|
-
Older Americans 2008: Key Indicators of
Well-Being
 -
Retooling for
an Aging America: Building the Health Care
Workforce (2008) |
Factsheet
 -
End of Life: Helping with
Comfort and Care (2008) PDF-72 pages
 -
Statistics: Older Americans Month
2008
| 2007 |
2006 |
2005 -
How Do Older
Americans Spend Their Time? (2007) PDF-19-pages
-
The AARP Report: Beyond 50.05: A Report to the Nation on
Livable
Communities: Creating Environments for Successful Aging PDF-112 pages
|
Additional information -
A
Great City for Older Adults: An AARP Survey on the Strengths and
Challenges of Growing Old in Burlington (2007) PDF-82 pages
 -
Annual
Statistical Report on the Social Security Disability Program, 2005
 - "Caring for the Elderly,"
CQ Researcher, October 13, 2006
 -
Income of the Population 55 and Older, 2004
(2006)
 -
Income of
Americans Age 65 and Older, 1969 to 2004 (2006) PDF-49 pages
-
Health
Quality of Older Americans: Physical Activity Survey, 2006 |
PDF-12
pages
 -
65+ in
the United States: 2005 (2006)
PDF-254 pages
-
Oldest
Baby Boomers Turn 60!
[Census Bureau]
-
Snapshot: California's Fragile
Nursing Home Industry
A portrait of California's nursing home industry. Critical
elements of the industry examined include violations of federal
regulations, quality of care, the length of stay, who uses nursing
homes, nursing staff wages, staff turnover, violations of federal
regulations, who pays for nursing homes, financial status
(profitability) of nursing home organizations, and more.
- Profile of Older Workers
in California (2004) [includes other states]
-
Nursing Home Compare
(Official Medicare Web Site)
Online:
Gale Virtual Reference Library
[CSUF only]
Aging
[Encyclopedia] (2000) CATALOG RECORD
REFERENCE
HQ1061 .A42453 200 Vol. 1-2
Aging in America A to Z (2001) CATALOG RECORD REFERENCE HQ1064 .U5 B379 2001
Aging Sourcebook:
Basic Information on Issues Affecting Older Americans, Including
Demographic Trends, Social Security, Medicare, Estate Planning, Legal
Rights, Health and Safety, Elder Care Options, Retirement Lifestyle
Options, and End of Life Issues (1998)
REFERENCE HQ1064.U5
A6365 1998 CATALOG RECORD
Alzheimer's
Disease Sourcebook (2003) CATALOG RECORD
4th FL SOUTH RC523.2 .A45 2003
The Baby Boom:
Americans Aged 35 to 54 (1999) CATALOG RECORD REFERENCE HN60 .R868 2001
Death and the
Afterlife: A Cultural Encyclopedia (2000)
CATALOG RECORD REFERENCE GT3150 .T25 2000
Encyclopedia of
Aging (2002) CATALOG RECORD
PRINT:
REFERENCE HQ1061 .E534 2002 Vol. 1-4
ONLINE: Search
Library Catalog by TITLE:
encyclopedia of aging and select
record indicating Electronic Resource
Encyclopedia of
Aging: A Comprehensive Resource in Gerontology and Geriatrics
(2001) REFERENCE HQ1061 .E53 2001 Vol. 1-2
CATALOG RECORD
Encyclopedia of Death and Dying
(2005) REFERENCE HQ1073 .c374 2005 CATALOG RECORD
Encyclopedia of
Gerontology: Age, Aging, and the Aged (1996)
REFERENCE RC952.5 .E58 1996 Vol. 1-2
CATALOG RECORD
Encyclopedia of Retirement and Finance
(2003) REFERENCE HQ1064.U5 E524 2003 Vol. 1-2
CATALOG
RECORD
Graying of
America: An Encyclopedia of Aging, Health, Mind, and Behavior
(2001) REFERENCE HQ1064.U5 K39 2001
CATALOG
RECORD
Handbook of Death
and Dying (2003) REFERENCE HQ1073 .H36 2003
CATALOG
RECORD
International Encyclopedia of the
Social & Behavioral Sciences REFERENCE H41 .I58 2001
v. 1-26
CATALOG RECORD
Macmillan
Encyclopedia of Death and Dying (2003)
CATALOG RECORD
Print: REFERENCE HQ1073 .M33 2003 Vol. 1-2
Online: Search
Library Catalog by
TITLE: macmillan encyclopedia of death and dying and select
record indicating Electronic Resource
Older Americans
(2004) [statistics] CATALOG RECORD
REFERENCE Business Table
2A: US Demographics and Consumers
The most detailed demographic information available is provided by
the Census Bureau's American Facfinder's Data Sets. The following
steps retrieve data showing population over age 65 by race by city in
California.
- Go to
American Factfinder
- In
left frame, hover over FACT SHEET and then click on
Fact Sheet: Race, Ethnic, or Ancestry Group
- Type race or ethnicity in search box.
- Click FIND.
- Race will be highlighted. Click GO.
- Enter city, county, or state (zip code data not
available here). Click GO.
- See GENERAL CHARACTERSTICS -- MEDIAN AGE for population
over 65.
Tip: If 2005 data is available, it will appear as a tab
across center of page. Tip: At the top of each table of data, click on
show more for more detailed info.
-
Fast Facts and Figures about Social Security: 2007
-
Older Americans Month
2008
| 2007 |
2006 |
2005
-
Older Americans 2008: Key Indicators of Well Being
-
How Do Older
Americans Spend Their Time? (2007) PDF- 19-pages
-
Geographic
Distribution and Characteristics of Older Workers in Vermont (2007)
PDF-12 pages
-
Annual
Statistical Report on the Social Security Disability Program, 2005
-
The AARP Report: Beyond 50.05: A Report to the Nation on Livable
Communities: Creating Environments for Successful Aging PDF-112 pages
|
Additional information
-
A
Great City for Older Adults: An AARP Survey on the Strengths and
Challenges of Growing Old in Burlington (2007) PDF-82 pages
-
Income of the Population 55 and Older, 2004 (2006)
-
65+ in the United States: 2005
(2006) PDF-254 pages
-
Income of
Americans Age 65 and Older, 1969 to 2004 (2006) PDF-49 pages
-
We the People: Aging in the United States (2004)
PDF-16 pages
-
Older Americans
(2004) [statistics]
REFERENCE Business Table
2A: US Demographics and Consumers
CATALOG RECORD
-
Facts & Figures
(Social Security)
-
The Older Population in the
United States: March 2002 (2003)
PDF-8 pages
-
Older Married Couples:
Income
(2003)
-
Profiles of Older Americans
(2004)
-
Green Book 2004
- see APPENDIX A and APPENDIX B (Percent of population, life expectancy, labor
force participation, marital status, income and poverty rates, living
arrangements) PRINT: DOCS/DESK Y 4.W 36:10-4/(year)
-
Nursing
Home Compare Survey
-
Crimes against Persons Age 65 or Older, 1993-2002 PDF-4 pages
- Census 2000: Age: 2000
ONLINE:
PDF-12 pages
PRINT:
CATALOG RECORD
- The 65 Years and
Over Population: 2000 (October 2001)
ONLINE:
PDF-8 pages
PRINT:
CATALOG RECORD
-
Sixty-Five Plus in the United States (1996)
CATALOG RECORD &
INTERNET LINK
- Recent reports:
Aging
Population News Releases [Census]
- Centenarians:
Centenarians
in the United States (1999)
CATALOG RECORD &
INTERNET LINK
- Centenarians:
Older
Americans Month May
2003 |
2002 |
2001 - links to statistical reports on income/poverty,
grandchildren, jobs, education, marriage, mobility, homeownership,
foreign-born, and projected number of
centenarians
-
Demographic
Profiles: Census 2000 (population by age for all cities, counties,
states, and congressional districts)
-
Older
Persons Health [FastStats]
- An Aging World: 2001:
International Population Reports
CATALOG RECORD
- Measuring Resources:
Another Look at Poverty Among Older Persons (2002)
PDF-8 pages
-
Baby Boom Brought Biggest Increases Among People
45-to-54 Years Old
-
Country's Older Population Profiled by
the U.S. Census Bureau (2001)
- The Older Population
in the United States: March 1999
PDF-8 pages
|
CATALOG RECORD
& INTERNET LINK
- Aging into the 21st
Century (1996)
CATALOG RECORD
- The Elderly
Living Alone
in America: A Portrait (1997)
CATALOG RECORD
Older Americans 2008: Key Indicators of Well Being
End of Life: Helping with
Comfort and Care (2008) PDF-72 pages
-
The AARP Report: Beyond 50.05: A Report to the Nation on Livable
Communities: Creating Environments for Successful Aging PDF-112 pages
|
Additional information
-
Income of the Population 55 and Older, 2004 (2006)
-
Handbook of Aging and the Social Sciences
(2006) CATALOG RECORD
-
Health Quality of Older Americans: Physical Activity Survey, 2006 |
PDF-12
pages
-
65+ in
the United States: 2005 (2006) PDF-254 pages
-
Green Book 2004
- see APPENDIX A and APPENDIX B (Percent of population, life expectancy, labor
force participation, marital status, income and poverty rates, living
arrangements) PRINT: DOCS/DESK Y 4.W 36:10-4/(year)
-
Older Adults: Substance Abuse
and Serious Mental Illness (many reports)
-
Elder Mistreatment:
Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation in an Aging America (2003)
-
Medicaid: State-by-State Differences
-
A Quiet Crisis in America: Commission on Affordable Housing and
Health Facility Needs for Seniors in the 21st Century (2002)
CATALOG RECORD
-
Age-Retardation: Scientific Possibilities and Moral Challenges
(2003)
-
Prescription
Drugs and Health Policy (2003) [links to various reports]
-
Profile of Older Americans: 2001 (2002)
PDF-16 pages
- Addictions--recent reports:
Older Adults:
Substance Use and Serious Mental Illness [SAMHSA]
- Arts
participation:
Age and
Arts Participation: 1982-1997 (2000)
CATALOG RECORD
- Age Speaks for Itself:
Silent Voices of the Elderly (2000)
CATALOG RECORD
- An Aging World:
2001: International Population Reports CATALOG RECORD
- Behavior, Health, and
Aging (2000)
CATALOG RECORD
- Breaking the
Watch: The Meanings of Retirement in America (2000)
CATALOG RECORD
- Cultural
Issues in
End-of-Life Decision Making (2000)
CATALOG RECORD
- Depression
and Suicide Facts for Older Adults (2000)
CATALOG RECORD
- The Evolution of
the Aging Self: The Societal Impact on the Aging Process (2000)
CATALOG RECORD
- Factors Affecting
Nutrient Intake of the Elderly (1998)
PDF-13
pages
- Healthy Aging:
Challenges and Solutions (1999)
CATALOG RECORD
- The Maturing
Marketplace: Buying Habits
of Baby Boomers and Their Parents (2000)
CATALOG RECORD
- Older Drivers:
Cues for Law Enforcement (1999)
CATALOG RECORD
- Older Individuals and
Athletes
Over 50 (2000)
CATALOG RECORD
- The
Oldest Old
in Everyday Life: Self Perception, Coping with Change, and
Stress
(2001)
CATALOG RECORD
- Our Aging Population:
Promoting Empowerment, Preventing Victimization, and Implementing
Coordinated Interventions (2000)
CATALOG
RECORD
& INTERNET LINK
- Role and Value of
Senior Companions in Their Communities (2001)
CATALOG RECORD
- Staying Healthy at
50+: Put Prevention into Practice (2000)
CATALOG RECORD
- Still Here: Embracing
Aging, Changing, and Dying (2000)
CATALOG RECORD
- Working with Toxic
Older Adults: A Guide to Coping with
Difficult Elders
(1999)
CATALOG RECORD
Following are videorecordings and sound records owned by Pollak Library.
They are located on the 4th Floor North.
- Following is a
list of some of the scholarly journals that Pollak Library
subscribes to on aging and gerontology. They are located on 2nd
Floor North.
- For assistance
in finding additional journals, ask at the Reference Desk.
- To find
articles on specific subjects (for example, aging and creativity),
see
Articles
section below.
|
To find
articles, search Pollak Library's
subscription databases. The links below will take you to a list of
relevant databases.
Databases--Statistics
Databases--Pro & Co/Current Issues
Databases--Scholarly Journals
Databases--Newspapers
Databases--Government Sources
Freely available
article of
note:
How Do
Older Americans Spend Their Time? (2007) PDF- 19-pages Monthly Labor Review, May 2007.
-
Federal Poverty Guideline Underestimates Costs of Living for Older
Persons in California (2008) PDF-4 pages -
Orange
County: Area Plan for Fiscal Years 2005-2009 (PDF-99 pages)
- Condition of Older Adults 2003
PDF [Orange County]
Online:
Section 1 |
Section 2
|
Section 3 |Section
4
- Condition of Older Adults 2002
[ Orange
County]
Print: REF
DESK
HV1468.C2 C66 2003 Online:
Internet version-PDF-134 pages
Longevity/life expectancy, race/ethnicity, geographic distribution,
educational attainment, lifelong learning, economic indicators (income,
poverty), housing, transportation, civil and social engagement, health
status, health care coverage, and more.
- California Healthcare
Foundation: Publications [Note: Under Select Topic Area,
click on a topic in dropdown box.]
-
California's
comprehensive strategy to support family caregivers: informational
hearing of the Senate Health Subcommittee on Aging and Long-Term Care
-
Snapshot: California's Fragile Nursing Home Industry
This is a portrait of California's nursing home industry--violations of federal regulations, quality of care, the length of stay, who uses nursing
homes, nursing staff wages, staff turnover, violations of federal
regulations, who pays for nursing homes, financial status
(profitability) of nursing home organizations, and more.
-
"Center
to Look Out for Elders," By Jean O. Pasco,
Los Angeles Times, May 11, 2003 [Orange
County statistics].
-
Orange County
Office on Aging
- Seniors in Action [California]
To
find additional books, search the
Following is a list of
recent books. To find additional books, search the Library Catalog:
Subject:
baby boom generation |
-
"Aging Baby Boomers," CQ Researcher, October 19, 2007.
-
Oldest Baby Boomers Turn 60! [Census Bureau]
- How Families Still Matter: A
Longitudinal Study of Youth in Two Generations (2002)
CATALOG RECORD
- "The 2030 Problem: Caring for Aging
Baby Boomers" (statistical data included), Health Services Research,
August 2002, v.37 i4 p849. Available full text on
Factiva database.
- Age: 2000
(September 2001)
PDF-12
pages [Note: This is the full report on age structure
in the United States, with data on baby boomers]
- Age and Arts Participation: 1982-1997
(2000)
CATALOG RECORD
- Age Power: How the 21st Century Will
Be Ruled By The New Old (1999)
CATALOG RECORD
- Baby Boom: Americans aged 35 to 54
CATALOG RECORD
-
Baby Boom Brought Biggest Increases Among People
45-to-54 Years Old
- The Maturing
Marketplace: Buying Habits of Baby Boomers and Their Parents (2000)
CATALOG RECORD
- CQ Researcher [periodical], "Baby Boomers at Midlife," July 31, 1998
- Long-term Care: Baby
Boom Generation Increases Challenge of Financing Needed Services (2001)
PDF-18 pages
- Long-term Care: Who Will Care For The
Aging Baby Boomers? hearing (2001)
CATALOG RECORD &
INTERNET LINK
- Prime Time: How Baby Boomers Will
Revolutionize Retirement and Transform America (1999)
CATALOG RECORD
- To Have And To Hold: Marriage, The
Baby Boom, and Social Change (2000)
CATALOG RECORD
- When Baby Boom Women Retire (1998)
CATALOG RECORD
Library Catalog SUBJECT search:
older people abuse of
-
Elder Abuse
[Medline Plus]
-
Elder Abuse is a Serious Problem [AOA]
-
Elder
Abuse: A Public Health Perspective (2006) CATALOG RECORD
-
Elder abuse
detection and intervention: a collaborative approach (2007)
CATALOG RECORD
-
Elder Mistreatment: Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation in an
Aging America (2003)
HTML |
CATALOG RECORD
-
Elder Law in a Nutshell (2003)
CATALOG RECORD
-
"Center
to Look Out for Elders," By Jean O. Pasco,
Los Angeles Times, May 11, 2003 [Orange
County statistics]
-
Elder
Abuse [California Advocates for
Nursing Home Reform]
-
Elder
Abuse & Neglect: In Search of Solutions (2003)
[APA] .
- Elder Abuse: A Decade of
Shame and Inaction (1990)
CATALOG RECORD
- Elder
Abuse and Neglect: Causes, Diagnosis, and Intervention Strategies
(1997)
CATALOG RECORD
- Elder Abuse in Residential
Settings: Different National Backgrounds and Similar Responses (1999)
CATALOG RECORD
- Society's Secret Shame:
Elder Abuse & Family Violence (1995)
CATALOG RECORD
- Understanding Family Violence: Treating and Preventing Partner, Child,
Sibling, and Elder Abuse (1998)
CATALOG RECORD
|