Encyclopedias & Reference ▲
- Online: Gale Virtual Reference Library [CSUF only]
- Asian Americans: A Statistical Sourcebook (2006)
- The Diverse Face of Asians and Pacific Islanders in Orange County (2005) | CATALOG RECORD
- The Diverse Face of Asians and Pacific Islanders in California (2005) | CATALOG RECORD
- Asian Databook: Detailed Statistics and Rankings on the Asian and Pacific Islander Population including 27 Ethnic Backgrounds from Bangladeshi to Vietnamese for 1,883 U.S. Counties and Cities (2005)
- Encyclopedia of Race and Ethnic Studies (2004)
- Racial and Ethnic Diversity: Asians, Blacks, Hispanics, Native Americans, and Whites (2002)
- Encyclopedia of Japanese Descendants in the America: An Illustrated History of the Nikkei (2002)
- American MarketPlace: Demographics and Spending Patterns [biennial]
- Atlas of Asian-American History (2002)
- Encyclopedia of Minorities in American Politics (2000)
- Distinguished Asian Americans: A Biographical Dictionary (1999)
- Reference Library of Asian America (1996)
- Asian American Encyclopedia (1995)
Statistics ▲
- Recent statistics: Asian American Month: 2009 | 2008 | 2007| 2006
- Recent statistics: Minority Population Tops 100 Million (May 2007)
- Recent statistics: American Community--Asians: 2004 (2007)
- Asian & Pacific Islander Populations--Asian Alone and in Combination
- The Diverse Face of Asians and Pacific Islanders in California (2005)
- The Diverse Face of Asians and Pacific Islanders in Orange County (2005)
- The Diverse Face of Asians and Pacific Islanders in Los Angeles County (2004)
- The Diverse Face of Asians and Pacific Islanders in San Diego County (2005)
- We the People: Pacific Islanders in the United States (2005)
- Hispanic and Asian Americans Increasing Faster than Overall Population (2004)
- Census 2000: For Asian American population in any city, county, state,
or congressional district:
Demographic Profiles Census 2000
Note: For a congressional district, select California and then type just the
number of the district in the next box: example: 40 - Census 2000: Asian Population: 2000 (2002) - includes map with demographic data
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
HTML |
CATALOG RECORD
Note: In online edition, click on PDF Version, then go to INDEX and search look under Asian and pacific Islander population and under Asian population. - Racial and Ethnic Diversity: Asians, Blacks, Hispanics, Native Americans, and Whites (1998)

Books ▲
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: asian americans
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: asian americans cultural assimilation
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: asian americans economic conditions
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: asian americans ethnic identity
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: asian americans history
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: asian americans legal status
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: asian americans social conditions
- Library Catalog SUBJECT: children of immigrants united states
Book of note:
Historic Documents and Primary Sources ▲
Library Catalog SUBJECT: asian americans--history--sources
Following are a few of the historical documents located in the Government Documents Section. For help finding more documents, ask for assistance at the Reference Desk.
- Chinese immigration: its social, moral, and political effect: report to the California State Senate of its Special Committee on Chinese Immigration (1898)
- Treaty, laws, and rules governing the admission of Chinese: Rules approved January 24, 1914 (1914)
- Japanese Evacuation from the West Coast 1942: Final Report (1943)
- The evacuated people: a quantitative description / United States Department of the Interior, War Relocation Authority (1946)
- Impounded people: Japanese-Americans in the relocation centers (1946)
- Wartime exile: the exclusion of the Japanese Americans from the West coast / United States Department of the Interior, War Relocation Authority (1946)
Articles ▲
To find articles, search the library's subscription databases.
- Databases--Statistics
- Databases--Pro & Con
- Databases--Scholarly Journals
- Databases--Newspapers
- Databases--Government Sources
Articles of note:
- "For generations of Chinese, it was a one-sided love affair" [PERSONAL NARRATIVE], Los Angeles Times, Dec 18, 2003
- "Asian Americans show large population growth: Census: National the group has increased 72% in a decate and now numbers 11.9 million." Los Angeles Times, March 4, 2002, part 2 page 1.
- "State's Asian population climbs 35%." Los Angeles Times, May 23, 2001, page A1.
Includes Orange County population by race (African American, Chinese, Filipino, Japanese, Korean, Vietnamese) and also top ten cities with Vietnamese population in O.C. - "Asian population in U.S. surges, but unevenly." Los Angeles Times, May 15, 2001.
California & Orange County ▲
California & Orange County--Statistics
- APALC: Demographic Research - recent reports
- Orange County Progress Report
- California Statistical Abstract
- The Diverse Face of Asians and Pacific Islanders in California (2005)
- The Diverse Face of Asians and Pacific Islanders in Orange County (2005)
- The Diverse Face of Asians and Pacific Islanders in Los Angeles County (2004)
- The Diverse Face of Asians and Pacific Islanders in San Diego County (2005)
- Census 2000: For Asian American population in any city, county, state,
or congressional district:
Demographic Profiles Census 2000
Note: For a congressional district, select California and then type just the
number of the district in the next box: example: 40
- "State's Asian population climbs 35%." Los Angeles Times, May 23, 2001, page A1.
Includes Orange County population by race (African American, Chinese, Filipino, Japanese, Korean, Vietnamese) and also top ten cities with Vietnamese population in O.C.
California & Orange County--General
Library Catalog KEYWORDS: asian americans and california
- Who's Your Neighbor? Residential Segregation and Diversity in California (2002)
- How Race, Ethnicity, and Immigration Shape the California Electorate (2002)
- At Home and in School: Racial and Ethnic Gaps in Educational Preparedness (2002)
- Finding Common Ground: Racial and Ethnic Attitudes in California (2001)
- A Portrait of Race and Ethnicity in California (2001)
- Asian and Latino Immigrants in a Restructuring Economy: The Metamorphosis of Southern California (2001)
- "At a Crossroads: Rising Numbers Bring Greater Influence--and Sometimes Greater Problems--for the State's Asian Americans." Los Angeles Times, Orange County ed., July 12, 1998, page A1.
