

Resources for Interview Research
Factiva
- Full - text database
- Contains over 6,000 full-text sources
- Excellent source of company information
- Company profiles are available for public and private
companies
To find company information:
- click on Company Quick Search
- Enter Company Name
- Results include: Latest News Articles, Latest Trade Articles, Latest Press Releases,
basic overview of the company, basic financial figures
- For more detailed Company Information: Click on Financial Profile
- Results include: Company description, Company History, Competitors, complete
financial details of the company for the last four years
To find articles on your company:
- Click on Factiva Intelligent Indexing
- Enter Company Name
- Highlight the company name and click on And
Lexis Nexis Academic Universe
- All articles are full-text
- Can search Full-text, headline, or lead paragraph
- Can search newspapers, journals, magazines, TV and Radio transcripts, SEC Filings,
Hoovers Reports, and Disclosure Reports
To find company information:
- Click on Business
- Click on Company Financial
- Enter Company Name
- Select report from the pull down menu - Disclosure provides a full report taken
from the SEC Annual reports, Hoovers provides company profiles for public companies
as well as larger private firms.
To find recent news articles on a company:
- select either News or Business
- Select General News (News) or Business News (Business)
- Enter company name
- Select date range
- Click Search
ABI/Inform
- Contains full-text articles from scholarly journals as well as trade and popular
magazines
- Uses subject and other fields
- Can Email full-text
- Use Advanced Search for more precise results
To find articles about a company:
- Select ABI/Inform and click on Continue
- Select Advanced Search
- Enter Company Name in Company/Org from the pull-down menu
- Enter any other terms you are interested in (company profiles, problems, marketing,
etc.) in the Subject Field from the pull-down menu
D&B Million Dollar
Database
- The best source to find information on small firms, local companies, and subsidiary
companies
- Information provided includes Address, Company size, sales, total employees, Executive
biographies, SIC codes, parent company, private or public company, ticker symbol and
company websites.
- Companies may be searched by name, location, size by employees, sales or any combination
of above.
To Find Company Information if you know the company name:
- Enter company name
- Click on Start Search
To find a list of companies that fit your criteria:
- Enter Criteria you are searching for (company size, location by city, county, state
or zip code, etc.)
- Click on Start Search
·
Websites For Company Research
Vault
Reports
www.vaultreports.com
Wet
Feet
www.wetfeet.com
These sites provide descriptions of “What it is really like” to work for
a particular company. Hundreds of
company and industry profiles are available.
Hoovers
A searchable database Providing profiles and histories of companies.
·
Plunkett's Online
Each “Almanac” contains profiles
of employers in each industry. Profiles include recommended majors for each
company, benefits, employment opportunities, etc.
Plunkett industry almanacs are available online to students, faculty, and
staff of Cal State Fullerton.
Prepared by Rob Sage: rsage@fullerton.edu
An administrative page of the Paulina June & George Pollak Library at
California State University, Fullerton.
(c) 2007 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved.
Last Updated:
03/21/2007
.