Sociology
Pollak Library Research Guide

Criminal Justice 330: Crime and Delinquency
Dr. Cass, Sociology Instructor

Suellen Cox, Librarian scox@fullerton.edu
Library Home Page http://www.library.fullerton.edu
California State University Fullerton

Services in the Library
Use the Library at home: All Library databases can be searched at home by CSUF students
       If you have any difficulties, get technical assistance from the Titan Help Desk... 714 278 7777     
Library Workshops
Learn how to do library research and cite your research, free,
        open to all CSUF students, no reservations required, 

What to do if library does not own what you need:
       
Link+ ...Books only, from 20+ local universities, three to four days turnaround, free
       
Interlibrary Loan...Books and Articles from anywhere, week+ turnaround, free
        Your CSUF card is valid at CSU libraries, local community colleges and some private.       

Pollak Library Research Guide for Criminal Justice  Research guide for Sociology students
RefWorks web-based bibliographic management service used for storing and organizing citations,
         as well as automatically formatting bibliographies. more information

How to get help with library assignments   Ask a Librarian
Reference Desk 714 278-3284, Live Chat Reference, Email Reference, and Research Appointments 


Shortcuts to Criminal Justice
Subject encyclopedias and dictionaries are a quick way to check facts, get a clear-cut explanation on a theory, to get an in-depth explanation on a specialized term, or information on an important person in Criminal Justice.  Here are a few recent examples.  These books are found in Reference or online.
Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice..
. ……Reference HV 6017.E52 2002 vols1-4
Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment…Reference HV6017.E524 2002  vols1-4

Gale Virtual Reference Library... online collection of 230+ encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice...
online 2002 vols1-4   

Enyclopedia of Sociology…………...online 2000 vols1-5


How get books this library owns
Library Catalog
http://opac.fullerton.edu  Online database of books, journals, newspapers, recordings, atlases and more
            sample search: Keyword: youth crime factors      Subject: juvenile delinquency
                                      Title:  Crime and Delinquency (limit to periodicals)

What are Scholarly Journals and how to recognize them: When a college professor assigns articles, the assumption is that the class will use scholarly journal articles. Original research and empirical studies are often published in scholarly journals and will include the following sections: Abstract, Introduction, Methods, Results, Discussion, and References.

Does this library own this article? Cass, Amy, Routine Activities and Sexual Activities: An Analysis of Individual and School-Level Factors. Violence and Victims, vol 22, no. 3, 2007.


How to get articles on your topic:
PsycINFO
        This is an extensive international research database that covers
Psychology and much more
some terms: risk factors, recidivism, criminal behavior, violent behavior, causality,
attribution (perception of causes) causal analysis (Systematic analysis of causal relationships) Etilogy (study of the causes and origins of psychological or physical conditions)
Sample beginning search: family violence and the cause
Sample detailed search:
(DE "Causality" or DE "Causal Analysis" or DE "Risk Factors" or DE "Etiology") and DE "Domestic Violence"
Criminal Justice Abstracts
   
 Journals articles and more in the field of criminology
sample search: search school violence and causal or causality or cause*
  Social Sciences Full Text
        This database contains scholarly journal articles in the field of Social Sciences.

sample search:
Juvenile delinquency and Cause*
Sage Journals Online
        This database provides full text access to the following journals: Crime and Delinquency; Criminology and Criminal Justice; Crime, Media and Culture; Criminal Justice Review; Criminal Justice Policy Review; Criminal Justice and Behavior; Journal of Contemporary Criminal Justice; Journal of Research in Crime and Delinquency.

Additional databases of interest to Sociology students:
ERIC (Education: Preschool through University) Academic Search Premier (limit results to peer reviewed)
PAIS: Public Affairs Information Service Chicano Database
AgeLine (Gerontology topics) Bibliography of Asian Studies
Newsstand (newspapers only) LLBA (Language and Linguistics)
Sports Discus (sports, athletics, physical education) PubMed (medical research)
CINAHL (nursing topics) Women's Resources International
Anthropology Plus Lexis/Nexis (contains link to laws and court cases)
 

"Plagiarism is defined as the act of taking the specific substance of another and offering it as one's own without giving credit to the sources.  When sources are used, acknowledgement of the original author or source must be made following scholarly practice." Cal State Fullerton Catalog 05-07 p. 558.

Student Guide to Avoiding Plagiarism   The Campus statement on the avoidance of plagiarism and how to properly cite your research.

How do I Cite Sources  
        A
ll sources of information must be cited for any work you turn in on campus. 
Pollak Library Quick Guide to the APA Citation Style
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 5th ed. (2001)
        Copies are available for use at the Reference Desk     

 

 

 

 

How to get help with library assignments: Ask a Librarian
Reference Desk (714) 278-3284, Live Chat Reference
Email Reference, and Research Appointments 

 

Hands on portion of this workshop: 

Search the research topic of your choice

 

 

 

OR
Domestic violence
Serial or mass murder
Elder abuse
Sex offenses
Prostitution
Date rape


 

 


 


 

 


 

 

 

 

 

 

Prepared by Cynthia Bruns An administrative page of the Paulina June & George Pollak Library at California State University, Fullerton.
(c) 2005 California State University, Fullerton. http://www.library.fullerton.edu All rights reserved.
Last Updated: 03 Apr 2008.