Articles
Anthropology: A Pollak Library Research Guide

 

Home Books Articles Journals Reference Biography HRAF Websites Grants Evaluation


Articles (Current)

Periodical  Articles Articles usually provide the most current and detailed information on your topic. Articles appear in periodicals, magazines, journals, and newspapers. Magazine articles are useful for brief, general, introductory information. Journal articles from scholarly or professional journals provide more scholarly or technical information. These articles are usually written by scholars in a particular field. Newspaper articles are good sources for current, general information.
To find references to current periodical articles, first consult one or more of the electronic periodical indexes listed below. The index(es) will provide citations on your topic, listing the following: author of article, title, journal in which the article appeared, volume and/or number, date, page numbers, and often an abstract (summary) of the article.

Write down, print out, or download the citation(s). Check the Pollak Library Catalog to determine if we have the journal. Check the dates we own, and write down the call number (where the periodical is located on the second floor). Some full-text journals may be available electronically.

Electronic Information Resources

(Full text and periodical indexes)

Subject Scope
History America History and Life Top of page                       
bulletCovers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
bulletContains citations from historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals.
bulletContains citations from journals in the social sciences and humanities.
bulletContains citations of book and media reviews from a selection of over one hundred key journals in US and Canadian history and related fields.
bulletSome anthropology journals indexed by America History and Life include Africa, American Anthropologist, American Antiquity, Cultural Anthropology, Current Anthropology, Ethnology, Ethnos, Human Organization, Journal of American Folklore, Journal of Anthropological Research, and Man in India.
Anthropology Annual Reviews Top of page

 

Biological Anthropology
Cultural Anthropology
Demography
Human Ecology
Primatology
Anthropology Plus Top of page
bulletJournal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries published in over 2500 journals and edited works in English and other European languages from the late 19th century to the present.
bulletAnthropology, including social, cultural, physical, biological, medical, linguistic, applied, political, and visual anthropology; ethnography, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, human ecology, museum studies, material culture, and primatology.
bulletJournals indexed include: Africa, American Anthropologist, American Antiquity, American Ethnologist, American Journal of Physical Anthropology, Annual Review of Anthropology, Anthropological Linguistics, Anthropological Quarterly, Anthropos, Archaeology, Cultural Anthropology, Current Anthropology, Ethnology, Ethnos, Human Organization, Journal of Anthropological Research, Journal of the Royal Anthropological Institute, Man, Man in India, and Oceania.
  Academic Search Elite  Top of page
bulletProvides indexing and abstracting for scholarly and general interest journals.
bulletCovers a wide variety of disciplines.
bulletIt offers full text coverage for about half of its titles.
Cultural Anthropology HRAF Collection of Ethnography Top of page
bulletCultural anthropology including human behavior, society, culture and health sciences. 370+ cultural, ethnic, religious, and national groups around the world.
bulletBooks, articles, dissertations and field reports.
Archaeology HRAF Collection of Archaeology  Top of page
bulletArchaeological traditions from all parts of the world, including prehistoric life and cultural sequences. Traditions cover at least 100,000 sq. km. in area and exist for 5 centuries or more.
bulletBooks, manuscripts, and articles with illustrations, figures and tables.
Archaeology
Journalism
Philosophy
Art
Linguistics
Religion
Classics
Music
World History
Film
Performing Arts
World Literature
Folklore
Humanities Abstracts. 1983-  Top of page
bulletIndexes and abstracts more than 300 key humanities publications.
bulletIt indexes feature articles, book reviews, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction (including dramas and poems), and reviews of plays, operas, ballets, dance, musicals, movies, and television and radio programs.
bulletIt excludes editorials, letters to the editor, news, ephemeral announcements, cartoons, and advertising.
bulletIf the record says: Ownership: FirstSearch indicates your library owns this item or magazine, look up the journal title call number in the library catalog.
Linguistics
Language Behavior
LLBA: Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts. 1973-  Top of page
bulletMaterials covered: monographs, recent books, technical reports, occasional papers, enhanced dissertation listings from Dissertation Abstracts International, and bibliographic citations for book reviews.
Primatology PrimateLit Top of page
bulletIndexes the scientific literature on nonhuman primates for the research and educational communities, 1940-present.
bulletSite also includes Current Primate References (last 6 months) and Books Received (last 6 months). 
bullet Indexes articles, books, abstracts, technical reports, dissertations, book chapters are indexed. 
bulletFreely available Internet resource.
Anthropology
International Relations
Psychiatry
Business
Law and Criminology
Psychology
Community Health
Medical Care
Public Welfare
Economics
Political Science
Social Work
Foreign Affairs
Politics
Sociology
Geography
Social Sciences Abstracts. 1983-  Top of page
bulletIndexes feature articles, biographical sketches, interviews, obituaries, scholarly replies, and book reviews longer than one-half page; book reviews of government documents and letters to the editor are not included.

 

Print Indexes

bulletAbstracts in Anthropology. 1970 - (REF GN 1 A2)
bulletAnthropological Index to Current Periodicals in the Museum of Mankind Library 1977 - (REF GN 1 A7)
bulletAnthropological Literature (REF GN 1 A57) Available in Anthropology Plus in electronic form.
   
Created: 1999  Updated: 30 Apr 2007

Prepared by Susan Tschabrun: stschabrun@fullerton.edu  Originally created by Suellen Cox.
An instructional page of the Paulina June & George Pollak Library at California State University, Fullerton.
(c) 1999 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved.
Last Updated:11/17/2005