bannerallpgs.gif (5024 bytes)

bizstudfaq.gif (4333 bytes)

Stock Market Index Current and Historical Quotes

Factiva
 

Data on most domestic and global indices are available.  Click on Companies/Markets, use the pull down menu to Select Instrument: Common Market Indexes,  then select the Index you want to see current or historical data on. Factiva is only available to students, faculty, and staff of Cal State Fullerton.  You must log in to the portal in order to access it.

 Yahoo! Finance
 

data for selected Domestic and globlal indices are available.  Change Type to Indices.  Type in the name of the Index to see if current and/or historical data is available.  Freely available on the web.
 

Stock Market Indices General Information and Historical Performance

Check the following titles on  Business Table 1A for General information and historical performance for Stock Market Indices.

The Dow Jones averages, 1885-1990

Daily history of the Dow Jones Averages since the original 1884 - 12 mixed stock reports through the 1896 Industrial and Railroad averages to today's Industrials, Transportation, Utilities and Bonds averages.

The Dow Jones guide to the world stock market

26 nations, over 2600 stocks representing the most important stocks and markets. 3 years financial data, ratios & yields, and country or corporate information.

The international guide to securities market indices

Descriptive profiles and historical performance data on 400 (plus 200 abbreviated) of the leading global, regional and local securities market indices and sub indices covering 10 asset classes. History of indexes, how they are constructed, how they can be used, glossary. Profiles of indexes by financial form (stock, bond, commodities, etc.) subdivided by global region. Each entry has a 2-page index performance (1985-1995), synopsis, background, computation methodology, and list of related indices.

NASDAQ-Amex fact book & company directory

This directory provides data on the performance of Nasdaq securities and Amex securities, options, and derivatives. It also gives statistics on the Nasdaq Stock Market and the American Stock Exchange themselves. It includes a listing of companies on each exchange sorted by SIC codes. The source of the information is the NASD, the Nasdaq Stock Market, Inc., or the American Stock Exchange, Inc.

Standard & Poor's emerging stock markets factbook

Coverage of global emerging markets: 54 markets, 2,200 stocks, $8 billion in assets. Filled with charts and graphs and data on World stock markets, currency exchange rates, various indices, index and equity market profiles, investor information. Indices for 10 years with major sector/industry divisions and 4-page market & data summaries with an overview and summaries of market financials and ratios.

Standard & Poor's statistical service

S&P 500 index by industry group. Stocks are chosen to achieve a distribution by broad industry grouping approximating the distribution of common stock in the market. The purpose is to portray the pattern of common stock price movement in the United States to be used as a standard for comparison of individual stocks within industry groups. Irregular. Each issue (approximately 2/year) has a different major industry grouping: banking & finance; production & labor; price indexes; income & trade; building; energy; metals; transportation; textiles, chemical, paper; agriculture products; security price record annual. Broad range of industry statistics covering labor & employment, production, cost of living, trade, banking.

Websites:

New York Stock Exchange

Nasdaq

American Stock Exchange

These site provide detailed information about the markets and the stocks traded on them.

Updated and maintained by Robert Sage, rsage@fullerton.edu
An administrative page of the Paulina June & George Pollak Library at California State University, Fullerton.
(c) 2007 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved.
Last Updated:  19 March 2007