prepared by Cynthia Bruns An administrative page of the Paulina June & George Pollak Library at California State University, Fullerton.
(c) 2005 California State University, Fullerton. http://www.library.fullerton.edu All rights reserved.
Last Updated: 16 Dec 2008.