Women’s Studies
Library Research Guide
 
A one-stop guide for beginning your research in Women's Studies!

Mary Anne Lynn, Reference & Instruction Librarian

malynn@fullerton.edu

Based on a Research Guide created by S. Russo (2006)

Alice Walker

 

Journals & Articles  |  Videos & DVDs  |  Books  |  Book Reviews  |  Web Sites  |  Citing Your Sources


Journals & Articles (restricted to CSUF students, staff, & faculty)

Databases for research in Women's Studies
Journal Title List for
Human Rights, Women's Studies, and Child Welfare (page may load slowly)
Journal Title List for Gender Studies
(page may load slowly)


Videos & DVDs

Please click here for a printable list of videos & DVDs available in the Pollak Library. [Document is in Adobe PDF format.]


Books

To search for books, use the Library Catalog.

The following is a list of selected Biographies, Bibliographies, Books on Feminism & Feminist Theory, Encyclopedias, and Statistical Sources in Women's Studies that are available at the Pollak Library.
(Note:
The Women's Studies Core Books Database, a project of the Association of College & Research Libraries -- Women's Studies Section
was consulted in making this list.)

Biographies (Reference Collection)

African American Women Playwrights: A Research Guide  PS153 .N5 G29 1999
American Women Writers: A Critical Reference Guide from Colonial Times to the Present  PS153 .N5 G29 1999
Biographical Dictionary of Chinese Women HQ1767.5.A3 B56 1998
Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science  Q141 .B5285 2000

Biographical Dictionary of Women's Movements and Feminisms in Central, Eastern, and South Eastern Europe: 19th and 20th Centuries HQ1590.7.Z75 A336 2006
Contemporary Women Artists  N8354 .C66 1999
Contemporary Women Poets  PS151 C67 1998
Latinas In the United States : A Historical Encyclopedia E184.S75 L35 2006 (3 volumes)
Latinas! : Women of Achievement E184.S75 L354 1996 

Notable Women in Mathematics  QA28 .N68 1998
Significant Contemporary American Feminists: A Biographical Sourcebook  HQ1412 .S56 1999
Women Filmmakers and Their Films  PN 1998.2 .W66 1998

Women in World History : A Biographical Encyclopedia HQ1115 .W6 1999 (17 volumes)

Bibliographies (Reference Collection)

Journal of Women's History Guide to Periodical Literature HQ1101 .F57 1992
Reader's Guide to Women's Studies  HQ 1180z R43 1998
Readers Companion to U.S. Women's History  HQ 1410 .R43 1998

Encyclopedias (Reference Collection)

American Women in Technology:  An Encyclopedia  T36 Z54 2000 (also available as an e-book)
Encyclopedia of American Women and Religion  BL 2525 B45 1998
Encyclopedia of British Women Writers  PR1111 .E54 1998
Encyclopedia of Feminist Literary Theory  PN98 .W64 E53 1997
Encyclopedia of Women and Sport in America  GV 709 E53 1998
Encyclopedia of Women and World Religion  BL458 E53 1999
Feminist Glossary of Human Geography  G63 . G5 1999
Historical Dictionary of Feminism HQ1115 .B65 2004 
Lesbian Histories and Cultures:  An Encyclopedia  HQ 75.7 .L4395 2000
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women  HQ1115.R69 2000
Women in the Thirld Word:  An Encyclopedia of Contemporary Issues  HQ1870.9 .W6548 1998
Women's Studies Encyclopedia  HQ1115.W645 1999 (1989 edition may be checked-out
)

Feminism/Feminist Theory

The Black Feminist Reader  PS153.N5 B5536 2000
Chicana Feminist Thought  HQ1421 .C52 1997
Contemporary Feminist Theories  HQ1150 .C665 1998
Encyclopedia of Feminist Theories HQ1190 .E63 2000 (Reference Collection)
Feminism: A Reference Handbook  HQ1410.H365 1998 (Reference Collection)
Feminist Locations: Global and Local, Theory and Practice  HQ1190 .F4534 2001
Feminist Social and Political Theory: Contemporary Debates and Dialogues  HQ1190 .M388 2003 
Gender and the Politics of History  HQ1154 .S335 1999
Postfeminisms: Feminism, Cultural Theory, and Cultural Forms  HQ1190 .B764 1997

The Women's Movement Today: An Encyclopedia of Third-Wave Feminism HQ1115 .W644 2006 v. 1 & 2 (Reference Collection)
Worlds of knowing: Global Feminist Epistemologies  HQ1190 .D89 2001 

Statistical Sources (Reference Collection)

American Women: Who They Are & How They Live  HC110.C6 A438 1997
Statistical Handbook on Women in America  HQ1410 .T34 1996
Statistical Record of Women Worldwide  HQ1150 .S73 1991
The Women's Atlas of the United States
 G1201.E1 G5 1995


Book Reviews

Options for locating current reviews in print include the following:

For online reviews:

For older book reviews:

The following is a list of electronic (online) databases for finding book reviews:

Women's Studies Specific

  • GenderWatch (ProqQuest)  Search Tips: From the advanced search screen, put review in the first search box and change "Citation and document text" to "Document type."
  • Women's Studies International  Search Tips: Put the book title in the "Book Reviewed" field and put book review in the "Publication Type" field.  

General/Interdisciplinary

  • Book Review Digest  Search Tip: Change the "Record Type Phrase" on the Advanced Search screen to "Book Review."  Reviews are from 1983-present.
  • Humanities Abstracts Search Tip: Change the "Record Type Phrase" on the Advanced Search
    Reviews are from 1984-present.
  • JSTOR  Search Tips: From the Advanced Search screen under "Narrow Your Search To," check review.  You may also narrow your search by checking specific disciplines.  JSTOR book reviews will not include the most recent years.
  • Factiva  Search Tips: Type the book title in the "Free Text" search area.  Change the date range according to the publication date of the book you are looking for.
  • LexisNexis  Search Tips: From the "Guided News Search" screen, in Step One, select "Arts & Sports News" and in Step Two, select "Book, movie, music, & play reviews."  Enter the book title in Step Three and change the date range according to the publication date of the book you are looking for.
  • America: History & Life  Search Tips: Select "book review" under document type.  Reviews are from 1964-present.

Web Sites

Associations/Professional Resources & Communication

  • H-Women: International electronic discussion group on women's history. Includes online book reviews, syllabi, bibliographies, and archived discussions.

  • National Women's Studies Association: Job listings and scholarship information in Women's Studies. Information about NWSA & its annual conference. Resources for Women's Studies programs.

  • WMST-L: International e-mail forum for discussion of Women's Studies teaching, research, and program administration.

Higher Education/Teaching Resources

Subject Guides and Other Helpful Sites


Citing Your Sources

Citing sources properly is an important part of your research.  The following list of tips may help you with your citations:

  • Confirm with your professor the style manual you are to use.

  • Make sure you have all the information you will need from each source to create a proper citation, including data such as publication information from the front of books, journal volume/issue numbers, and page numbers for articles and book chapters. You can use RefWorks, an online citation manager to store your citations and create reference or work cited pages.

  • Plagiarism is a serious issue, which includes presenting the work or ideas of another individual as your own.  Keeping careful notes while researching your topic will help you to properly give credit for an idea or passage you came across.

  • Read the "Student Guide to Avoiding Plagiarism: How to Write an Effective Research Paper," prepared by Sandra Rhoten, Associate Dean, Judicial Affairs,CSUF.

  • Attend a Citation Workshop at the library to receive basic instruction on proper citing.

  • Use the Pollak Library's How do I Cite Sources? page, which provides information for APA, MLA, and Chicago styles.

  • The complete style guides (MLA, Turabian, APA, Chicago Manual of Style) are available behind the Reference Desk, 1st Floor, Library North.


Sources for images on this guide: Susan B Anthony, www.biography.com ; Alice Walker (http://www.womensart.com); and Suffragists, 1912, NY Times Archives, http://www.nytstore.com/ProdInterCode.aspx?prodcode=791&intercode=544&minorcode=467.
An administrative page of Pollak Library, California State University, Fullerton.
(c)2006 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved.
Reviewed by Mary Anne Lynn 08/2007. Last Updated: May 08, 2008