Cal State Fullerton Pollak Library

  School time

Curriculum Materials
Center (CMC)
of the AVCMC

School supplies  

Curricular materials

Children's books

Curricular materials


The Curriculum Materials Center (CMC) of the AVCMC houses materials which support CSUF's Teacher Education program.  These include curriculum guides, K-12 textbooks, juvenile books & magazines, educational tests, instructional media, and more.


CMC materials may be checked out by students of all majors.  Different items have different check-out periods, ranging from 2 hours to 4 weeks.  CMC materials should be returned to the AVCMC Service Desk, rather than the library's general Circulation Desk.

See below for detail on specific kinds of CMC items.

Book

15,000 Curriculum guides 

Curriculum guides in the CMC include: lesson plans, activity books, teaching handbooks, state frameworks, etc.  These are all practical resources to help teachers plan lessons and teach more effectively in the classroom. 

How Curriculum guides are arranged on the shelves:  Curriculum guides are grouped together on the shelves in typical K-12 subjects: reading, math, social studies, etc.  Each of these subject areas has a "call number".  For example, Algebra is QA 152.  To see a list of all the subject call numbers, click here.

How to search for Curriculum guides:  go to the library's online catalog. Limit your search to the CMC.  Then do a subject search (example Subject: Geography) or you may type in some random keywords in a keyword search (example Keywords: guide and classroom and management).

Check-out period:  4 weeks.

Books

14,000
K-12 textbooks 

The CMC attempts to keep samples of current K-12 textbooks being used in local school districts.  However, CSUF is not currently the county repository of state-adopted textbooks (the O.C. Department of Education in Santa Ana is), so the most current textbooks may not be available on our shelves. 

How K-12 Textbooks are arranged on the shelves:  Textbooks are grouped together on the shelves in typical K-12 subjects: reading, math, social studies, etc.  Each of these subject areas has a "call number"...for example, Algebra is QA 152.  To see a list of all the subject call numbers, click here.

How to search for K-12 Textbooks:  go to the library's online catalog. Limit your search to the CMC.  Then do a subject search (example Subject: Geography) or you may type in some random keywords in a keyword search (example Keywords: introduction and algebra).

Check-out period: 4 weeks.

Book
14,000
Juvenile books
& magazines

The CMC has a good sample collection of juvenile (childrens K-12) literature, including all Newbery, Caldecott, and Coretta Scott King award winners.  Many popular children's magazines, such as Highlights and Jack&Jill are also kept.  Note: because the juvenile collection's primary purpose is to assist prospective teachers in lesson planning, the collection is not as comprehensive as a public or school library.

How Juvenile books are arranged on the shelves:   Although many public and school libraries use the Dewey Decimal System to arrange children's books, that system is not used here.  Juvenile books use the same subject call numbers as in the rest of the library.  So, for example, a juvenile book on religions of the world would be in the BL550 area.  Fiction juvenile books are all in the PZ5-10 (literature) area, alphabetical by author.

How to search for Juvenile books::  go to the library's online catalog. Limit your search to the CMC.  Then do a title or author search if you know a title/author, or a keyword search for random words (example Keyword: alligator).  Doing a Subject search may work sometimes, but not always, since not all children's books--especially fiction--have an assigned subject in the library's online catalog.  As a help, the CMC has a special guide that lists all children's books by subject.  It is entitled A-to-Zoo and is located on the CMC Reference shelf.

Check-out period: 4 weeks

VideoCD

    5,000
     Instructional
     media items 

The CMC owns many formats of instruction media to assist in lesson preparation.  These include: filmstrips, slides, transparencies, charts, kits, games, videos, CD's, audiocassettes, records (vinyl LP's), etc.
NOTE:  these materials are different from those in the AV section of the AVCMC in that these are all geared toward K-12 lessons.  The AV section materials are more academic, for all majors.

How Instructional media is arranged on the shelves:  Instructional media is grouped together on shelves in typical K-12 subjects (reading, math, social studies, etc.) regardless of format.  So, for example, in the N85 call number area (Art), there will be charts, videos, kits, slides, etc....all on Art.  To see a list of all the subject call numbers, click here.  When you find an item, its call number label will look similar to this example:
Call Numbers

How to search for instructional media:  go to the library's online catalog. Limit your search to the CMC.  If you have no preference as to the type of item (i.e. don't care if its a video or slide or whatever), then simply do a subject search (example Subject: Music) or keyword search (example Keywords: world and geography).  If you want a specific type of item, do a keyword search and include your format type as a keyword (example Keywords: Aztecs and filmstrip).

Check-out period: 2 weeks (exception: Instruction media videos are 2 days).

Tests

400
Standardized Tests

The CMC houses a collection of many educational and psychological tests.  

Where Tests are located::  The test collection in not kept in the open shelves, but is located in file cabinets behind the AVCMC Service Desk.  It is a closed collection, not available for browsing.  This is due to the confidential nature of some of the tests, which are restricted to authorized faculty/students in participating classes.  Refer to Test File Guidelines for Use for details on usage.

How to search for Tests:  go to the library's online catalog. Limit your search to the CMC.  If you know the test name, type it in, as a Title search.  Unfortunately, there are no subjects assigned to tests in the online catalog, so you cannot search for tests by subject.  However, a separate "Test File Catalog" is kept in a binder at the AVCMC Service Desk, and it does list tests by subjects (using "Buros Subject categorization").

Check-out period: 2 hours or 2 days, depending on the test.

Children's books

500
CMC Reference books 

The CMC houses a small collection of Reference books. These are tools that help refer you to other things:  juvenile books, textbooks, publishers, media producers, etc.  Examples: A-to-Zoo, which refers you to children's picture books by subject; or Best Books for Children, which lists award-winning favorites.  

How CMC Reference books are arranged on the shelves:  These books are arranged by library subject call numbers, so all similar books are grouped together.  For example, directories of educational video vendors are all in LB1043.  PN59 contains all the reference books to children's literature.

How to search for CMC Reference books:  you can look up specific reference books by title in the online catalog. If you are visiting the CMC in person, the reference collection is small enough that you can find really valuable guides just by browsing.

Check-out period: CMC Reference books are for in-library use only.

microfiche

1000's of
Kraus resources, on microfiche & online 

Ever wonder if a lesson plan was ever created for teaching the California Gold Rush?  Ever wonder what kind of standards other states require for 7th grade mathematics?  How about what kinds of art classes and topics are commonly taught?  The Kraus collection can help!   The Kraus Curriculum Development Library collects lesson plans, district Courses of Study, and state Frameworks from all around the country, and puts them all onto microfiche and online.  We own both the past years collections, on microfiche, and the current online collection.

Where the Kraus collection is located:  the past years microfiche is next to the AVCMC service desk.  There is a reader-printer machine there, so you can print out Kraus items on paper.  The online collection, entitled kcdlonline, is located on the library's databases Web page (click here to link).

How to search for Kraus items:  For the past years microfiche, there is an annual subject catalog of Kraus items, in a binder, next to the collection.  For the online kcdlonline, you can search by subjects, keywords, titles, etc.  Some results will be abstracts only, others will be full-text in printable, PDF format (click here to link). 

Check-out period: Kraus microfiche are for in-library use only.

Door

PAC & DCLC Centers 

Two valuable centers, affiliated with CSUF's School of Education, are in the CMC:

The Professional Activities Center (PAC) - Room 403: this is a learning laboratory where Education students can come get hands-on guidance with Education faculty in evaluating the latest educational lessons, textbooks, activities, and more.  For a glimpse, click here.  The PAC is not open as many hours as the CMC, so check the posted hours outside the PAC's door.

The Donoghue Children's Literature Center (DCLC) - Room 415: this is a showcase center for the latest award-winning children's books.  The center is beautifully decorated as a children's reading room, and contains the most recent 2-years of best juvenile books.  For a glimpse, click here.   Books in the DCLC may not be checked out; however, duplicate copies in the juvenile shelves certainly can be.  Check the posted hours outside the DCLC's door for open hours.

 

Computer

Online lessons & resources 

Besides the physical collection in the CMC, there are many online resources that the CMC can refer you to:

Online lesson plans & resources

APA Testing & Assessment

AVCMC Test File Guidelines
Buros Classified Subject Index
Curriculum Frameworks & Instructional Resources (Calif. Dept. of Ed.)
Content Standards for K-12 schools (Calif. Dept. of Ed.)
Other states' K-12 standards (link: courtesy CSUN)
Education Sites
Educational Testing Service
ERIC/AE Test Locator 
ERIC FAQ 
ERIC & Other Databases of Interest to Teachers
ERIC Clearinghouse for Assessment & Evaluation

ERIC Clearinghouse on Elementary and Early Childhood Education
Information Literacy (links to K-12 lessons on I.L.)
Kid's Search Engines
Measures for psychological assessment : a guide to 3,000 original sources and their applications
National Parent Information Network
School Grants 
Standards for Educational and Psychological Testing