|
Online:
Gale Virtual Reference Library
[CSUF only]
Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol, and Addictive Behavior
(2001)
REFERENCE HV5804 .E53 2001 Vol. 1-4
CATALOG RECORD
Encyclopedia of
Drugs and Alcohol REFERENCE HV5804 .E53 2001 Vol. 1-4
CATALOG RECORD
Encyclopedia of Addictions and Addictive Behaviors (2006) REFERENCE AC564 .G95 2006
Injury Facts REFERENCE HA217 .A4 CATALOG
RECORD
International Encyclopedia of the
Social & Behavioral Sciences REFERENCE H41 .I58 2001
v. 1-26 CATALOG RECORD
-
Young
Adult Drinking [Alcohol Alert] (2006)
-
Characteristics of Primary Alcohol Admissions by Age of First Use Of
Alcohol: 2002 (2005)
-
Adolescent
Substance Abuse
Treatment in the United States:
Exemplary Models from a
National Evaluation
Study
(2003)
CATALOG RECORD
-
Reducing
Underage Drinking: A Collective
Responsibility (2003)
-
Alcohol
and Highway Safety
2001 (2001)
HTML
|
CATALOG RECORD
-
How Does Alcohol Affect the World of a
Child?
-
Assessing Alcohol, Drug, and Mental Disorders in Juvenile Detainees
(2001)
PDF-2
pages |
CATALOG RECORD &
INTERNET LINK
- Alcohol and
Drugs, Delinquency, and Crime: Looking Back to the Future
CATALOG RECORD
- Alcohol: Minimising the
Harm: What Works?
CATALOG RECORD
- Alcohol, Tobacco, and
Other Drug Abuse: Challenges and Responses
CATALOG RECORD
-
Alcohol, Tobacco, Staples of
Movies, Music
[Stanford]
- Alcoholism: An Inherited
Disease (1985)
CATALOG RECORD
- Combating Underage
Drinking
CATALOG RECORD &
INTERNET LINK
- Diseases of the Will:
Alcohol and the Dilemmas of Freedom
CATALOG RECORD
- Effects of the Mass Media
on the Use and Abuse of Alcohol
CATALOG RECORD
- Enforcement of Underage
Impaired-Driving Laws
CATALOG RECORD
- Highway Safety:
Effectiveness of State .08 Blood Alcohol Laws
CATALOG RECORD
-
If Someone Close has A
Problem With Alcohol Or Drugs
CATALOG RECORD
- National Survey of Drinking and
Driving Attitudes and Behavior
CATALOG RECORD
- Overview of Addiction
Treatment Effectiveness
CATALOG RECORD
-
Public Law 106-346 (H.R. 4475)
(withholds transportation funds from states not enforcing .08 BAC laws.)
Passed into law October 23, 2000.
-
Substance
Use in Popular Movies and Music (1999)
CATALOG RECORD
-
Substance
Use in Popular Prime-Time Television (2000)
CSUF only. To find
articles, search Pollak Library's
subscription databases. The links below will take you to a list of
relevant databases.
Databases--Statistics
Databases--Pro & Con
Databases--Scholarly Journals
Databases--Newspapers
Databases--Government Sources
CSUF subscribes to
the following relevant journals:
- Articles of
note:
top
-
CQ Researcher:
"Drinking on Campus," Aug. 18, 2006 "Teen Driving," January 7, 2005 "Drunk
Driving," October 6, 2000 "Drinking
on Campus," March 20. 1998 "Alcohol
Advertising," March 14, 1997
"A Spirited Debate Over DUI Laws;
The government's effort to compel states
to lower blood-alcohol limits encounters resistance. A senator
in Iowa calls the policy 'blackmail.'" Ralph Vartabedian; Los
Angeles Times, Dec 30, 2002; page A-1. For full text, search Los Angeles Times by Article Title.
- "Drunk Driving Battle Gains;
California's alcohol-related fatality rate
is
near the bottom among states, study says,
after one of the biggest 20-year declines." Los
Angeles Times, December 19, 2002, Part 2 page 1. For full text, search Los Angeles Times by Article Title.
-
- "Alcohol
abuse as a risk factor for and
consequence of child abuse," Alcohol Research and Health, Vol. 25; Issue. 1, 52-57.
DOCS/US HE 20.8309:25/1 p.52-57.
PDF-6 pages.
-
- "Variation in
youthful risks of progression from alcohol and tobacco to marijuana
and to hard drugs across generations," American Journal of Public
Health, Volume 91, Issue 2, 2001, pages 225-232.
Online: For full text, search
the
ABI/Inform [CSUF only] database by Article Title. Print: PERIODICALS RA421
.A411
-
Community Indicators of Alcohol and Drug
Abuse Risk
The report compiles data on 26
community indicators, including measures of risk factors associated with
alcohol and other drug use, measures of overall substance use
prevalence, and measures of the consequences associated with problem
use. Includes
six-year trends with state and county-level comparisons. One report for
each county including Orange
County
PDF-57 pages and Los
Angeles County
PDF-57 pages.
-
Cost of Alcohol Abuse to
Los Angeles County (2003)
PDF-25 pages
-
State Data on Alcohol,
Tobacco, and Illegal Drug Use
- Circumstances of Drinking Prior to
DUI Arrest: A Report of the 2002 Orange County Drinking Driver Program
Survey (2002) [Orange County Health Care
Agency]
PDF-31 pages
-
Apparent Per Capita Alcohol
Consumption:
National, State, and Regional Trends
-
California
Department of Alcohol and Drug Programs
-
California
DUI: A Drunk Driving Law Guide
- "Drunk
Driving Battle Gains; California's alcohol-related fatality rate is near
the bottom among states, study says, after one
of the biggest 20-yeardeclines." Los Angeles Times,
December 19, 2002, Part 2 page 1.
For full text, search
Los Angeles Times by Article Title.
-
RAND
California: Drug and Alcohol Abuse Statistics
[subscription database]
-
State Traffic Safety
Information [for all 50 states,
alcohol involvement in fatal crashes]
- Traffic Safety Facts: State Alcohol Estimates
CATALOG RECORD &
INTERNET LINK
- CSU policy: "CSU
Prohibits Alcoholic Beverages at Campus Athletic Events," January 12,
2006.
- CSU policy:
Executive Order 966:
Alcoholic Beverage Sales and Advertising Policy, December 23, 2005.
- CSU--statistics on
alcohol consumption:
Curbing Student Alcohol Abuse (2003)
- CSUF policy: "Titan
Fans Lose Booze," Daily Titan, February 6, 2006.
- CSUF policy:
President's Directive No. 1:
University
Policy Regarding the Possession, Manufacturing, Sale, Furnishing Without
Charge, and Consumption of Alcoholic Beverages and Other Drugs in a
University Workplace or Residence Facility
- CSUF policy:
President's
Direction No. 7:
University
Policy Regarding the Marketing of Alcoholic Beverages on Campus
CSUF Policy:
University Policy Statement 330.231: Policy Regarding the Illegal Use of
Drugs by Student PDF-3 pages
- CSUF policy:
Policy on the
Use of Alcoholic and Malt Beverages by Students and By Student
Organizations
PDF-2
pages
- Los Angeles Times article:
"Cal
State OKs Assault on Student Drinking: Education: The 23 campuses will
offer treatment programs, advisory boards and ad campaigns."
Los
Angeles Times, July 12, 2001, Home Edition, Part 2, page 11.
For full text, search
Los Angeles Times by Article Title.
- Recent reports:
College Drinking:
Changing the Culture [NIAAA]
- "Drinking on Campus,"
CQ Researcher, Aug. 18, 2006
[CSUF only]
- Statistics:
Just the Facts
- Binge drinking:
Binge
Alcohol Use among Persons Aged 12 to 20: 2002 and 2003 Update (2005)
- Underage Drinking:
Reducing Underage
Drinking: A Collective Responsibility (2003)
- College Alcohol Study
(links to recent studies and articles) [Harvard] (2003) - links to
recent studies and articles
-
A Call To Action: Changing the Culture of Drinking at U.S. Colleges
(2002)
- College Drinking:
Changing the Culture (2002) [NIAAA]
-
Task Force on College Drinking Reports (2002) [NIAAA] - Links to
several recent reports including:
- Binge Drinking on
America's College Campuses (2001)
PDF-15 pages

- Alcohol And Other Drug
Prevention: A Bulletin for Fraternity and Sorority Advisors
CATALOG RECORD
- Alcohol Practices,
Policies, and Potentials of American Colleges and Universities: An OSAP
White Paper CATALOG RECORD
- Catalyst [periodical on
college students and alcohol use]
ONLINE |
CATALOG RECORD
- College Alcohol Risk
Assessment Guide
CATALOG RECORD
- "Drinking on Campus,"
CQ Researcher, March 20, 1998 [REFERENCE H35 E35]
- Making the Link: Faculty
and Prevention CATALOG
RECORD
-
Prevention of Alcohol-Related Problems Among College Students
[NIH]
(1998)
- Preventing
Alcohol-Related Problems on Campus [multiple titles]
CATALOG RECORD
- Setting and Improving
Policies for Reducing Alcohol & Other Drug Problems on Campus
CATALOG RECORD
- Smoking, Drinking, and
Illicit Drug Use Among American Secondary School Students, College
Students, and Young Adults, 1975-1991
CATALOG RECORD
- Social Marketing
Strategies for Campus Prevention of Alcohol and Other Drug Problems
CATALOG RECORD
- A Social Norms Approach
to Preventing Binge Drinking at Colleges and Universities
CATALOG RECORD
- Wrongs of Passage:
Fraternities, Sororities, Hazing, and Binge Drinking
CATALOG RECORD
|