Biology: A Library Research Guide

Biology Main

Library Home
Library Catalog


Biology: Reference

Reference materials, kept on the first floor of Pollak Library, North Wing, consist of general and subject-specific dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, directories, etc. Many more resources with relevant information are available; this is only a selection.

UNDER CONSTRUCTION!  Last updated 01/17/06

Jump to: Dictionaries | Encyclopedias | Handbooks & Manuals | Research | Style Guides

Biography

Click here to see OPAC location Biographical dictionary of American and Canadian naturalists and environmentalists
A-to-Z listing of 445 environmentalists and ecologists active in North America from the beginning of the colonial period to 1997.   Entries include biographical information, positions held, career information, major contributions, and selective bibliography sources.
Click here to see OPAC location Biographical dictionary of scientists, biologists
A-to-Z listing of biologists, with biographical information and major contributions to biology.  Includes index of subjects, diseases, etc. with associated names.

Dictionaries

Click here to see OPAC location Dictionary of cell & molecular biology
Vocabulary of field of cell biology-- including the increasingly relevant area of molecular biology. Also includes compounds or substances. Entries are generally brief and explanatory.
Click here to see OPAC location Dictionary of ecology and the environment
Basic vocabulary related to ecology and the environment, encompassing pollution, climatology, farming practice, waste disposal and more.
Click here to see OPAC location Dictionary of ecology, evolution, and systematics
Brief definitions of terms of interest to those within the broad arena of biodiversity studies.  Encompasses botany, zoology, bacteriology, mineralogy and paleontology, with a focus on concepts, strategies and methodologies.
Click here to see OPAC location Dictionary of natural products
Click here to see OPAC location Dictionary of theoretical concepts in biology
Click here to see OPAC location Enzyme nomenclature: recomendations of the Nomenclature Committee of the International Union of Biochemistry on the nomenclature and classification of enzyme-catalyzed reactions
Click here to see OPAC location Five kingdoms: an illustrated guide to the phyla of life on earth
"A guidebook to living organisms-- what they look like, where they dwell, how they are related to one another, and how scientists group them."
Click here to see OPAC location Glossary of biochemistry and molecular biology
Click here to see OPAC location Glossary of genetics: classical and molecular
Click here to see OPAC location Henderson's dictionary of biological terms
Brief definitions of biological terms.
Click here to see OPAC location IUCN Red List of threatened plants
Click here to see OPAC location Language of biotechnology: A dictionary of terms
Click here to see OPAC location Plant-book: a portable dictionary of the vascular plants
Click here to see OPAC location Scientific and common names of 7,000 vascular plants in the United States
Click here to see OPAC location Source book of biological names and terms
Click here to see OPAC location Synopsis and classification of living organisms
A single, comprehensive reference to the classification of living organisms with descriptions of taxa above the generic level.   Articles contain overview of characteristics, biology, ecology and distribution of the taxon.  Includes literature citations.

Encyclopedias

  Click here to see OPAC location AccessScience: the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology on the Web (ELECTRONIC)
Click here to see OPAC location Concise encyclopedia biochemistry and molecular biology
Click here to see OPAC location Encyclopedia of immunology
Contains over 600 signed entries, organized alphabetically, with references to review articles and key papers.  Also includes a glossary and 150 p. index in volume 1. 
Click here to see OPAC location Encyclopedia of food microbiology
Contains signed entries, organized alphabetically by subject, with suggestions for further reading.  Each volume has a table of contents with outlines of the entries, and an extensive index. 
Click here to see OPAC location Encyclopedia of microbiology
Contains over 250 signed articles, arranged alphabetically, each including an outline, a glossary, a defining statement (abstract), cross-references and a bibliography.  Index in volume 4.
Click here to see OPAC location Encyclopedia of virology
Contains over xx signed articles, covering animal, insect, plant and bacterial viruses.  An appendix contains the updated ICTV virus name index. 
  Click here to see OPAC location Gale Virtual Reference Library (ELECTRONIC)

Field Guides

Handbooks and Manuals

Click here to see OPAC location Bergey's manual of determinative bacteriology
An aid to the identification of unknown bacteria organized phenotypically, compiled by abstracting the phenotypic information from the 4 v. Bergey's manual of systematic bacteriology.
Click here to see OPAC location Bergey's manual of systematic bacteriology
Detailed information on bacterial taxonomy, including classification, nomenclature and identification.  Check section titles and/or cumulative index (v. 4) for entry point into the manual.  Also includes general articles on topic such as "Identification of Bacteria." 
v.1: Gram-negatives of general, medical or industrial importance
v.2: Gram-positives other than Actinomycetes
v.3: Archaeobacteria, Cyanobacteria, and remaining Gram-negatives
v.4: Actinomycetes
Click here to see OPAC location Guide to flowering plant families
Click here to see OPAC location Jepson Manual: Higher plants of North America

Research

Click here to see OPAC location Guide to information sources in the botanical sciences
Click here to see OPAC location Information sources in science and technology
Click here to see OPAC location Information sources in the life sciences
Click here to see OPAC location Reference sources in science, engineering, medicine, and agriculture
Click here to see OPAC location Using the biological literature: a practical guide

Style Guides

Click here to see OPAC location Scientific style and format: the CBE manual for authors, editors, and publishers
 

Created by Elizabeth Housewright. Updated and maintained by Barbie McConnell: bmcconnell@fullerton.edu
An administrative page of the Paulina June & George Pollak Library at California State University, Fullerton.
(c) 1999 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved.
Last Updated: 01/17/06.