|
|
|
| Web Sites | Grants | Books |
AAUW
Educational Foundation Fellowships and Grants
Includes information on Scholar-in-Residence Awards, Career Development
Grants, Community Action Grants, international fellowships, and more. Online
application form is available.
American
Museum of Natural History Grants and Fellowships
The AMNH offers grants and fellowships in the areas of anthropology,
vertebrate zoology, invertebrate zoology, paleozoology, and earth and planetary
sciences. Online application information is available.
EarthWatch Institute
Earthwatch, one of the largest private
funders of scientific field research, supports research projects that address
the world's pressing environmental issues. Their Research page explains their
focus on awarding grants for the current year.
Foundation
Center
Includes basic information about foundations within the universe of
more than 50,000 private and community foundations in the U.S. Also provides a
guide to funding research, as well as an online short course in proposal
writing. The Foundation Center’s site also has links to Web sites at private
foundations, corporate giving programs, community foundations, and public
charities.
L.S.B. Leakey Foundation
The Leakey Foundation site provides information on general and special
research grants involving environments, archeology, and human paleontology of
the Miocene, Pliocene, and Pleistocene; into the behavior, morphology, and
ecology of the great apes and other primate species; and into the behavioral
ecology of contemporary hunter gatherers. Advanced doctoral students as
well as established scientists, are eligible for general research grants.
Undergraduate college students are not eligible.
National
Science Foundation
The NSF site provides grant information for the fields of archaeology,
cultural anthropology, linguistics, physical anthropology and more. Specifies
senior and dissertation research support available.
Smithsonian
Institution Department of Anthropology
Provides information on internships and fellowships available through
the Smithsonian, and more.
Wenner-Gren Foundation for Anthropological
Research, Incorporated.
This is a private operating foundation whose sphere of interest is the
support of research in all branches of anthropology, including cultural/social
anthropology, ethnology, biological/physical anthropology, archaeology, and
anthropological linguistics, and closely related disciplines concerned with
human origins, development, and variation.The site provides descriptions and
application guidelines for the following programs: small grants, conference and
symposiums, developing countries training fellowships, historical archives, and
international collaborative research.
![]()
Annual
Register of Grant Support
Reference AS911.A2 A67 1999
Provides grant information on programs sponsored by government
agencies, foundations, educational and professional associations, corporations,
and specialized organizations. Arranged by subject, organization and program,
geographic and personnel.
Awards,
Honors, and Prizes
Reference AS8 .A93 1997
Directory of awards and their donors. Extensive subject index,
including entries for anthorpology, archaeology.
College Blue
Book: Scholarships, Fellowships, Grants, and Loans
Reference L901.C685A 1997
Provides information on funding opportunites, mainly
from private sources. Arranged by broad subject areas, followed by four
comprehensive indexes: Subject, Level of Education, Sponsoring Organization, and
Title of Awards.
The Foundation
Center's Guide to Proposal Writing
Reference HG177.5.U6 G44 1997
Includes information on researching potential funders, developing,
writing, and packaging the proposal, suggestions from funding organizations, and
sample proposals.
Foundation
Grants to Individuals
Reference LB2336 .F598 1993
Provides information on research grants, scholarships, fellowships,
internships, and loans available to individual applicants.
Graduate
Student's Complete Scholarship Book
Reference LB2338 .G685 1998
Lists over 1100 sources of non-government financial aid. Includes
awards for master's, doctoral, postdoctoral, and professional degrees.
The Grants
Register
Reference LB2338 .G7 2000
Lists scholarships and fellowships at all levels of graduate study from
regional, national, and international sources. Also includes research grants,
travel grants, project grants, and more.
Proposal
Planning and Writing
Reference HG177.5.U6 M56 1998
Provides information on finding and developing proposals for public and
private funds. Useful chapters on writing clear objectives, medthods, budgets,
and abstracts.
The
Scholarship Book
Reference LB2337.2 .C37 2000
A comprehensive guide to private-sector scholarships, grants and loans
for undergraduates.
Secrets of
Successful Grantsmanship : A Guerrilla Guide to Raising Money
Reference HG177 .G65 1997
Includes sections on conducting effective prospect research, preparing
and submitting grant proposals, and more.
Yale Daily
News Guide to Fellowships and Grants
Reference LB2337.2 .Y34 1999
Provides practical information about the application process including
the written proposal and interviewing. Arranged by broad headings,
includes entries for anthropology, archaeology.
Applying for
Research Funding. Ries, Joanne
B. Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications, 1995.
Books HG177 .R53 1995
Provides information on research grants, grants-in-aid, and proposal writing.
Designing
Successful Grant Proposals. Orlich, Donald C. Alexandria,
Va. : Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development, 1996.
Books LB2342 .O75 1996
Provides information on monitoring funding sources, establishing needs, elements
of the proposal, calculating a budget, management and evaluation, and preparing
and submitting the proposal.
Funding For Anthropological Research.
Karen Cantrell and Denise Wallen, ed. Phoenix, AZ : Oryx Press,
1986.
Books GN42 .C36 1986
Provides information on a variety of funding programs including
fellowships, grants, scholarships, and loans available from government agencies,
private and corporate foundations, associations and professional organizations,
institutes, museums, and libraries.
The Research
Funding Guidebook. Joanne B. Ries, Carl G. Leukefeld.
Thousand Oaks : Sage Publications, 1998.
Books HG177 .R533 1998
Provides information on writing the proposal, getting the grant, and
manageing and renewing it.
|
Prepared by Susan Tschabrun:
stschabrun@fullerton.edu
Originally created by Suellen Cox. |