|






| |
Articles (Current)
 |
Articles usually provide the most current and detailed information on
your topic. Articles appear in periodicals, magazines, journals, and
newspapers.
Magazine articles are useful for brief, general, introductory information.
Journal articles from scholarly or professional journals provide more
scholarly or technical information. These articles are usually written by
scholars in a particular field. Newspaper articles are good sources for
current, general information. |
| To find references to current periodical articles, first
consult one or more of the electronic periodical indexes listed below. The
index(es) will provide citations on your topic, listing the following:
author of article, title, journal in which the article appeared, volume
and/or number, date, page numbers, and often an abstract (summary) of the
article.
Write down, print out, or download the citation(s). The index may NOT
indicate whether CSUF Library owns the article or articles listed. Usually,
you MUST check the CSUF
Library Catalog
to determine if we subscribe to the journal and to get the call number
(where the periodical is located on the second floor). Some full-text
journals may be available electronically. |
Electronic Periodical Indexes
Consult the following CD-ROM databases or online services to identify
citations to articles, dissertations, research, etc.
on specific topics in the field of art.
|
Subject |
Scope |
Astronomy
Communications
Current Events
General Sciences
History
Humanities
Law
Psychology
Religion
Sociology |
Academic Search Elite
 | Provides indexing and abstracting for more than
1550 scholarly and general interest journals, plus The New York Times. |
 | It offers full text or full image coverage of more than 900 titles. |
 | Available on
CSUF
campus or remotely through the
Student Portal. |
|
Art History
Art Criticism
Art Theory
Body Art
Crafts
Design
Drawing
Electronic Art
Fine Arts
Graphic Arts
Illustration
Modern Art
Painting
Performance Art
Photography
Printmaking
Sculpture
Video Art
|
ARTBibliographies Modern. 1974-
 | Includes abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition
catalogs, dissertations and exhibition reviews |
 | You can search for the work of a specific artist or artists' group, a
theme, trend, or artistic movement. |
 | Includes artists and movements beginning with Impressionism in the
late 19th century, up to the most recent works and trends in the late
twentieth century. |
 | Photography is covered from its invention in 1839 to the present. |
 | New and lesser-known artists and foreign-language literature covered. |
 | Some art journals indexed by ARTBibliographies Modern and owned by
CSUF include: Afterimage, American Artist, American Craft, Aperture,
Apollo, Architectural Record, Art Bulletin, Art History, Art in America,
Art Issues, Art Journal, Artforum, ARTnews, Arts of Asia, Burlington
Magazine, Ceramics Monthly, Contemporary Impressions, Design Issues,
Design Quarterly, Emigre, Exposure, Fiberarts, Flash Art, Heresies, High
Performance, Image, Interior Design, Journal of the Warburg and
Courtauld Institutes, Landscape Architecture, Latin American Art,
Metropolitan Museum of Art Bulletin, Museum News, New Art Examiner, Print,
Print Quarterly, Progressive Architecture, Studio Potter, and
Woman's Art Journal. |
 | Available on
CSUF
campus or remotely through the
Student Portal. |
|
Archaeology
Architecture
Art History
City Planning
Crafts
Film
Folk Art
Graphic Arts
Industrial Design
Interior Design
Landscape Architecture Museology
Painting
Photography
Sculpture
Television
Textiles
Video |
Art Abstracts. 1984-
 | Indexes and abstracts more than 200 key, international arts
publications and provides accurate, up-to-date coverage of this
multi-faceted, interdisciplinary field. |
 | Includes periodicals, yearbooks, museum bulletins, competition and
award notices,
exhibition listings, interviews, film reviews, and more. |
 | Covers September 1984 to the present with abstracts starting in Spring
1994. |
 | Adds new records monthly. |
|
| Art Images |
ARTstor
 | The ARTSTOR Library's initial
content includes approximately 300,000 images covering world art, visual
art, architecture, and archeology. |
 | You can view and analyze images
through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images
online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering
presentations both online and offline. |
 | Available on
CSUF
campus or remotely through the
Student Portal. |
|
| All areas of art |
Dissertation Abstracts Online
 | Covers dissertations accepted at accredited U.S. institutions since
1861. |
 | Selectively covers masters theses, Canadian dissertations, and British
and other European
dissertations. |
 | Covers 1861 to the present; includes abstracts for doctoral
dissertations beginning July 1980 and for
masters theses beginning spring 1988. |
 | Adds new records monthly. |
 | Available on
CSUF
campus or remotely through the
Student Portal. |
|
| All areas of art
pertaining to education |
ERIC (EBSCO)
 | Pollak Library owns all records with ED numbers. They are located in Periodicals,
2nd floor North, on microfiche. |
 | To check for holdings on records with EJ numbers, at the Library home
page click on
Find Journals by Title or search the
Library Catalog for the journal title. |
 | Available on
CSUF
campus or remotely through the
Student Portal. |
|
| All aspects of
art |
Grove Art
 | Covers all aspects of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the
1990s. |
 | Provides instant access to 30,000 fully searchable color images. |
 | Boolean, concept, pattern and expert searching
options are available. |
 | Available on
CSUF
campus or remotely through the
Student Portal. |
|
Archaeology
Art
Classics
Film
Folklore
Journalism
Linguistics
Music
Performing
Philosophy
Religion
World History
World Literature
|
Humanities Abstracts
 | Indexes and abstracts more than 300 key humanities publications. |
 | It indexes feature articles, book reviews, interviews, obituaries,
bibliographies, original works of fiction (including dramas and poems),
and reviews of plays, operas, ballets, dance, musicals, movies, and
television and radio programs. |
 | Excludes editorials, letters to the editor, news, ephemeral
announcements, cartoons, and
advertising. |
 | Each record contains a bibliographic citation for an article, book
review, or other item in a journal and
library holdings for the journal title. |
 | Covers January 1984 to the present with abstracts starting in March
1994. |
 | Available on
CSUF
campus or remotely through the
Student Portal. |
|
| All topics,
including reviews. |
LexisNexis Academic
 | Full-text online news, exhibition reviews, and articles. |
 | Updated daily. |
 | Some art journals and newspapers indexed by LexisNexis include:
American Artist, Art in America, Ceramics Monthly, Design Quarterly,
Interior Design, Los Angeles Times, and New York Times. |
 | Available on
CSUF
campus or remotely through the
Student Portal. |
|
Anthropology
Business
Community Health
Economics
Foreign Affairs
Geography
International Relations
Law
Medical Care
Political Science
Politics
Psychiatry
Psychology
Public Welfare
Social Work
Sociology |
Social Sciences Abstracts. 1983-
 | Indexes and abstracts more than 350 key international,
English-language periodicals in the social sciences. |
 | Its records describe feature articles, biographical sketches,
interviews, obituaries, scholarly replies,
and book reviews longer than one-half page; book reviews of government
documents and letters to the editor are not included. |
 | Each record contains a bibliographic citation and library holdings for
the journal. |
 | Available on
CSUF
campus or remotely through the
Student Portal. |
|
| Art &
Architecture |
Oxford Reference Online
 | Online access to Art Reference
Collection. |
 | Available on
CSUF
campus or remotely through the
Student Portal. |
|
Articles (Older)
 |
Consult the following Indexes And Abstracts To Periodical Literature
to identify older articles in scholarly journals.
Indexes and Abstracts (Ind/Ab) are located in the Reference Area.
Periodicals (print and microform), are located on the 2nd floor of Library
North. |
PRINT RESOURCES
| Ref N1 A75 |
Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts. 1981- |
| Ref N1 A78 |
Art Index. 1929- |
| Ref N1 A71 |
ARTBibliiographies Modern, 1969- |
|