Recent Titles ▲
- Bill: H.R. 1256: Family Smoking Prevention and Tobacco Control Act [GovTrack.us]
- Bill: H.R. 1256: Family Smoking Prevention and Tobacco Control Act: To protect the public health by providing the Food and Drug Administration with certain authority to regulate tobacco products (introduced to House March 3, 2009, laid before Senate June 3, 2009) CRS Summary.
- CRS report on H.R. 1256: FDA Tobacco Regulation: The Family Smoking Prevention and Tobacco Control Act of 2009 (2009)
- Statistics: Smoking & Tobacco Use: Fact Sheets [CDC]
- Statistics: Smoking & Tobacco Use: Data and Statistics [CDC]
- Youth statistics: Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance--United States, 2007 [MMWR]
- Overview: Smoking [Medline]
- Ending the problem: Ending the Tobacco Problem: A Blueprint for the Nation
- Statistics: Cigarette Smoking Among Adults--United States, 2007 [MMWR]
- World information: The Tobacco Atlas
Encyclopedias ▲
- Online: Gale Virtual Reference Library
- Alcohol, Tobacco, and Illicit Drugs [e-book] (2008)[e-book]
- Drugs, Alcohol, and Tobacco: Learning about Addictive Behavior (2001)
- Encyclopedia of Smoking and Tobacco (1999)
Statistics ▲
- Statistics: Smoking & Tobacco Use: Fact Sheets [CDC]
- Statistics: Smoking & Tobacco Use: Data and Statistics [CDC]
- Statistics: Cigarette Smoking Among Adults--United States, 2007 [MMWR]
- Youth statistics: Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance--United States, 2007 [MMWR]
- States: State Reports on Alcohol, Tobacco, and Illegal Drug Use [SAMHSA]
- International: The Tobacco Atlas
- Statistical Abstract
of the United States |
CATALOG RECORD |
HTML
Note: In INDEX see Cigarettes or Smoking or Tobacco

Books ▲
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: advertising cigarettes
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: advertising tobacco
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: cigarette smokers
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: nicotine
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: passive smoking
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: products liability tobacco
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: smoking
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: smoking law and legislation
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: smoking united states prevention
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: teenagers tobacco use
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: tobacco health aspects
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: tobacco industry
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: tobacco industry health aspects
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: tobacco industry law and legislation
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: tobacco physiological effect
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: tobacco use
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: tobacco use government policy
Articles ▲
- Databases--Statistics
- Databases--Pro and Con
- Databases--Scholarly Journals
- Databases--Newspapers
- Databases--Government Sources
Articles of note:
MMWR: Smoking & Tobacco Use [Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Reports]
Teens: "Susceptibility to Nicotine Dependence: The Development and Assessment of Nicotine Dependence in Youth 2 Study." Pediatrics, v. 120, no. 4, October 2007, pp. e974-983).
Youth statistics: Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance--United States, 2007 [MMWR]
Advertising: "Getting to the Truth: Evaluating National Tobacco
Countermarketing Campaigns," American Journal Of Public Health, June
2002, Vol. 92, No. 6, pages 901-907.
Print: PERIODICALS RA 421 A411 92/6 page 901.
Online: For full text, search ABI/Inform by Article Title.
Note: This entire issue is dedicating to smoking-related issues: Selling
Cigarettes Over the Web, Tobacco and the Media, Maternal Smoking and Antisocial
Behavior in Children, Smoking Among Chinese Americans, and more.
Lung cancer: "Annual Report to the Nation on the Status of Cancer, 1973-1996, With a Special Section on Lung Cancer and Tobacco Smoking." JNCI, April 21, 1999. DOCS/US HE 20.3161:91/8 pages 675-690.
Historical statistics: "Perspectives in Disease Prevention and Health Promotion Smoking-Attributable Mortality and Years of Potential Life Lost--United States, 1984." Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report 46(20):444-451, May 23, 1997. Print: DOCS/US HE 20.7009:46/20 p.444. [QUOTE: "Cigarette smoking remains the leading preventable cause of death in the United States. The same methods and data sources . . . indicated that 2,153,700 deaths (1,393,200 men and 760,400 women; total annual average: 430,700 deaths) were attributed to smoking (19.5% of all deaths)."]
California ▲
- Library Catalog KEYWORD: smoking california
- Twenty Years of Tobacco Control in California (2009)
- State Releases Data Showing Smoking Rates in California Continue to Decline (2009)
- California Department of Public Health: Tobacco/Smoking
- California Department of Public Health: Tobacco Control Fact Sheets
- Tobacco Settlement Fund (2002) [LAO]
Surgeon General Reports ▲
- Online: Surgeon General's Reports on Smoking and Tobacco Use
- Print: 1964 Smoking and Health
- Print: 1967 Health Consequences of Smoking: A Public Health Service Review: 1967
- Print: 1968 Health Consequences of Smoking: 1968 Supplement
- Print: 1969 Health Consequences of Smoking: 1969 Supplement
- Print: 1972 Health Consequences of Smoking
- Print: 1973 Health Consequences of Smoking
- Print: 1975 Health Consequences of Smoking
- Print: 1979 Smoking and Health
- Print: 1980 Health Consequences of Smoking for Women
- Print: 1981 Health Consequences of Smoking—The Changing Cigarette
- Print: 1982 Health Consequences of Smoking—Cancer
- Print: 1983 Health Consequences of Smoking—Cardiovascular Disease
- Print: 1984 Health Consequences of Smoking—Chronic Obstructive Lung Disease
- Print: 1985 Health Consequences of Smoking—Cancer and Chronic Lung Disease in the Workplace
- Print: 1986 Health Consequences of Involuntary Smoking
- Print: 1986 Health Consequences of Using Smokeless Tobacco
- Print: 1988 Health Consequences of Smoking—Nicotine Addiction
- Print: 1989 Reducing the Health Consequences of Smoking - 25 Years of Progress
- Print: 1990 Health Benefits of Smoking Cessation
- Print: 1992 Smoking and Health in the Americas
- Print: 1994 Preventing Tobacco Use Among Young People
- Print: 1994 Youth & Tobacco: Preventing Tobacco Use Among Young People
- Print: 1998 Tobacco Use Among U.S. Racial/Minority Groups
Tobacco Industry ▲
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: tobacco industry law and legislation
- Cigarette industry after settlement: Trends in the U.S. Cigarette Industry after the Master Settlement Agreement (2001)
- Legacy Tobacco Documents
Library
The Legacy National Tobacco Documents Library offers searching, viewing, and downloading of over 20 million documents, which relate to scientific research, manufacturing, marketing, advertising and sales of cigarettes, among other topics, generally dating from the 1950's to recent years. - American Legacy Foundation: Building a World Where Young People Reject Tobacco and Anyone Can Quit
- Tobacco Control Archives [UCSF]
- Tobacco Document Collections Search
- Tobacco Industry Documents: Joe Camel Campaign
- Tobacco Industry Documents: Secret Quotes
Tobacco Settlement ▲
- Library Catalog KEYWORDS: tobacco settlement
- Cigarette industry after settlement: Trends in the U.S. Cigarette Industry after the Master Settlement Agreement (2001)
- Litigation Against Tobacco Companies [USDOJ]
- Legacy Tobacco Documents Library
- American Legacy Foundation: Publications
- American legacy Foundation: Fact Sheets
