Reference
A Pollak Library Research Guide to Business Resources

  Modified and maintained by Rob Sage.
Pollak Library 124
(714) 278-4057


 

Business Administration

The CSUF library has a wealth of resources for your business research needs including books, articles, indexes and recommended web sites. This guide is especially designed for CSUF business students.  Here you will find Library & research resources for every area of business.

The links below will show you the following:

Articles: How to find articles on your business topic.  These articles may be found in books, journals, or may even be in full text online!
Books: How to find books on your business topic
Journals: A list of business-related journals CSUF owns
Reference: A list of guides, dictionaries, directories, etc.
Web Sites: A list of recommended business-related Web Sites
FAQ: A guide to finding answers to the most frequently researched business topics.


Business: Reference Sources

Reference materials, kept on the first floor of Pollak Library, North Wing, consist of general and subject-specific dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, almanacs, directories, etc. Click on the links below to connect to the Library Catalog record for location and call numbers of some useful resources that cover  business administration topics. Below each link are some descriptions of a few of the most useful books we have in each category of reference book.   

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Online access to the full-text of some of the most popular business reference works.  Available titles include:

Business Information Handbook 2003 2003
Business Plans Handbook Vol. 1, 1995
Business Plans Handbook Vol. 2, 1996
Business Plans Handbook Vol. 3, 1997
Business Plans Handbook Vol. 4, 1997
Business Plans Handbook Vol. 5, 1998
Business Plans Handbook Vol. 6, 1999
Business Plans Handbook Vol. 7, 2000
Business Plans Handbook Vol. 8, 2001
Business Plans Handbook Vol. 9, 2002
Business Plans Handbook Vol. 10, 2004
Company Profiles for Students 3v, 1999
Encyclopedia of American Industries 4th ed., 2v, 2005
Encyclopedia of Business and Finance 2v, 2001
Encyclopedia of Small Business 2nd ed., 2v, 2002
Gale E-Commerce Sourcebook 2v, 2003
Gale Encyclopedia of E-Commerce

Bibliographies
A bibliography is a list of books or other materials that would be useful to find information in business.

Business Research Sources: A Reference Navigator by F. Patrick Butler, 1999. Ref HF 54.52.U5 B88 1999 http://www.businessresearchsources.com/
A guide to the most useful business reference books.  A complete description and how-to guide for each item is provided.

The Basic Business Library: Core Resources by Bernard S. Schlessinger, 1994.  REF Z765 .B8 B37 1994
A guide to over 1000 business reference tools.  Some information (such as price) is out of date, but this is still a valuable tool when first looking for business resources.

Business Information: How to Find It, How to Use It.  REF DESK HF 5356.L36
Provides sources on where to find information by topic.

Dictionaries  
A dictionary is useful to find the meaning of words used in commerce, management or business.

Concise Dictionary of Business Management by David A. Statt, 1999.  REF HD 30.15 .S73 1999
An up-to-date dictionary of terms used in business administration.

Diccionario Bilingue de Negocios: Bilingual Business Dictionary, 1999.  REF HF 1002 .D477 1999
An up-to-date- dictionary of terms in both English and Spanish of terms used in business administration.  The Pollak Library also has bilingual business dictionaries in French and Chinese.

The Economist Dictionary of Business by Graham Bannock, Evan Davis, Paul Trott, and Mark Uncles.  Ref HF 1001 .D444 2003
An up-to-date- dictionary of terms used in business.  Note:  This book is published in the UK and uses British spellings.

Oxford Reference Premium Online: Economics and Business
Search online through dictionaries of business, accounting, economics, human resources, and finance.  Bilingual dictionaries of business are also available.  Note:  you must login to the CSUF portal before accessing this resource.

Encyclopedias


Encyclopedia of Business, 2nd Edition.  2000. REF HF 1001 .E466 2000 Vol.1 and Vol. 2
Encyclopedia of Business and Finance, 2001. REF HF 1001 .E467 2001. Vol. 1, 2,3
E-book

Use these two current encyclopedias to find brief descriptions of concepts, people, places, and things in business.

Business: The Ultimate Resource.  REF HD38.15 .B878 2002
Best Practices, statistics, a glossary, country and state economic profiles are all included in this thorough guide to business administration.

 

Almanacs
Use these Almanac as a handy reference to facts and figures.

The Portable MBA Desk Reference. REF HD 38.15 . P67

The Irwin Business and Investment Almanac.  5th Floor South HF 5003 .D681

Business Ratios and Formulas:  A Comprehensive Guide   REF HF 5691 .B73  

Quotations

In the Words of Great Business Leaders, 2000.  PN 6084 .B87 I5 2000
A compilation of  interviews with business leaders throughout history giving their thoughts on specific topics such as selling, working hard, and bosses.

The Wiley Book of Business Quotations: More than 5,000 Insights, Opinions, and Witicisms About Doing Business Today, 2000.  REF PN 6084 .B87 W55 2000.

Created: January 2002  Updated: 03 Jan 2008


Modified and maintained by Rob Sage.
An administrative page of the Paulina June & George Pollak Library at California State University, Fullerton.
(c) 2007 California State University, Fullerton. All rights reserved.