Web Sites
American Studies: A Pollak Library Research Guide
by Jie Tian, Reference Librarian American Studies Research Guide- Web Sites

Pollak Library | American Studies @ CSUF | Ask-A-Question | Research Tips

Home Articles Books Book Reviews Reference Citation Style E-Journals Web Sites AMST Courses

How to Locate and Evaluate Web Information

Notable Web Resources on American Studies
Links to American Studies Resources on the Web   
An excellent collection of web resources selected and maintained by the American Studies Department, CSUF.

Repositories of Primary Sources 
A directory of primary sources by region and institution. 

AMDOCS--Documents for the Study of American History
A directory of primary documents on the web from 1492 to current via the University of Kansas.

Library Research Using Primary Sources
A research guide on finding primary sources created and maintained by librarians
at the University of California, Berkeley.

Selected Historical and Primary Sources
American History
American Memory
http://memory.loc.gov/

Documenting the American South 
http://docsouth.unc.edu/

History Text Archive 
http://historicaltextarchive.com/

Making of America Michigan University 
http://moa.umdl.umich.edu/

Making of American Cornell University 
http://moa.cit.cornell.edu/moa/

Margaret Sanger papers project 
http://www.nyu.edu/projects/sanger/

Nineteenth Century American Literary, Cultural, and Historical Studies Online Resources: http://www.wsu.edu/~amerstu/19th/19th.html

New Deal Network: http://newdeal.feri.org/

By the People, for the People: Posters from the WPA, 1936-1943 http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/wpaposters/wpahome.html

The United States in the Progressive Era: Guide to Resources http://www.swarthmore.edu/SocSci/rbannis1/Progs/index.html

The Literature and Culture of the American 1950s
http://www.writing.upenn.edu/~afilreis/50s/home.html

The Sixties Project
http://lists.village.virginia.edu/sixties/

The Psychdelic 60’s: Literary Tradition and Social Change
http://www.lib.virginia.edu/exhibits/sixties/

Re: Vietnam: http://www.pbs.org/pov/stories/

Religious Movements
http://religiousmovements.lib.virginia.edu/welcome/welcome.htm

Project Whistlestop
See Truman Presidential Museum & Library at:
http://www.trumanlibrary.org/

California
19th Century California Sheet Music
http://sims.berkeley.edu/~mkduggan/neh.html

Online Archive of California (http://sunsite2.berkeley.edu/oac/). Finding aids to major archival collections related to California.  Includes papers of major companies and organizations, e.g., Sierra Club, etc. (From http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/ENVI/cult.html#mageth)

“California as I Saw It”
http://www.perseus.tufts.edu/cgi-bin/perscoll?collection=AmMem-calbk

California Historical Agencies
http://coph.fullerton.edu/OChistoricalagencie.html 

California Historical Society   http://www.calhist.org/Support_Info/CHAs.htmld/                                                                                       

The California Heritage Collection
http://sunsite.berkeley.edu/CalHeritage/

American Women
Rosie Pictures: Selected Images Relating to American Women Workers During the Second World War II: http://lcweb.loc.gov/rr/print/126_rosi.html

Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1820-1940
http://www.binghamton.edu/womhist/

American Literature
A Literary History of the American West
http://www2.tcu.edu/depts/prs/amwest/

Digital Schomburg African American Women Writers of the 19th Century
http://digital.nypl.org/schomburg/writers_aa19/toc.html

Dime Novels and Penny Dreadfuls
http://www-sul.stanford.edu/depts/dp/pennies/home.html

Jack London Collection
http://sunsite.berkeley.edu/London/

Literature at SunSITE
http://sunsite.berkeley.edu/Collections/othertext.html

Mark Twain in His Times 
http://etext.virginia.edu/railton/index2.html

Mark Twain in the Atlantic Monthly
http://www.theatlantic.com/unbound/flashbks/twain.htm

Mark Twain on the Philippines
http://www.boondocksnet.com/twain/index.html

Mark Twain Papers & Project: http://library.berkeley.edu/BANC/MTP/ (A Bibliographic Tool)

Mark Twain with Jim Zwick
http://www.boondocksnet.com/twainwww/ (a site with 700+ links)

Women and Literature
http://www.ibiblio.org/cheryb/women/wlit.html (no longer updated)

American Music
Charles H. Templeton Sheet Music Collection 
http://library.msstate.edu/ragtime/

Built Environment/Architecture/Urban Planning
The Urban Landscape Digital Image Access Project
http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/diap/ (contributors of 14 collections in the country http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/diap/diap_info.html)

Ethnic America: African Americans
WPA’s American Slave Narratives
http://xroads.virginia.edu/~HYPER/wpa/wpahome.html

American Life Histories Manuscripts from the Federal Writers’ Project, 1936-1940:
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/wpaintro/wpahome.html Includes slave additional slave narratives not included in the Virginia Text Project

African American Odyssey 
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/aaohtml/aohome.html

African American Perspectives: Pamphlets from the Daniel A. P. Murray Collection, 1818-1907
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/aap/aaphome.html

The African-American Experience in Ohio: Selections from the Ohio Historical Society
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/award97/ohshtml/aaeohome.html

African-American Sheet Music, 1850-1920: Selected from the Collections of Brown University
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/award97/rpbhtml/aasmhome.html

From Slavery to Freedom: The African-American Pamphlet Collection 1824-1909
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/aapchtml/

The Freedman and Southern Society Project
http://www.inform.umd.edu/EdRes/Colleges/ARHU/Depts/History/Freedman/home.html

Martin Luther King Jr. Papers Project
http://www.stanford.edu/group/King/

Humanities
Humanities Text Initiative
http://www.hti.umich.edu (American Verse Project; The Collected Works of Abraham Lincoln; Garden and Forest; links to Making of America)

Images/Photographs
AdAccess
http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/adaccess/

Emergence of Advertising
http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/eaa/

American Political Prints 1776-1886
http://loc.harpweek.com/

Pictorial Highlights from UC Berkeley Archival Collections
http://sunsite.berkeley.edu/FindingAids/highlights.html

Digital Video/Films
http://www.vide.net/conferences/

Theodore Roosevelt: His Life and Times on Film
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/trfhtml/trfhome.html

Oral History
Getting the Word Oral History Project
http://www.monticello.org/gettingword/

In the First Person [CSUF only]

Oral History Online
http://alexanderstreet6.com/orhi/

Regional Oral History Online
http://bancroft.berkeley.edu/ROHO/resources/ohlinks.html

Regional/State/Local Resources
Cleveland Digital Library 
http://web.ulib.csuohio.edu/SpecColl/cdl/

A Selective Listings of Digital Collections

American Memory at the Library of Congress
http://memory.loc.gov/

Bartleby Library
http://www.bartleby.com/

Duke University Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library
http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/ (advertising, image, photograph, African American women, Civil War Women, Documents from the Women’s Liberation Movement 1969-1974, the Urban landscape, online exhibits)

Electronic Text Center at the University of Virginia
http://etext.lib.virginia.edu/

The New York Public Library Digital Collections
http://digital.nypl.org/

Project Guttenberg
http://promo.net/pg/

Special Collections at the Library of Congress: A Selective Guide
http://www.loc.gov/rr/research-centers.html (bibliographic guide as an example to increase understanding of the resources available)

SunSITE Digital Collections
http://sunsite.berkeley.edu/Collections/

University of Michigan Humanities Text Initiative
http://www.hti.umich.edu/

Web Site Evaluations
Evaluating Web Resources
Provides links to more resources on how to evaluate web resources.

 

 
Prepared by Jie Tian: jtian@fullerton.edu
An instructional page of  Pollak Library at California State University, Fullerton.
(c)
2001 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved.
Last Updated:04/26/2007