Articles
American Studies: A Pollak Library Research Guide
by Jie Tian, Reference Librarian American Studies Research Guide- Web Sites

Pollak Library | American Studies @ CSUF | Ask-A-Question | Research Tips

Home Articles Books Book Reviews Reference Citation Style E-Journals Web Sites AMST Courses


Find Articles in...
Indexes/Abstracts Databases Online
America: History and Life
Anthropology Plus
Humanities Abstracts
MLA Bibliography
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service)
Social Sciences Abstracts
Social Sciences Citation Index
Sociological Abstracts
Women's Studies International

Print Indexes in the Reference Collection
The Christian Science Monitor Index (1987-1994)
Reference     AI21 .C461 

Humanities Index (1974-1992) 
Reference     AI3 .R4912

International Index to Periodicals
(1907-1955)
Reference     AI3. R49

Los Angeles Times Index
(1972-Present)
Reference     AI21.L65 N492 

New York Times Index
(1851-1999)
Reference     AI21 .N44

Palmer's Index to the Times Newspaper
(1790-1941)
Reference     AI21 .T5

Poole's Index to Periodical Literature
(1802-1907)
Reference     AI3. P7     

Social Sciences Index 
(1974-1992)
Reference     AI3. R4911

Social Sciences & Humanities Index
(1965/66-1973/74)
Reference     AI3. R491

Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature
(1900-1994)
Reference     AI3. R4

The Official Index to the Times
(1941-1957)
Reference     AI21 .5

The Times Index
(1973-1999)
Reference     AI21. T5

The Wall Street Journal Index
(1957, 1961-1999)
Reference     AI21. W2

The Washington Post Index
(1972-1997)
Reference     AI21.W33 W3611
Electronic Journal Collections

History Cooperative (1990s-present)
Seven major history journals online.

JSTOR (First issue of all journals to the most recent 3 to 5 years)
Includes anthropology, ethnic studies, history, political science, sociology journals and more. Covers from the first issue up to the most recent three to five years.

SpringerLink Journals
Electronic Journals in education, psychology, and other fields dating back to 1995.

Nineteenth-Century Periodicals
Full-text articles from twenty three popular periodicals from a digitization project of Cornell University and the Library of Congress.  Please also see Nineteenth-Century Books.

Project Muse (Mostly from 1990s to present)
Includes cultural studies, literature, history, politics, and the arts. Coverage starts mostly in the 1990s.

Science Direct (Dates vary from 1940s to the present)
Includes arts, humanities, and social sciences journals.

Wiley Interscience (Dates vary from 1990s to the present)
Includes psychology, education, and economics journals.
Full-text/Selected full-text Databases

Academic Search Elite
Selective citations and full-text articles from magazines, newspapers, and journals in all academic disciplines.

Factiva (Dates vary)
Citations and articles from over 8,000 newspapers, magazines, and journals.

Ethnic NewsWatch (1990s-Present)
Full-text articles from ethnic newspapers and magazines. 

LexisNexis Academic (Dates vary from the 1980s to present)
Select News, Legal Research, Reference, or other sections as appropriate.  

Los Angeles Times (1985-present)
Full-text articles.

New York Times (1851-2001)
Full-text articles.

ProQuest Newspapers (Dates vary from 1960s to the present)
Includes national and regional newspapers online, including The Los Angeles Times, New York Times and Orange County Register.  

 

Prepared by Jie Tian: jtian@fullerton.edu
An instructional page of  Pollak Library at California State University, Fullerton.
(c)
2001 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved.
Last Updated:04/26/2007