|
| |
Reference Sources
|
 |
Reference
sources can be useful for exploring a topic. Sources such as encyclopedias
and dictionaries can provide broad overviews, theories, and define terms
and concepts. Encyclopedias and dictionaries can be very general
(Encyclopedia Britannica), or very specific (The Encyclopedia of
Bioethics).
Other useful reference sources include almanacs, atlases, directories,
guidebooks, handbooks, and bibliographies. |
|
| The
sources listed below are located in the Reference section of the CSUF
Library. |
 | Anthropological Glossary (REF
GN11 P43) |
Defines approximately 4,500 terms used in
cultural and physical anthropology, archaeology, and linguistics, including
ethnic groups, archaeological sites, and geographical names.
 | Companion
Encyclopedia of Anthropology (REF GN25.C65) |
Provides a comprehensive survey
of
contemporary thinking in biological,
social
and cultural anthropology.
 | Companion
Encyclopedia of Archaeology (REF CC70.C59 1999)
Provides a
comprehensive survey of archaeology including origins, aims,
methods, themes, and
approaches. |
 | Dictionary
of Anthropology (REF GN11 D48) |
 | Provides basic descriptions of terms,
concepts, and persons. |
 | Dictionary
of Concepts in Cultural Anthropology (REF GN307 W56) |
 | Provides brief, substantive discussions of
the etymological development and contemporary use of significant concepts in
cultural anthropology. |
 | Dictionary
of Concepts in Physical Anthropology (REF GN50.3 S74) |
 | Provides brief, substantive discussions of
the etymological development and contemporary use of significant concepts in
physical anthropology. |
 |
Encyclopedia
Britannica |
 | Provides general and some biographical
information. |
 | Encyclopedia
of Anthropology (REF GN11) |
 | Provides informative descriptions of terms,
concepts, and persons in the four divisions of anthropology: physical
anthropology, archaeology, linguistics, and cultural anthropology. |
 | Encyclopedia
of Cultural Anthropology (REF GN307 E52) |
 | Volumes 1-4 provide background on the field
of cultural anthropology and related fields including linguistics,
archaeology, biological and applied anthropology. |
 | Encyclopedia
of Human Evolution and Prehistory (REF GN281 E53 2000) |
 | Brief paragraphs and longer essays covering
human (i.e. primate) evolution. Includes photographs, charts, diagrams,
drawings, and maps. |
 | Encyclopedia
of World Cultures (REF GN307 E53) |
 | Provides descriptive summaries of the modern
cultures of North America, Oceania, South Asia, Europe, East and Southeast
Asia, Russia and China, and South America. |
 | Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican
Cultures (REF F1218.6.095) |
 | Pocket
Guide to Cultural Assessment (REF RT86.54. G45) 1998 |
 | Arranged alphabetically by country, this
source provides basic country and health related information including
endemic diseases, death rites, infant feeding practices, required
immunizations, reactions to pain, dominance patterns, medical practices and
attitudes toward medicine. Each country listing is followed by a
bibliography. |
 | Worldmark
Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life (GN333 .W67) 1998 |
 | Provides information on 500 cultures of the
world, covering twenty different areas of daily life including clothing,
food, language, and religion. |
|