Book image courtesy CSU Fullerton campus California State University, Fullerton, Pollak Library

Finding Reviews

Where to Find Reviews--General Sources
Search the following databases to find book, film, and performance reviews. Also see Subject Areas and Web Sites.

Database or Index Types of Materials Reviewed Dates of Coverage Types of Reviews Indexed Search Tips
Academic Search Premier Books
Films
Performances
Poetry
Products
1985-date General Interest
Scholarly
Trade
Limit search by document type.  Choose from:
•book review
•entertainment review
•poetry review
•product review
ABI/INFORM Complete Books
Performances
1985-present General Book reviews:
•In one box, select Document type: book reviews

Performance reviews:
•In one box, select Document type: performance review

Book Review Digest Plus
Online
Books
Fiction, nonfiction, children's books, reference works
1983-date General Interest
Scholarly
Trade
Search Strategy:

Author's Last Name in AUTHOR field
AND
Book Title Words in TITLE field
Book Review Digest Retrospective
Online
Books
Fiction, nonfiction, children's books, reference works
1905-1982 Popular
Scholarly
Trade
Library journals
Newspapers
Search Strategy:

Author's Last Name in AUTHOR field
AND
Book Title Words in TITLE field
Book Review Digest
PAPER--1905-1999:
REFERENCE Z1219 .C96
Books 1905-1999 General Interest
Scholarly
Trade
•Organized by author's last name.
•Includes title index.
•Cumulative index for 1905-1974.
Book Review Index
(in paper)
Books 1966-date General Interest
Scholarly
Trade
•Organized by author's last name.
•Includes title index.
Factiva Books
Films
Performances
1984-date General Interest
Trade
•Search strategy:

Author's Last Name
AND
Book Title Words
AND
Review

(If you don't find what you are looking for, broaden the search by removing the term "review.")
•Choose an appropriate date range.
•Choose "All Content."
•Under "Search for free-text terms in:" choose "Headline and Lead Paragraph."  (If you don't find what you are looking for, broaden the search by choosing "Full Article.")
JSTOR Books Coverage varies, usually includes ALL issues except the most recent 2-5 years.

NOTE:  JSTOR covers a only few journal titles in each field. JSTOR is an excellent source, but NOT comprehensive.

Scholarly Search Strategy:

Author's last name in AUTHOR field
AND
Book Title Words in TITLE field.

•You must select a group of journals to search.  Choose any subjects that might include your book's topic.
•Limit by type "Reviews."
Lexis-Nexis Academic Books
Films
Performances
1980-date General Interest
Trade
•Choose GUIDED NEWS SEARCH.
•Select news category ARTS & SPORTS NEWS.
•Select news source BOOK, MOVIE, MUSIC & PLAY REVIEWS.
•Search terms in HEADLINE AND LEAD PARAGRAPH."
•Choose an appropriate date range.
New York Times Book Review through Proquest Newspapers Books •Full text: 1999-date
•Indexed: 1986-date
General Interest •Choose "Search within Publication" tab.
ProQuest Newspapers Books
Performances
1985-present (varies by publication) General Book reviews:
•In one box, select Document type: book review

Performance reviews:
•In one box, select Document type: performance review

PsycCRITIQUES Books 1956-present

Books reviews published in Contemporary psychology: APA Review of Books

Psychology

Scholarly
Can be used as a current awareness tool through quick links to items added on a particular date.
PsycINFO Books
 Films
1894-present

Books reviews published in Contemporary psychology: APA Review of Books, PsycCRITIQUES, and other psychology journals

Psychology

Scholarly
To limit to book reviews:
Scroll down and select Document type: review

Created by Margaret Hogarth (2002). Updated and maintained by Barbie McConnell: bmcconnell@fullerton.edu.
An instructional page of Pollak Library at California State University, Fullerton.
(c) 2002 California State University, Fullerton.  All rights reserved.
Last Updated:  08/31/07 .