bannerallpgs.gif (5024 bytes)

bizstudfaq.gif (4333 bytes)

Historical Prices

The Value of a Dollar -  HB235.U6 V35
A Reference book that provides prices of various consumer products in the United States going back to 1860.  The latest edition can be found in reference.  Older editions are available on the 5th floor of the south wing. 

AACRA Cost of Living Index - HB225.U6 I57
A quarterly publication that provides that average price of selected consumer goods in over 300 metropolitan areas in the United States.  This publication does not include specific brands.  1992-Present.


Consumer Reports - TX335.A1 C68
A monthly publication that provides unbiased reviews of various consumer products and brands.  Each review includes the suggested or average retail price of the product.  The Pollak Library has Consumer Reports available online through a few different databases. 

Factiva
Factiva is a database that contains articles from thousands of newspapers, magazines, and journals.  To find product reviews (which normally includes the suggested retail price), first click on Subject and type in REVIEW.  Click on REVIEW.  next, in the free text search box, type in the product or brand name.  Remember:  If you are searching for historical prices, set the date range to ALL AVAILABLE DATES.

 

Prepared by Robert Sage, rsage@fullerton.edu
An administrative page of the Paulina June & George Pollak Library at California State University, Fullerton.
(c)2007 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved.
Last Updated: 21 March 2007.