Articles
A Pollak Library Research Guide for Asian American Studies
Jie Tian, Reference Librarian

Home

Library Library Catalog Databases


Articles play a  predominant role in disseminating scholarly information. Articles are published in newspapers, scholarly journals, magazines, newsletters, and etc.  Current articles communicate the most recent research and studies in a field.  Articles occur in popular or scholarly sources. Your professor might require that you use both popular sources and scholarly journals.  The Pollak Library's collection offers both popular and scholarly journals, indexes/ abstracts databases, as well as electronic journals and full-text databases  that would be helpful for  your research. 

Mauvearrow.GIF (927 bytes) Indexes/Abstracts Databases
Provide citations to articles published primarily in scholarly journals, but may include articles from magazines and newspapers as well.  
America: History and Life
Art Abstracts
Bibliography of Asian Studies 
ERIC (EBSCO)
Historical Abstracts
Humanities Abstracts
MLA Bibliography
International Index to Music Periodicals
PAIS International
PsychINFO
RAND California
Social Sciences Abstracts
Social Sciences Citation Index
Sociological Abstracts
Women's Studies International

Mauvearrow.GIF (927 bytes)Electronic Journal Collections
Provide the complete text of articles online from scholarly journals.
bullet History Cooperative
bullet JSTOR
bullet SpringerLink Journals
bullet Project Muse
bullet Science Direct
bullet Wiley Interscience

Mauvearrow.GIF (927 bytes)Full-text/Selected Full-text Databases
Provide a mix of article citations and articles online from both popular and scholarly sources.
bullet Ethnic NewsWatch
bullet Academic Search Elite
bullet Education  Full Text (Wilson)
bullet Education: A Sage Full Text Collection
bullet Factiva
bullet LexisNexis Academic
bullet International Index to Music Periodicals
bullet Literature Resource Center
bullet ProQuest Newspapers

 

Prepared by Jie Tian: jtian@fullerton.edu
An administrative page of the Paulina June & George Pollak Library at California State University, Fullerton.
(c) 1999 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved.
Last Updated: 27 Apr 2007