Recent Titles ▲
- Estimated Pregnancy Rates by Outcome for the United States, 1990-2004 (2008) [National Vital Statistics Reports]
- Guttmacher Institute: Abortion--latest reports
- Abortion Surveillance--United States, 2005 (2008)
- Abortion [Medline]
- Abortion Declines Worldwide, Falls Most Where Abortion is Broadly Legal (2007)
- History and Effect of Abortion Conscience Clause Laws (2006) [CRS]
Encyclopedias ▲
- Online: Gale Virtual Reference Library [CSUF only]
- Abortion in the United States: A Reference Handbook
- Abortion Decisions of the Supreme Court 1973 Through 1989: A Comprehensive Review with Historical Commentary
- Historical and Multicultural Encyclopedia of Women's Reproductive Rights in the United States
- National Survey of State Laws (all 50 states) (2003) - See pages 307-338
Statistics--Online ▲
- Guttmacher Institute: Abortion Statistics
- Abortion Surveillance--United States, 2005 (2008)
- Abortion Surveillance--United States, 2004 (2007) | PDF
- Statistical Abstract of the United States: Births, Deaths, Marriages, & Divorces - in 2009 ed., see Tables 97, 98, 99
- Estimated Pregnancy Rates by Outcome for the United States, 1990-2004 (2008) [National Vital Statistics Reports]
- Public opinion: Abortion and Birth Control
Statistics--Print ▲
- Statistical Abstract of the United States: Births, Deaths, Marriages, & Divorces - in 2009 ed., see Tables 97, 98, 99 | PRINT VERSION
- Trends in Pregnancies and Pregnancy Rates by Outcome: Estimates for the U.S. 1976-96 -- CATALOG RECORD AND LINK TO FULL TEXT
- Health Data Summaries for California Counties [annual]

Books ▲
Following is a list of books in Pollak Library. To find additional books, search the Library Catalog by these subjects:
- Subject: abortion
- Subject: abortion california
- Subject: abortion law and legislation united states
- Subject: abortion law and legislation united states history
- Subject: abortion moral and ethical aspects
- Subject: abortion united states public opinion
Books of note:
- Who Chooses? American Reproductive History Since 1830 (2008)
- The Reproductive Rights Reader: Law, Medicine, and the Construction of Motherhood (2008)
- The War on Choice: The Right-Wing Attack on Women's Rights and How to Fight Back (2004)
- Beyond Choice: Reproductive Freedom in the 21st Century (2004)
- The 25th Anniversary of Roe v. Wade: Has it Stood the Test of Time? Hearing... (1998)
Articles ▲
To find articles, search Pollak Library's subscription databases. The links below will take you to a list of relevant databases.
- Databases--Statistics
- Databases--Pro and Con
- Databases--Scholarly Journals
- Databases--Newspapers
- Databases--Government Sources
Article of note:
"Abortion Rate Lowest Since '74: The decline continues a
20-year trend." Los Angeles Times, Jan 15, 2003. Full text of article is
available in database Los Angeles Times.
California ▲
- Statistical Abstract of the United States [2009 ed]: Births, Deaths, Marriages, & Divorces, TABLE 99 Abortions--Number and Rate by State
- Abortion Surveillance--United States, 2005 -- see Table 3 (2008)
- Trends in Abortion in California, 1976-2005 (2008) [Guttmacher Institute]
- State Facts About Abortion (all 50 states) [Guttmacher Institute]
- Medi-Cal Funded Induced Abortion [annual]
- National Survey of State Laws (all 50 states -- see pages 307-338) (2003)
- Teenagers' Pregnancy Intentions and Decisions: A Study of Young Women in California Choosing to Give Birth [discussion and statistics] (1999)
- Abortion in California: 1968-1976
Presidential Statements ▲
- REAGAN: Proposed Legislation-President's Pro-Life Act of 1988
- BUSH, GEORGE H.: Views: Federal Policy on Abortion
- CLINTON: Veto of H.R. 1833: Message from the President of the United States
- BUSH, GEORGE W.: Memorandum from the White house to USAID
- OBAMA: Memorandum for the Secretary of State: Mexico City Policy and Assistance for Voluntary Population Planning
Pro and Con ▲
To find books, search the Library Catalog by SUBJECT: abortion united states public opinion
- Public opinion: Pragmatic Americans Liberal and Conservative on Social Issues (2006)
- Opposing Viewpoints [ CSUF only]
- CQ Researcher [CSUF only]
Primary Sources ▲
- The Abortion Controversy: A Documentary History (1994)
- See also: Laws
- See also: Roe v. Wade
Roe v. Wade ▲
- Text online:
Roe et al v.
Wade Supreme Court Decision 410 U.S. 113
Note: Scroll down to ROE V. WADE - Text print: United States
Reports, vol.410, p.113
REFERENCE KF101 .A212 v.410 p. 113 - Text print: Supreme Court
Reporter, vol.93, p.705
REFERENCE KF101 .S95 v.93 p.705 - Text print: United States
Supreme Court Reports. Lawyers' Edition. Second series, v. 35, p. 147
REFERENCE KF105 .U52 1957 v.35, p.147. - Background and overview:
"Abortion: Roe v. Wade (Milestones in the law)", West's Encyclopedia of
American Law, Volume 1, pages 10-21 and pages 313-399.
REFERENCE KF154 .W47 1988 Volume 1 - Analysis: 25th Anniversary of Roe v. Wade: Has it Stood the Test of Time? Hearing . . . (1998)
- Supreme Court opinion: Stenberg v. Carhart (2000)
- Supreme Court opinions: Abortion Decisions of the Supreme Court, 1973 through 1989: A Comprehensive Review with Historical Commentary
- Supreme Court opinions: Great American Court Cases
- History: Roe v. Wade: The Abortion Rights Controversy in American history (2001)
Supreme Court Decisions ▲
- Oxford Guide to United States Supreme Court Decisions [CSUF only]
- The Abortion Rights Controversy in America: A Legal Reader (2004)
- Lessons from Before Roe: Will Past be Prologue (2003)
- Abortion Decisions of the Supreme Court, 1973 through 1989: A Comprehensive Review with Historical Commentary
- Encyclopedia of the U.S. Supreme Court (2001)
- Great American Court Cases
- Roe v. Wade: The Abortion Rights Controversy in American History (2001)
- Stenberg v. Carhart (2000)
- "Abortion: Roe v. Wade (Milestones in the law)", West's Encyclopedia of
American Law, Volume 1, pages 10-21 and pages 313-399.
REFERENCE KF154 .W47 1988 Volume 1
