Reference
Art: A Pollak Library Research Guide
Suellen Cox
Library Instruction Coordinator

Home
Books
Articles
Journals
Reference
Sites
Evaluation


Reference Sources

To define terms, concepts, and theories, and for broad overviews and other background information, consult the following sources located in the Reference area on the first floor of Library North.
Ref. N6538 .N5 O86 African Americans in the Visual Arts. 2003
Ref. N50 A54 American Art Directory. 2003-2004
Ref. N6512 .A578 American Artists: An Illustrated Survey of Leading American Artists. 1985
Ref. E59 .P42 S3613 The Ancient Americans: a reference guide to the art, culture, and history of pre-Columbian North and South America. 2001
Ref. N6502.5 .C657 Artists from Latin American Cultures: a Biographical Dictionary. 2002
Ref. N8600 .G69 Artist's Resource Handbook. 1996
Ref. N8600 A6 Artist's Market. 1979 -
Ref. NX620 .S678 Artsguide: World and Web. 2004
Ref. G1046 .E1 O9 Atlas of World Art. 2004
Online The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists. 2003
Ref. N6490 .C6567 Contemporary Artists. 2002
Ref. N6538.M4 C664 Contemporary Chicana and Chicano Art. 2002
Ref. N31 D5 Dictionary of Art. 1996
Ref. N33 M36 Dictionary of Art Terms and Techniques. 1969
Ref. NX456.K67 Dictionary of the Avant-Gardes. 2000
Ref. NK805 .E6 Encyclopedia of American Folk Art. 2004
Ref. N7560.E53 Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography. 1998
Ref. ND 1288 D3 Encyclopedia of Themes and Subjects in Painting. 1971
Ref. N 31 E5 Encyclopedia of World Art. 17 Volumes. 1959-87
Ref. N8350.G73 The Fine Artist's Career Guide. 2004
Ref. N8600.V57 The Fine Artist's Guide to Marketing and Self-Promotion. 1996
Ref. N31 .D5 Grove Dictionary of Art. 34 Volumes  1996
Available in print and electronically
Ref. N6490 O95 The Oxford Companion to Twentieth-Century Art. 1981
Ref. N33 .O923 The Oxford Companion to Western Art. 2001
 The Oxford Companion to Western Art. 2004 (Online)
Ref. N33 .O93 The Oxford Dictionary of Art. 1988                  
The Oxford Dictionary of Art. 2004 (Online)
Ref.N40.S78 St. James Guide to Black Artists. 1997

Ref.E98.A7.S78 St. James Guide to Native North American Artists. 1998
Ref. NC997 .L54 The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Graphic Design and Designers. 2003
Online Timeline of Art History
Ref. N 40 W6 Who’s Who in Art. 31st edition.
Ref. N8354 .W657 Women Artists of the American West. 2003

Prepared by Suellen Cox: scox@fullerton.edu
An instructional page of the Paulina June & George Pollak Library at California State University, Fullerton.
(c) 1999 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved.
Last Updated:04/12/2005